We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Cedar Creek, TX 78612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
St Andrews
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights here over the weekend during a business trip and found the whole experience pretty good although I didn't realise that it was spring break so there were lots and lots and lots of children around! Nothing they can do about that though. Staff all excellent and friendly (Jennie especially so).

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Greetings! We are thrilled that your business travels led you down the long and winding road to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines. Thank you so much for staying with us! Indeed - you stayed with us during a bustling time for the resort and the Austin area - both SXSW and Spring Break occurred over your stay. We apologize that your time with us may have been heavy on the energetic side - but would like to welcome you back for another stay over a more leisurely-paced time (like April, May before Memorial day or late August - October). It would be an absolute delight to welcome you back and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    282
    103
    32
    24
See reviews for
442
206
18
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines several times in the last few years but I've never reviewed it until now. The property is beautiful from the well appointed rooms, the spa, the trails, the animals, and an abundance of activities for the entire family. We really enjoy our stays here, whether it's for several days or just overnight and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for reviewing your Hyatt Lost Pines experience with fellow travelers. We are so happy that you choose to stay at our resort time and again. Thank you! It is so wonderful to know that you enjoy the scenic trails, friendly mascots, activities, rooms and Spa Django. We will be certain to share your kind words and thoughts with the team. It means the world to us that you plan to make a trip back out to our neck of the woods. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Unbeknownst to me, the very weekend I had chosen to visit Sherwood Forest Faire ended up being the same weekend SXSW was being held in Austin. Needless to say, all the cheap hotels were booked up for the weekend, so I booked a room here. My review therefore pertains to adult guests staying in the hotel just for the night, and given that context, I cannot recommend it.

First, however, let me say that the hotel and its grounds are beautiful. The architecture is a stunning, and everything is designed to feel luxurious but relaxed, sophisticated but not pretentious. Large windows allow lots of cheerful light into dining areas, from the cowboy chic Sheller's Barrelhouse Bar to the brightly-colored Firewheel Cafe. Family-friendly details and mini-indulgences are omnipresent: a champagne-juice chiller and free cookies at check-in, a big-screen t.v. with animated flicks for bored children in the waiting room, shuffle board in Sheller's, a and in cool weather, fires blazing in the giant chimneys in the dining halls and lounges, as well as in the fire pits outside. It all makes for a lovely stay. But for those who will not be staying for another full day and who cannot take advantage of the many on-site activities, $250 is a lot to spend for access to a pretty dining hall and a view of grounds you'll have no time to visit.

If you're not traveling with children and you can afford to stay for a couple of days to take advantage of the facilities, I would recommend the following:

1. Book a couple of nights during the week, when there will be fewer families.
2. Give serious consideration to the weather. If it's miserably hot, rainy, or miserably cold, you may not be able to take advantage of many of the outdoor activities, and children trapped indoors will be quite noisy.
3. To avoid a dining hall filled with noisy munchkins, dine at 9:00 pm or later, and ask when non-peek lunch times are.
4. Request a room farther away from the elevator. You'll have farther to walk, but more privacy.
5. Check in as early as possible and ask about extending checkout times in order to take full advantage of the experience. If you have spa reservations around the checkout time, the staff may be willing to accommodate you.
6. Request a schedule of the scheduled activities in advance, so you know what's happening when.
7. And finally, IGNORE Google Maps' directions for getting to the resort; It will take you down a semi-abandoned road (Pope Bend Rd) that runs parallel to the real entrance. The entrance to the Spa is directly off of 71 and is clearly marked "Hyatt Regency Lost Pines."

Lost Pines can be quite the value for a family of 4. For an adult couple to get the most out of it, however, you need to plan ahead. It's a beautiful facility, and it can be very relaxing and luxurious. But it isn't worth the price unless you can spend a full 24-hours (at least) there and plan to take advantage of off-peak dining times in order to avoid (or at least minimize interaction with) the munchkins.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi there! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are delighted that you stayed with us during your recent trip to attend the Sherwood Forrest Faire. Indeed, you stayed with us during one of the most popular times for families to travel - Spring Break (in addition to SXSW). Your tips will certainly be helpful to those wanting to travel to the resort as a couple or for an adults only getaway. In addition, we'd like to offer that off-peak leisure times - like April and May before Memorial Day weekend, as well as late August through early November - are great times for guests to enjoy the resort as a couple while soaking in the sun and fun of the water park. We are delighted to let you know that - as a result of your feedback and the feedback of other treasured guests - we have successfully reported the error in directions to Google Maps and this has since been corrected. We sincerely apologize for the confusion the directions caused and are grateful that you shared your experience with us. Thank you for your beautiful words describing the hotel architecture, lighting and scenery. We enjoyed reading that and suspect fellow TripsAdvisors will as well. In closing, we are happy that you stayed with us, and hope you would consider returning for another stay when the guest landscape shifts from energetic family-focused to leisurely and relaxing adults escape. It would be our pleasure to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This resort style property was beautiful and the food was excellent (very expensive though). The room was clean and well furnished; however, it was very noisy. The person next door snored and we heard it all night every night. When the couple came in each night around midnight, the talking woke us up every night during our stay (3 night stay). The rooms are not sound insulated at all. The doors to every room also slammed shut waking us up each morning. If looking for a quiet getaway, look elsewhere is my advice. I can't recommend this property due to the poor sound quality.

Room Tip: Call ahead and see if they have an event going during your planned stay. If they do, look elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for writing a review on your stay at our resort. We are glad to know that you were pleased with the room, food and scenery at the resort - thank you for those kind words. We are disappointed to know that your stay did not meet and exceed your expectations - for that we deeply apologize. We are very grateful that you shared your experience regarding the noise issues of other guests. Your sentiments will be shared with the team for thoughtful review and consideration. We take your feedback extremely seriously and deeply appreciate your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Recently spent three nights at Lost Pines. The facility was fantastic. Food at the restaraunts and excellent and good value. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The only challange I had was getting a shuttle from Lost Pines to Downtown Austin as my wife and I were spending the weekend there. The shuttle company took 1 hour to arrive to pick me up although a number of their vehichles showed up as I sat at the front doors waiting. Frustrating. I did receive a call from Lost Pines staff that evening to make sure I had made it into Austin ok - nice gesture.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the food and value you received in our dining outlets and that you enjoyed the facilities. We are sorry to hear about your transportation challenge, but are grateful that you shared that experience with us. We will take this opportunity to evaluate our procedures with the vendors that venture out to our resort to transport our treasured guests to Austin and beyond. We are very sorry for the frustration you experienced, and hope that you will make plans to return despite this hiccup. It was our absolute pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is by far the most beautiful resort I have ever stayed at! The service was fantastic and the grounds were amazing. There were so many activities for young and old. I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello - and many thanks for your kind and glowing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time so much that you felt compelled to share your feedback with other travelers: We consider this a great compliment. We are thrilled that you were pleased with the resort's scenic setting, activities, amenities and service. It is wonderful to know that you plan to return and we look forward to greeting you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Lost Pines Resort is a lovely getaway. Tucked into the Lost Pines region of Texas, near Bastrop, you really feel as if you have been removed from the hussle and bustle of society. Lots of room to spread out; lots of activities - especially for kids. Seems like a great family retreat, if it's within your price range.

The only disappointment was the food in the Firewheel Cafe. The bar had much better food, though one would think it came from the same kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for sharing your thoughtful review! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We are especially thankful for your honest feedback regarding your dining experience at Firewheel Cafe. Your thoughts will be directly shared with our Executive Chef and our leadership committee for their review. We are happy that you enjoyed your food dining experience in Shellers. It is our hope that you will return for another stay - we would be thrilled to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Cedar Creek, TX 78612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.