We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions of food served lukewarm ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stories Fine Dining Establishment at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stories Fine Dining Establishment at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines
575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd., Cedar Creek, TX 78612
5123084653
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Cedar Creek
Price range: $45 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highway 71
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Small portions of food served lukewarm ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The four of us were so looking forward to a great dinner, given the excellent impression left by the hotel and grounds. We were SO disappointed. The service was very, very slow - although when our server was at our table, she was very helpful and polite. I ordered "Green Eggs & Ham" as an appetizer ... and it turned out to be the only good dish at the entire table for the entire evening. The rest of the appetizers and entrées (lamb, salmon, filet) were very, very small portions - even by fine dining standards. By the time they arrived at our table, all the food was tepid. The filet was tasteless. We were so hungry after the entrées that we were looking forward to dessert ... but it turned out that there were only 3 desserts on the menu! Luckily, we were able to get downstairs to Emporium for Blue Bell ice cream. For a restaurant trying to be top notch, they failed badly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“expensive-good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

the desserts were incredible, but the meat was dry, had a funny taste for a filet mignon...the service as with the rest of hotel, nice people, but too expensive to go again...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thought the food was excellent, the service attentive, and I liked the ambience, quiet and relaxed. It's small and intimate, a lovely evening!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining at the Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We dined here on Saturday night of Labor Day weekend, we had a reservation - which you should definitely have, if you visit over a holiday weekend.
The service was fantastic - servers were extremely attentive, and accomodating to our vegetarian diets. My 10 year old and I each had the price fix meals (Salad, Salmon, and dessert), while my husband had a mushroom pasta, and my daughter had something off the kids menu. We checked in on Foursquare and earned ourselves a free dessert - and our server brought one out for our daughter as well. Perfect touch!
The food was really good, and well priced. We will definitely dine here again on our next trip!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stories Fine Dining is fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stories is a smaller restaurant away from the family frenzy that is the Firewheel Cafe. The staff are very attentive, even when they are a little overwhelmed with large groups. The filet mignon is excellent but is a little too big. There are wines by the glass that are very good. The creme brulee was served warm but was enjoyable nevertheless.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stories Fine Dining Establishment at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines also viewed

 

Been to Stories Fine Dining Establishment at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stories Fine Dining Establishment at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.