We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the Street from NASA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Nasa Rd 1, Clear Lake City, TX 77058   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clear Lake City
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Across the Street from NASA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I bid for this hotel on Priceline and got it for $32. Stayed one night while we visited NASA. This hotel is exactly right across the street from NASA. Check in was unremarkable. Was able to park where I could see my car. Had a second floor room that smelled like smoke but otherwise it was good, clean, large room with a kitchen and large bathroom. I did use the laundry room and it was clean. In the morning they had grab and go breakfast but I went next door to Starbuck's instead. The hotel wasn't busy at all, but I can see how it might get busy due to its location. If I were bringing a group to NASA I'd stay here. Overall it fit my requirements extremely well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Alvec,

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way," and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    9
    5
    15
See reviews for
15
7
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was decent, the 3rd floor hallway smelled of cigarette smoke, but it did not seem to carry into the room. the room was clean and even though I didn't use it, the addition of the cooking facilities is nice.

The only complaint's I really have is the A/C didn't really work all that well, and the pillows on the bed were horrible. It was a really good location, right across the street from the Space Center and a short drive to Kemah which was the biggest reason for this stop on my trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Fred4405,
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

In response to your comments about the air conditioning unit, we have inspected all in-room air conditioners and made any necessary repairs to ensure that we don't have a repeat of your particular incident in the future. I can assure you that we will continue to maintain strict quality control measures, and would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The garbage was not taken out before we got here, so the lastbpeoples trash was just sitting there and it smelled.then we find old french fries under the cousion of thenchair.wtf? The ac sucks and the tv channels suck.wouldnt stay here again

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my second stay here.During my first stay I was here for six months. Most of the employees are very professional and The manageress Ladonna is very caring lady and goes out of the way to help. She is very competent. The maintenance manager Henry is very competent and has a very pleasant demeanor. Rubens who manages the front desk is very helpful and competent

Location is very central. There are several reasonable restaurants very close by. Coming off I-45 you are right there. Breakfast is good. It is a clean property. Next door is Starbucks and and a dry cleaners. There is even hospital very close by,

I recommend this place without reservations..
Jag

Room Tip: Good place to stay. Make an early reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Ham46,
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was here out of town from Chicago working as a Superintendent for Construction. Everybody at this hotel was very nice and polite and professional. The janitorial/maintenance, housekeeping and the front desk. All very professional and polite with a smile to help me get through my day that much easier. Rooms were clean, everything was kept up very nicely. But there was one guy that stood out from the rest with exceptional service and that was Ruben at the front desk at the Johnson Space Center. He was very knowledgeable, helpful, polite and asked how everything was all the time but was not annoying about it. He does a wonderful job and deserves to be groomed for his excellence in his profession. Give him a vacation and a promotion. Ruben was definitely a very hard worker. I am giving you guys a perfect review solely because of Ruben.

Room Tip: Ask for Ruben
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Mike F,
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about our staff. Our staff is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've been staying with Extended Stay on and off for the last year or so! The staff has Always taken care of me and my needs! Ruben has been a big inspiration to me since the first time we meet! He has great patience, smile, and has gone out of his way each time I've needed help!! It's a pleasure having to go to the staff for help! Thanks FOR MAKING ME FEEL AT HOME AWAY FROM HOME!! I'm very impressed with the way Ruben has treated me and the other guests with Respect, Patience, and Understanding even when his day is not going well! He is a Great Asset to Your Company! Thanks Ruben and Entire Staff!!!!!! Y'all Make Me Smile!
Have a Bleesed Day Gregg U.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Gregg U, It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEAR LAKE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My Name Is Roshanda Humphrey, and I would like to take this time to say, that my stay at the Johnson Space Center Extended America, has been Excellent!!! The staff there has been really helpful and always polite. My check-in went very well and smooth. and big shout to Ruben at the front desk!!!! He has done alot for me and my son Terrance.. way to go.. Extended St
ay America. And Thanks Ruben!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of Extended Stay America Houston - NASA . Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay enjoyable. Please know that we would be elated to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center

Address: 1410 Nasa Rd 1, Clear Lake City, TX 77058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Clear Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clear Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Houston-Johnson Space Hotel Clear Lake City
Extended Stay Clear Lake City
Clear Lake City Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center Clear Lake City, TX

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.