We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely Care About Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Cedar Creek, TX 78612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
813 helpful votes 813 helpful votes
“Genuinely Care About Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Regrettably, we only stayed here one Sunday night on this trip. We love this resort because of its relaxed elegance and great staff. The experience this time started out on the wrong foot, however.

We had just finished a two day long bike ride and had made a reservation here for a ground floor suite facing the pool/jacuzzi area and a confirmed reservation for dinner at 6:30 p.m. at the main restaurant, Stories. But despite our requests, we were assigned a room some distance away, facing the sunset, and the room was 95 degrees. Also, Stories is closed on Sunday nights, so our dinner reservation could not be honored. Then the valet guys managed to set off the security alarm in the car and could not turn it off. All this came up in the first 15 minutes. We had stayed here before and all this was like Twilight Zone stuff compared to our last several stays. Plus we were exhausted from the weekend, sunburned, and just needed to chill out.

But, the hotel manager, Samantha, and the food & beverage manager, Courtney, came to the rescue with elegance and style. We had already unloaded all our stuff and bike gear in the room and didnt want to move, so Samantha offered us a deal on the room rate and points that we could not refuse. Then Courtney found a way for us to get food from the cafe restaurant, FireWheel, that was similar to the menu from Stories, delivered to our suite, where they served us dinner, which we paid for as we had expected. (Filet mignon, etc. - some pretty yummy stuff.) When it was delivered, there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries included at no charge along with a handwritten note from Courtney. The servers were polite and totally professional.

We were pretty amazed. What started out to be a rocky experience turned out to be a really nice experience.

Like everyone, we have stayed at hotels where the staff was either incompetent or insensitive. But if you travel enough, sometimes things just don't start out well for some reason. In my opinion, the measure of a great place to stay is how the staff responds when it is clear they made a mistake. This time, the Hyatt staff at Lost Pines responded elegantly and with style. It is clear that they know what they are doing and they genuinely care about their guests.

Thank you to everyone at the Hyatt for making our stay a great experience.

We highly recommend that you consider staying here the next time you need some pampering also.

Room Tip: Lots of good rooms all over the hotel, but we prefer the south wing facing the lake and the pool.jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay. We deeply apologize for the missteps you experienced upon checking-in, and hope that you know that this is not our standard of service. We are delighted to know that Courtney and Samantha were able to recover these mistakes and provide you with a relaxing and comfortable experience. We will share your review with the resort, and let Samantha and Courtney know that their efforts were appreciated. We are honored that you chose to unwind after a long weekend at Hyatt Lost Pines, and we hope you will return soon. Congratulations on completing your ride, and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    258
    91
    28
    23
See reviews for
408
186
18
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently stayed at Lost Pines and loved it. Highly recommend to anyone thinking about it.

Rooms are great and the staff was friendly and knowledgable. Wife enjoyed the spa services and felt so pampered!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us, and are so happy to know that you felt relaxed and pampered. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely, low-key yet upscale resort that is easy to reach from Austin or San Antonio. The grounds are sprawling, yet still easy to walk around (even for my husband, who has difficulty walking any distance).
We upgraded to a junior suite, so had a separate bedroom and living room, on a corner of a building facing the Colorado River. Very peaceful and serene.
The only negative is that the fine dining restaurant was closed during our stay (I assume because of low hotel occupancy), but the other on-site options were fine.
While you could play golf, swim (the weather was too cold for this), ride horses, etc., we just relaxed. One day we drove around the area to Bastrop, and enjoyed the wildflowers.
I also had a great massage at the spa, one of the best I've had. Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: When you book online, they offer a stand-by suite upgrade. Because our rate was very low (mid-week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the resort's setting, activities and amenities while with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your jr. suite and that your treatment at Spa Django surpassed your expectations. We are appreciative that you shared your disappointment with Stories being closed while you were with us. We will pass that along to our management team for review. Thank you again for your kind comments, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed in this resort a number of times and it is our favorite weekend getaway. The hotel and its grounds are sprawling with all kinds of activities for children and adults. Horseback riding, miniature petting zoo, lazy river pool, hiking - it has it all. The spa is the best place in the entire resort, although now they charge a nominal fee. Be sure to get a room on the lowest floor in order to take advantage of the cool(er) summer nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at Hyatt Lost Pines, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so honored to be your preferred getaway destination. It is great to know that you enjoy the many activities and amenities that we offer - especially the relaxation provided by Spa Django. A copy of your review will be shared with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Lost Pines on April 9th through 11th 2013 and had a very relaxed stay. The hotel is about thirty minutes east of Austin in an area that they call Bastrop. The resort has a look akin to a huge ranch which is a great idea since you are in Texas and everything is "bigger in Texas" as they say.
One of the most notable things on our stay was dining in the Stories dining lounge. The menu was unique and the food was incredible. I would highly recommend this place to even the most experienced gourmet as everything from the appetizers to the entree was a taste delight. A top notch selection of wines were available as well to compliment any dish that you would choose.
Right from the opening of the menu to the desert we were so glad that we had the opportunity to dine at Stories.
Tip of the Stetson to the management and staff, and especially to the young man who prepared our meal, at Stories and the Hyatt lost Pines Resort. Our stay was a truly remarkable experience and if we ever have the good fortune to be in the Austin area again we will surely visit again.

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms don't have balconies so if you want one stay on the first through third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us, and are so grateful for the kind words you had to share. The team at Stories will be flattered to read your kind words regarding the cuisine, wine selection at service. We will be certain to pass along your kind words - and Stetson-clad nod - to the team. Thank you again for staying at Hyatt Lost Pines, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights the weekend after easter. It didnt feel too busy but certainly was not empty. We didnt arrive until after 6pm Friday and went out to Bastrop for a late dinner celebration that night and had to go in to Austin for an errand the next morning. So not a whole lot of time to hang out at the hotel. Best asset of this hotel would have to be the helpful and friendly staff. Check in was quick, and our stuff was brought up quickly by a nice gentleman who showed us room amenities and got us ice. Our room was nice spacious and clean with balcony. Also liked the extra counter and mirror across from the bathroom as it allows you to continue getting dressed even if the bathroom is occupied. Bed was comfortable. The in-room wifi was free for the duration of our stay. Our room was near the main lobby so location is very convenient. The room rate is high and so is the breakfast price. Saturday afternoon after our errand and lunch in Austin, we returned and did get to hike the trails and ride the bike. Plus enjoyed the cool breeze on our balcony. Its nice that there is an in-room fridge to keep our drnks cold. Our teens and friends had their own rooms next door to ours and did their own thing, allowing us parents to enjoy quiet relaxing time alone. Our teens used the pool and the bike we think. They also did the 6pm sunset float and said it wasnt worth the $50 per person. This was difficult to set up in the first place because we called in march hoping to ensure that we could get spots for the 6 teens. But we were told to call back the week before as they were too busy to be taking reservations for April ....really now, are we getting this fir free or what !!! Everyone loved the firepit and the smores; the weather was perfect for it. Overall a nice stay. We agree with another reviewer that said the exterior of the hotel reminds them of a large apartment complex and might we add, from the 80s. It certainly isnt an architectural beauty, but the main lobby and our room were nicely designed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you chose to stay at Hyatt Lost Pines, and that you and your teens enjoyed some relaxation as well as the activities and amenities. We deeply apologize for the response your received when attempting to make rafting arrangements with our activities department. That service is not our standard, and we will be certain to take this opportunity to review our policies and procedures with the team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodations and relaxing on the balcony of your room. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay, and we hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent Easter weekend here, taking advantage of their club amenities and playing a round of golf - more on that in an additional review of the course...

Our room was pretty nice, but would have liked to be in one with a covered porch for sitting out and enjoying the park in the evenings or daytime reading a book - just too hot if the sun is out in one without cover like what we had - maybe good if you are a sunbather though...

Lots of people brought their dogs which was kind of cool. Most seemed well behaved, sometimes more so than some of the kids running wild! I get pretty ticked when people don't watch their kids... It was a holiday and there were lots of activities, so lots of families - which seemed good for them... If I had kids of that age, I would think that the kids would have a great time.

The Easter Brunch was not as I expected - but it was okay - a bit pricey, however - most of the food was pretty good - we did enjoy the seafood. As for most of the restaurants the food was just so-so - and the wines were not top shelf, but top shelf prices were charged... Ok, so it is a resort... Captive audience!

The place seemed well run - the staff in the Monarch room (club) were super duper. As long as we avoided the times when the club was overrun with kids, it was a good value. Personally, I think it is pretty obnoxious to bring your four kids and yourselves and pay the same price as two adults for access to the club. It just does not seem like a fair deal...

I may be sounding crabby, but we had a good time, really. We might return sometime not on a holiday to see if the relaxation factor could be notched up for us... It is a beautiful setting.

The place is spread out, so, if you are a walker, you'll like it! Lots of trail access for running and hiking around the hills... Gorgeous oaks and mesquite - and very "Hill Country Texas".

Room Tip: Ask for your choice of a covered or non-covered porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We are so appreciative of your candid comments regarding the monarch room and food and beverage offerings. We will share your thoughts with the team and use this as an opportunity to evaluate and improve our processes. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us over Easter, and would be so grateful to welcome you again for some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Cedar Creek, TX 78612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.