We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for families- would love to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Cedar Creek, TX 78612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cedar Creek
Austin, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great for families- would love to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We loved this resort. We went with our extended family. We had two suites and two adjoining regular rooms. The rooms were beautiful and the suites were really well laid out. We could put the children down in the bedroom and shut the door and still sit around talking and laughing in the living room.
My son (3 yrs old) LOVED the bikes and biking path. He immediately made friends with the other children staying at the resort and they biked all day long. The pool was open and looked fun, but it was a bit too cold. We let the kids play on the wading beach and dig in the sand. It was perfect for my 3 yr old and my 2 yr old. I enjoyed all the restaurants and especially enjoyed our fancy dinner at Stories. The kids roasted smores one night and had a great time. I spent a lot of time in a lounge chair with a book, soaking up the late autumn sun.
The programs for kids were not really appropriate for my kids. They are for older children. I also was not able to use their camp because my children were not old enough. We brought our golf clubs, but chose to sit in the rocking chairs eating ice cream on the porch rather than to go golfing.
I cannot wait to go back. I hear that their New Year's Eve party is fantastic and I want to try the spa and the horseback riding next time.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    228
    80
    26
    21
See reviews for
370
170
16
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

After reading some of the less than flattering reviews, I didn't know what to expect. Luckily, we were impressed beyond our wildest imaginations. This resort is awesome. Even the hotel web site does not do it justice. The setting for the resort is absolutely beautiful, even in the winter! The resort sits back off the highway a good three miles. It's situated in the valley of two huge hills, (the closest we get to mountains in Texas!)Surrounded by pecan trees and fronting the Colorado River. I can't wait to return in the spring when the trees are green and the flowers are blooming. I hear the bluebonnets are fantastic!

I say the "Kellerman's" of 2009 because there are planned hourly family activities, free bikes to ride around the property, nightly movies, smores, a beautiful pool area with two hot tubs, water slide, sandy beach, beach volleyball, outdoor fireplace, horseshoes, playground, miles and miles of hiking trails, an 18 hole golf course, spa, bar, great restaurants and more! Once you are at the resort, there is no reason to leave. All your needs are taken care of. The staff is very, very friendly and accommodating. It's refreshing to see, especially in this day and age where customer service stinks at most businesses. Here, you and your family will be made to feel appreciated!

Our kids loved it, we loved it and we highly recommend visiting the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort. We will definitely be back

  • Liked — The setting of the hotel is beautiful and you can sit and relax or enjoy one of many activities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Okay, unless you get lucky with a brand new GPS device you won't be able to get direction to this facility. It's probably 2-3 years old now and is still not in the Hertz "Neverlost" system, nor was it in a 1 year old TomTom. This place is between Austin and Bastrop and that puts it in the middle of nowhere. Just a billboard and a small street sign warn you that you are "almost there". If driving faster than 50 MPH you might sail right by the entrance.

That leads me to my biggest complaint about this facility. There's nothing to do here. Sure, it's a resort, and a spa so why would you want to go anywhere? Well, there's only so much you can "do" when there in January. I like to get out and see the town I'm staying in. It's 20 minutes+ to Bastrop (small town that closes after dark).. It's probably 35-45 minutes to downtown Austin and almost an hour to the "good spots" for entertainment in Austin. So a rental is certainly needed. Don't take a taxi unless you're ready to spend $80+ for a round trip. Plus there are no taxis on site so they have to be arranged before you are ready to go. No airport shuttle either so that's a major letdown.


General hotel review - rooms are spread out in several different directions. If you're there for a "convention" hopefully you're not at the end of one of the hall ways. You'll have to walk 5+ minutes to get to the grand ballroom. Staff is very attentive to your arrival and check in process. About what you would expect for a high end hotel. Just wish they had more than 2 clerks working when they know they have big groups checking in on one day. Had to wait about 10-15 minutes to check in and there were only about 5 people in line. Front desk needs to work better with group bookings to have better staffing and others assisting with the check in and question process when so many people arrive at a new facility all at once.

Rooms - I had a king room fairly close to the front desk. I was sad that I didn't have a door opening to a patio, but more than likely wouldn't have used it. A/C and Heat worked well for the room size. Not too loud either. TV was nice and big and had good picture quality. Desk had back to the windows though with limited room to turn around to work from the other side and watch the outside while working at the desk.

In room fridge and safe were nice to have available.

MAJOR NEGATIVE -- $9.99/day for wireless internet -- ONLY available in the guest room area. No internet available in the grand ballroom or other meeting room areas unless your group buys it for a huge amount of money per day. I can't stand the fact that the major label hotels charge so much per day for the internet when they give it away free at the lower end hotels they operate. Even my group rate of $200/night after taxes and resort fee and to tack on another $10/night for internet is a major complaint that I have. Even though I'm a frequent guest at Hyatt properties they wouldn't "comp" the in room internet upon asking, not even for a 2 night stay.

So my final comments to you if considering this place...if you want to go to a hotel and not leave and not do anything except give them your money and sleep in their bed this this is the place to go. Otherwise stay in Austin and enjoy the city life there.

  • Liked — Big Screen with HD channels
  • Disliked — Location, Location, Location - Middle of nowhere!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I must say that when we arrived, the service was good and Andrew the bellhop was very helpful and informative. However, the dining choices were limited and with small children running around and babies crying all around, it was not the romantic getaway we had in mind. We thought the bar would be a good hideout but sitting in the bar on Saturday afternoon drinking a beer and having young children running around there also made it a wash-they did have to leave by 9:00 PM but this was not enforced. We were left to either work out, stay in our room, or play golf in order to have some quiet time obviously limiting our options. The place did a fantastic job catering to families and for that I would highly recommend the place. They just forgot to cater to the other half of society.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

My cousin and I have joked for years that we love camping, as long as we are staying at the Hyatt/Hilton/Marriott etc - and this hotel fits that perfectly. Lovely setting out in the country with just about every activity you can mention other than beach-related things. Service was great. The hotel grounds are impeccable. The organization of the hotel (MANY rooms all on two floors) leads to a lot of walking to get around. Food was great. The only downside is the same as it's best point- it is far from everything. You have to drive about 3 miles on the hotel property once you get off the road, just to arrive at the hotel. Also it does not show up at all on some navigation systems, so beware. If you want to do anything else that is not available at the hotel (sight-seeing, shopping, religious services etc) it is a LONG drive and takes up a lot of your time just to get into town. So, it depends on what you want.

  • Liked — beautiful setting
  • Disliked — location- far away from sight seeing and church services which I also wanted to do
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We've been at this property a few times for various reasons. This past summer we spent a few days there with our kids and my brother and his family. The hotel was very kid friendly with "all day long" activities and movies and s'mores at night. There were many other families with kids and the kids had a camp feel, while the adults in our party had a luxury resort experience. We did have bad weather one day and the hotel staff transformed one of the ballrooms into a mini amusement park with games, videos, and many toys. There is hair braiding, face painting and a plethora of other activities as well.

We were at the hotel last month for a quick getaway without the kids and we had another magnificent stay.

Staff is very responsive and courteous. Beginning with the valet staff and bellboys, down to the quick delivery of room service and housekeeping. The food is delicious and hotel has been very responsive to our special dietary needs.

Hotel is very similar to its sister hotel the Hyatt Hill Country in San Antonio. This hotel is a must for anyone living in Houston/Austin/San Antonio/Dallas areas as it is a quick drive and a quick getaway. Anyone out of Texas looking to get a feel of Homey Texas hospitality, y'all come on down.It's a place to create great memories!!!

  • Liked — The property, setting, location, and service.
  • Disliked — Noting. It is perfect
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Decided last minute to book for a birthday surprise. Property and grounds are beautiful and hill country style...which is a great escape from the city. Price seems high. Firstly, valet was pushy...we wanted to park temporarily at front to go in to ask questions....front desk told me charge that was higher than quoted online....still pending...so waiting to see what they actually charge. Had booked sunset raft tour in advance....arrived to find out that they were charging us less....so i didn't complain...however, when i got on the shuttle we were informed by guides that the trip would be one hour instead of two, however, the costs were not discounted appropriately and never given explanation by concierge...raft tour is hideous...do not recommend...had something completely different in mind.

fire alarm went off during last few minutes of being in room. no explanations or instructions given....too loud and stood on patio for about 15 minutes in freezing cold.

Overall....not a great experience....would be fun for kids however. there are great things to do. Food was expensive and wait staff sparse. Cones for ice cream were also stale from store.

  • Liked — BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS
  • Disliked — PRICES, RAFT TOUR
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Cedar Creek, TX 78612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.