We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY, choose another hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 College Station

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Priceline.com
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 College Station
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   301 Texas Ave., Business Rt 6 & Texas Avenue S, College Station, TX 77840-1721   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in College Station
1 review
“DO NOT STAY, choose another hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked a non smoking ro, walked in and the room smelled of smoke. We told the woman at the front and she said that there are no other rooms to give us, no refunds are given, and it is a non smoking room so it shouldn't smell of smoke. My husband said we have 2 small children and will not be sleeping in the room with te smell, she have a bit of an attitude and eventually moved us to another room. The "breakfast" was terrible with no milk or cereal and only a waffle machine that was disgusting, and bagels.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    17
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
15
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

DO NOT BOOK EARLY! They have a very rigid cancellation policy that requires a 72 hour notice. They make absolutely no exceptions... not even for emergency room hospital stays. I contacted the corporate office, and they couldn't even help me. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYBODY!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We got exactly what we wanted out of this hotel: a cheap place to sleep after visiting friends. But the stay was better than we expected.

When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly front desk. After checking in, I called down to get the Free Wifi password, but when I didn't have a pen, I told the guy at the front desk I'd just run down and write it down. Before I got halfway down the hall, the he was on his way to my room with the password written on a peice of paper. So nice!

He also directed us to a long list of cabs in the area. The only negative about this hotel is it's not really close to "North Gate" - the local bar scene - or the University. But none of the hotels in College Station really are. However, it was a fairly cheap cab ride.

Check out was great, mostly because we only spent $55, but also because of the friendly guy at the front desk. He was looking at engagement rings for his girlfriend, and my husband and I offered him some advice. He was really funny and cool and didn't even upset my terrible headache and hangover. Yep, it was that kind of trip.

So if you're looking for a bed to sleep after visiting friends in CS or your kids in college, this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I found that this hotel was a bit pricey for the quality of the rooms but was not suprised as it is in a University Town. I was not opposed to paying the $80 after taxes but expected more from Super 8.

Front Desk staff - OK on checkin/checkout,
Breakfast- continental (ended up going to Subway),
Room - basic but clean. T
he hotel seems to be fairly old and could use a "freshen" (I found that the 2nd floor hallway had a smokey smell which did not permeate into the room (thank heavens).

This hotel had 3 or 4 men hanging around the lobby (obviously not checking in). I am from a fairly large city and find it disconcerting when I go into a hotel where the friends/family of staff are hanging around the lobby (it takes it down a notch)!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

fair value, *but* what really irritates me about Super 8 (this one particularly)
they put $1 charge on your bill for a safe which I don't need or use. Some of them will take if off if you think to check your bill b4 signing.

They have price on the sign outside that they will not give you that (low) rate unless you start a major argument. Even that won't work if you made reservations through call center(garanteed low rate!!!,sure!) or on line.
In this particular room, their was an air compressor (?) that came on every hour or so and was loud enough to make sleeping impossible until the tank filled(?) and it turned off.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed there during an A&M home game. There were a few issues with the room when we got there. Room keys for both rooms wouldn't work, had to go down to front desk twice to get that resolved. Upon entering one of the rooms, there was a strong cleaner smell that fortunatly was limited to the bathroom, turned on the fan and it dissappeared after a few moments. The AC from the room above would drip onto our AC and make a ringing noise on occassion.
Young guy that was working the front desk was nice but had NO clue about any restaurants near the hotel (including the IHOP two blocks away and a mexican restaurant one block away). I do not expect a kid at a small motel to know everything about the area but being it you are in a major college town, you should know some of the basics.
Note to any future travelers, it is walkable to Kyle Field for a football game but honestly we could of taken a car, parked on campus and gotten out after the game with ease.
Overall it was a clean place to stay at a very affordable rate during a football weekend. I would hesitate to stay here again but if i find a good price I would stay.
*** Restaurants in area*** I will post reviews at two restaurants that I ate at while in the College Station area. One that is only a 5 minute drive from campus is J.Cody's. AMAZING Steaks! The other is called Potato Shack. Huge Baked Potato's with all sorts of fillings from the basics to Chicken Parmigiana!

  • Liked — Close locale to campus
  • Disliked — unknowledgeable staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

My husband and I booked two rooms here-- one for us and one for my elderly grandmother, who is recovering from bypass surgery. We decided to drive up to College Station from Houston in the wake of Hurricane Ike, because of the massive power outages. Being 8 months pregnant, the heat was just unbearable with no a/c.

First of all, it was impossible to be choosy because the ENTIRE city was booked up with evacuees like us. I would never have chosen this hotel, but we took what we could get.

The building itself is totally outdated and in need of some serious repairs. The carpet in the halls was filthy-- they couldn't even vacuum it, apparently. The room we had was small, the bed was horribly uncomfortable, and I wouldn't have touched the recliner with a 10-foot pole. The whole place stunk of mildew and cheap disinfectant and the hall, which had all doors labelled "non-smoking," smelled strongly and distinctly of cigarette smoke. In the bathroom, the ceiling above the shower had been patched (in a very messy way) because it looked as though the tub from upstairs had, at one point, fallen through!

Worst and most infuriating, the hotel advertises on www.aggieland.com (Texas A&M's website) and all hotel booking sites (i.e. www.hotels.com) that they are pet-friendly. When you get there, they have "No Pets" signs posted everywhere. When I asked about this, the kid at reception said the managers had changed their rules about a year ago, and didn't feel that they had to "honor" what was posted on the websites, since the sites weren't theirs. I was furious because I had my two little dogs with me, and, as I mentioned, we were evacuating from a hurricane and all the hotels in the city were full! Worse, I saw a man carrying his little dog out of the hotel and was told he was only allowed to stay there with his pet because, apparently, a hotel employee had told him the hotel was pet friendly when he called to book! Well, what about me (or rather, my mother-in-law, who found the hotel online for me) being told by all the websites that list the hotel that it's pet-friendly??? I had to pay to have my dogs boarded.

Also, when we arrived at 4 p.m., an hour AFTER check-in, we got to the room, and it hadn't been cleaned! Check-out is at 11 a.m.

AND, they advertise a breakfast, but it's nothing but stale-looking cereal and white bread.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. Comprably-priced hotles are MUCH better. And, if you have options and a little extra cash, I booked rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott in College Station for my staff and I during a convention earlier this year, and it was a very pleasant experience. I highly reccomend it (and really, just about anything else) over this place.

The College Station Hilton is also very nice and seriously worth the extra money if you care about cleanliness and customer service.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 College Station

Also Known As:
Super 8 College Station Hotel College Station
Super 8 College Station Hotel
Super Eight College Station
College Station Super Eight
College Station Super 8
Address: 301 Texas Ave., Business Rt 6 & Texas Avenue S, College Station, TX 77840-1721
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 College Station 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 College Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Super 8 College Station to your Saves list