We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food and quiet atmosphere with superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veritas Wine & Bistro

Veritas Wine & Bistro
830 University Drive East, Suite 400, College Station, TX 77840
979-268-3251
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Veritas Wine & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Asian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University and Tarrow
Description: Veritas is a Casual Upscale Restaurant with focus on Seasonal & Market Driven Menu with emphasis on Asian-American-French flavor.
College Station, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food and quiet atmosphere with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is probably one of the best restaurants I have ever dined at for special occasions.

My mom and I dined here for lunch May 2014 and the food was excellent and service as well.
This is a fun delicious special place to dine with incredible food.

The cream Brule' is amazing and so is the grown up big kids ice cream sandwich... I started with dessert I realize that.
But it is delicious and the ice cream is home made.

The ingredients used here are fresh and seasonal and very high quality.

I have enjoyed the crab cakes with corn tomato salad with basil oil, the hamburger with truffle fries is delicious, the vegetable sandwich, turkey avocado BLT, and Serloin steak are all awesome selections.

A year ago a friend took us here for dinner and it was amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    16
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Date Night Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Leave the kids at home and visit Veritas for a relaxing night out with great food and a top notch bottle of wine. Live music often featured, nice out-door patio, and peaceful atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Compare with restaurants in big cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Veritas is not only the best restaurant in Bryan-College Station, it compares well with fine restaurants in many other places. Chef Tai brings a Asian (primarily Japanese) influence to the menu though the offerings are eclectic. The sea bass is one of his signature dishes & is so tender & tasty, it nearly melts in your mouth. Unlike many Texas restaurants with ridiculously gigantic servings, the size of the plates here are modest but satisfying. My only criticism is to avoid the de-constructed Caesar salad, and for the chef to work a bit harder on more interesting desserts. There are extensive wine offerings, and the wine steward really knows his stuff. Also, a tasteful decor & ambience. I have dined here many times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb cousine and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was the second time in this retaurant, and it confirmed the impressions I got in the first time. Good ambiance, very good live music, superb food. The service and the wine list were a must as well. Nothing to own to the best restaurants in the Country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had dinner here for the first time and it was fairly good. My daughter loved the oysters. The calamari was chewy, which I do not care for. Kids had filets, which they said were pretty good. They said they had had better. I had a hawaiian fish dish which was so so. The macaroni and cheese was delicious. I had creme brulee for dessert. It was not traditional custard, more of a mousse with the sugar on top. Sort of strange. The atmosphere was very nice. Not too stuffy. I might try it here again. I would try the crab cakes next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritas Wine & Bistro also viewed

College Station, TX
College Station, TX
 
College Station, TX
 

Been to Veritas Wine & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veritas Wine & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.