We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second honeymoon on 50th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wakefield Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chappell Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wakefield Farms
601 Pulawski School Lane, P.O. Box 533, Chappell Hill, TX 77426   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second honeymoon on 50th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the charming salt box cottage for the weekend, it was so charming and luxurious!! The bed linens were top rated, the coffee was set to be ready at 7:30 a.m. and it was great waking up to the smell of coffee brewing. The bath was also luxurious, with the organic soaps and oils for the spa, what a treat!!
We were in our own little world and loved the quiet setting and the farm atmosphere! Loved looking at the sheep and donkeys in the pasture, it gave a very serene setting for the B&B. Couldn't hear the other guest in their cottage so we felt like we were the only ones there. The innkeepers gave us wonderful directions for places to eat, shop and see. They were very helpful and courteous. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The beds were very comfortable!! When my husband likes a bed, it is because he gets a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SWEENY, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed in the Private Farmhouse with 4 other girls and we fell in love with the farmhouse and the entire farm. Everything is so beautiful and I felt like I was living in a Pinterest board for farmhouse chic. Also, Carol was warm and very welcoming and I was greeted very gingerly every time I called her for information or for service. We even called on her for a restaraunt recommendation and she obliged and gave us a tip on what to order. We arrived after nightfall, so we didn't see much of the property until the next morning and, while I brushed my teeth, I was greeted with 3 miniature horses and sheep grazing outside the bathroom window! I love the farm and I can't wait to return on my next mini vacation.

Room Tip: Some of the bathrooms do not have showers. We rented the entire Private Farmhouse, so we were equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Wakefield Farm's Greek Revival Farm House for the weekend and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were clean, well kept and tastefully appointed. We stayed in the Master Suite bedroom but had the entire house to ourselves which was really nice. The room had everything we could have needed: a mini fridge, microwave, an iron and ironing board, an armoire to hang our clothes, a flat screen TV, chairs and tables and even a daybed, in addition to the antique queen-sized canopy bed. I did find the bed to be a bit on the firm side, but that may just be an issue of personal preference. The bathroom, while a bit small, was perfectly sufficient and had a shower + jacuzzi tub. We also had access to a parlor across the hall from our room that featured another TV and a plush couch to relax on. There is also a beautiful pool, visible in the pictures, that's just beyond the front steps of the house. We didn't have a chance, unfortunately, to take advantage of it.

Breakfast is not served on-property. There's a token provided for a free Country Breakfast at the Chappell Hill Cafe, which as about a 15 minute drive. We found the food at the cafe to be ok, nothing special, with the exception of the biscuits, which were very good. The staff there was nice and attentive.

Susan, the owner of Wakefield Farms, was extremely gracious and helpful with all that I threw her way. In fact she went out of her way, making calls to arrange for us to go horseback riding and later making reservations for us for Saturday night dinner in Brenham. She also arranged for a masseuse to visit the property for my girlfriend to have a massage and helped us find our way when our car's navigation became somewhat untrustworthy and we needed directions to the horseback riding. The beautiful accommodations at Wakefield Farms, plus Susan's constant efforts to make sure we were well taken care of, really made for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I decided on a trip to Brenham's wineries for a quick and relatively inexpensive getaway and I thought from the website that Wakefield Farms seemed like a great place to go. My experiences with the owner over email were pleasant. When we got there, we did enjoy the grounds. Its pretty much off the beaten path and hard to find. Although the grounds are nice, the cottage was OK and in need of some updating. They have a huge whirlpool tub but no shower, so keep in mind if you are staying there you would have to make do with baths. Also, there was a faint musty smell to everything, including the sheets. We wanted to make the best of our time, so when we arrived we decided to go for an early dinner. While we were gone, it appeared that one of the owners went in our cottage. To do what, I dont know but that instantly made me feel uncomfortable about staying there. Since it wasn't to bring clean towels or change the sheets, what could they have been doing? I just had a bad feeling after that and it was hard to shake. The grounds at night are quiet. Lots of bugs since you are out in the country, so beware of that. The few times we did speak with the owner while we were on property, she didn't seem very warm and talked with us very condescending. I even waved to a grounds keeper or owner while he was mowing the lawn and just got a blank stare back. Overall, would I stay there again? Definitely not. I found the warmth and charm was not there, and felt very uncomfortable after I learned they were in our cottage while we were gone. I'd advise to save your money and stay at the Inn at Dos Brios or even in town at the La Quinta Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gretafred, Owner at Wakefield Farms, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate reviews from our guests as they help us improve our product and services. Since we advertise privacy as our specialty, we also leave a hand written note in each accommodation for our guests upon arrival. The note requests they call us when out should they like to have their room made up. If our guests call, we go into the accommodation to service the unit. If our guests are out for the evening and nightfall is upon us, we go inside the accommodation to turn on an interior light and the porch light for safety. We do not go into the accommodations outside of these two reasons since it is too labor intensive. We advertise on our rooms page of our website and on the compare page on our website the amenities in each accommodation so, should a guest prefer a standard shower, they may select that accommodation. We have jacuzzi tubs in all our accommodations with hand held showers for a relaxing, spa atmosphere. We do several things to make sure our dwellings are fresh. All have been sealed with kilz when painted to assist in a clean, fresh environment. We have central heating and air conditioning with filters changed monthly to insure air quality. We disinfect our surfaces, floors and linens for cleanliness in addition to freshness. Finally, we turn our rooms as close to the arrival of our guests as possible to insure a fresh room. Our linens from the mattress pad to the quilts and duvets are laundered for every turn. Had our guest informed us that our linens didn't seem fresh, we would have been happy to change them. We want our guests to be happy and comfortable and work very hard to do our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the Saltbox for our 24th anniversary weekend.
With the Saltbox, you basically have a small house to yourself, so this is more of a private getaway place. There is a queen bed in one room and a twin bed in the entry room (I guess in case you have a lover's quarrel or someone gets sick?) There is a nice-sized bathroom (for a farmhouse from the 1800's) with a jacuzzi tub for two, with a separate potty room. Satellite TV in both the living and bedrooms (we only used it for background music) and the most ingenious armoire converted to a wet bar with sink, coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave, and serving plates/wine glasses/utensils. Not exactly a kitchen, but what wife wants to see a kitchen when she is on vacation? And the nice thing is, you can close it up and hide any mess and it looks like - an armoire! It was perfect, and Susan, the owner, even had the coffee maker ready with the timer set so when we woke up, voila! Hot coffee ready.

The Saltbox, along with the Greek Revival House and the Schoolhouse are each on one side of a large rectangular pool, so you have plenty of room separating the three. The Schoolhouse is more of a small reception hall so there is no lodging there but there is a full kitchen and seating space as well as a small stage and open floor space for a little dancing if you rent the whole place for a small wedding. As far as accommodations, I think there are only enough beds for a total of 6-8 people but I might be wrong so check on this. We had the place to ourselves - this was an off-week for the whole town so that's no reflection on Wakefield farms. The owner lives up the hill in a separate residence and drops by from time to time to make sure all is well.

All three structures were moved to this property. The Saltbox house dates from the 1800's. Wooden floors squeak, doors have daylight coming through, so you know it is the real deal, but Susan and George, the owners, have transformed it into an air conditioned lover's cottage complete with Ralph Lauren towels and a jacuzzi tub. Lots of touches show an attention to detail, like small silver trays under the bedside drinking glasses, information printed and framed and placed in key locations, lots of discrete labels for things, etc. Remember, this is the country, so there are a few bugs/critters, but the fully occupied purple marten birdhouse just outside makes sure there are virtually no mosquitos, and sweet bird sounds for free. And lots of butterflies.

We loved the fact that there were sheep, goats, donkeys, miniature horses, and dogs roaming in the rolling pastures surrounding us, with beautiful big pecan trees shading some parts and wide open pasture in other parts. We loved the two goats and the little kid and the three miniature horses that roamed pretty much freely. They were always present but never a nuisance, and were a joy just to sit and watch. Susan loves the whole organic, farm-to-plate culture that is experiencing so much growth today, and she raises the goats and sheep as a business in addition to running the B&B on their 60 acres, so that is what is meant by "working farm". You will not be rolling up your sleeves and raking hay so relax. Donkeys and 7 Great Pyrenees dogs keep the coyotes at bay (well, they must, cuz we never saw or heard even one). All very peaceful, rustic, and removed from the city, only an hour from West Houston.

This is a great place that delivers all the things you expect from a bed & breakfast except the breakfast, which is handled at the local Chappell Hill Cafe. So you won't get the experience of sitting around a community table and meeting other travelers (although that will happen at the pool, if anyone else is there). You may prefer this, so just understand this is what you will experience. The Chappell Hill Cafe is only about a 10 minute drive on rolling country roads, back to Highway 290. Awesome home style bacon-and-eggs country cafe with great biscuits & gravy and pancakes, all for the price of a wooden token, included in your room charge.

If you like quiet, wide open spaces mixed with lots of trees, low rolling hills, a heated swimming pool with a cozy cottage all to yourself, and a phenomenal country breakfast just a short country drive away, and great antiquing in Brenham nearby, this is the place for you. And we weren't here for the bluebonnets blooming so I imagine it's even better in March and April.

Room Tip: Saltbox for a couple, Greek revival for two couples together, or if you can get it without anyone el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you're looking to get way out of the city, this is the place to be. Quiet and quaint, quaint, quaint! Goats, sheep, dogs & ponies roam the grounds. Bluebonnets are in full bloom. Just beautiful! Stay in the Saltbox cottage - great little place for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: stay in teh Saltbox cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

3 of us went to see the wildflowers recently and wanted to stay in the Chappell Hill area. Wakefield Farms offered a Greek Festival House which had a hallway with 2 seperate accommondations on each side..........one master w/bath and a parlor; the other, a master w/bath. Both had flat screen TV's and every thing you could have wanted or needed. They were beautifully done with great beds and linens. We never saw the owners but were in touch with Susan. They raise Boer goats and sheep there so it was a lovely view out "in the middle of nowhere".

Room Tip: There are only 2 seperate houses to choose from but they do split up the Greek House if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wakefield Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Farms

Address: 601 Pulawski School Lane, P.O. Box 533, Chappell Hill, TX 77426
Location: United States > Texas > Chappell Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chappell Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit us at our historic bed and breakfast just a stones throw away from the Blue Bell Ice Cream factory and around the corner from the Bluebonnet Festival in Chappell Hill, you will enjoy luxurious Ralph Lauren linens when tucked under the covers! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakefield Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wakefield Farms to your Saves list