We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Childress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Childress to your Saves list
Quality Inn Childress
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2008 Avenue F NW, Childress, TX 79201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Childress
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Driving through TX and in need of sleep I was pleasantly suprised at the wonderful accomodations at this establishment. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh T, Manager at Quality Inn Childress, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thankyou for your comments. My Team here at the Quality Inn in Childress extend our gratitude for your sincere comments. We look forward to serving you ,your friends and your family when ever you pass by through Childress.We take pride in serving our guests and are always ready to take care of your smallest need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troup, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here on our return trip from Denver to East Texas. It was well over 100 degrees outside, but the room was cool and very clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The beds were comfortable. The bath's water pressure was outstanding in the jetted tub/shower combination. Breakfast was good with eggs, cereal, sasuage, cereals, etc. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and good sized. This is not an fancy motel, but it is nice and reasonably priced for an overnight stay. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

After checking a room at the American Inn, finding hair and a noisy hissing water pipe complete with drip, we opted to stop being cheap and made our way to Quality. Marcus greeted us promptly and was very professional and helpful. Check-in was a breeze, and the room was clean, spacious and smells of new carpet! Yeah coffee and hot chocolate on arrival was great because it was cold on this late night in November. I would recommend staying here. The staff and the attention to detail means a lot to us, even if you are only staying the night. You can't put a price on feeling welcome, safe and clean!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I travel alot and stay at a variety of hotels around the country. I had to stay in Childress and this hotel seemed to be the nicest. Rooms were ok, but could use some attention. The customer service that I recieved on the other hand was the worst ive experienced. The girl Jaquiline that works at the front desk will treat you like a little kid and will not let you get a word in. If I ever stay in that town again I will not stay at this hotel if she is still working there. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

For 70.00 (AAA rate) this was an excellend hotel. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The free breakfast included eggs, biscuits, gravy and sausage. Air conditioning worked well. The only con is that the ice machine ran out of ice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

I stayed here on 6/26/08 and the room was fine. I drive this route very frequently to visit my daughter and grandson in Granbury, TX. Childress is my stopping point and divides my trip in half. The Quality Inn is the nicest of all motels in Childress, but the selection is limited. (Population 6,000) I've noted that it is becoming more run down since it changed hands. Every motel in this town is noisy because they are all on the same road. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. If you want a better selection of hotels, stay in Amarillo. I suggest the Drury Inn there........K-Bob's is about the only place to eat unless you want fast food. Avoid the hamburger's!

  • Liked — clean, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — it's showing wear and tear and needs some updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Unfortunately, we thought we were booking a Holiday Inn Express. Seems like Quality Inn conveniently changed all the information except the fact that they are NO LONGER a Holiday Inn Express. Just google up Holiday Inn Express - Childress, TX and you will see the false advertising.

This was the worst place we have ever stayed. The place is SO noisey, that the room is full of ear plugs and they are also offered them up at the check-in desk. That should have been my first clue.

If we had not checked in so late, I would have gotten out immediately.

Our "first" room had an 18-wheeler parked right beside it with the motor running because the driver was sleeping (he was the only one sleeping that night). The entire room was shaking and it was unbearably loud. We had to get out of bed and go to the desk for a different room. We were warned that all the rooms were noisey. That is because this motel literally sits right beside an Interstate Highway (parking lot is in the back - cars need their rest). The 18-wheelers are zipping by all day and all night. You cannot imagine the noise. I know now why it is on longer a Holiday Inn Express.

And they charge the going rate of motels where you can actually get some sleep.

I talked to the manager in the morning and she could not care less. It was like standard operating procedure.

I plan to write Holiday Inn Express and AAA. This place only deserves the worst of rating.

Warning: DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Disliked — Beyond noisey - sits right on Interstate Highway - You will get NO rest.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Childress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Childress

Address: 2008 Avenue F NW, Childress, TX 79201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Childress
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Childress
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Childress 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Childress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childress Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Childress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.