We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast - buffet on the weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Lost Pines - Firewheel Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hyatt Lost Pines - Firewheel Cafe
575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd., Cedar Creek, TX 78612
5123084860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Cedar Creek
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 71
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good breakfast - buffet on the weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very tasty breakfast, somewhat pricey though. The weekend buffet was good - especially the omelette station.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food lacked in flavor and was dry. This was our second visit to the restaurant and were disappointed with the wait time and the overall taste of the food. We ordered Spaghetti, which had an odd overwhelming flavor of black olive juice. We also had the Jerked chicken with mango chutney. The Chicken was very dry and the mango chutney was mostly raisins and very little mango. The dish was served with rice on coconut cream, which was again lacking in flavor and dry.

The price of the meals ranged from 17-30 dollars and although the portions were generous the overall quality and flavor of the food were not worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh food, friendly but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined here during our stay at the resort. The first day we had lunch and it was very good but we waited for what seemed like am inordinately long time for the meal, then everyone's meals seemed to come out of the kitchen all at once. On our second evening we had the breakfast buffet which was very good. Then we had dinner buffet but the service was very slow and my drink arrived as I was having desert. I guess it gets very busy with all the events but it still would be nice to have some servers dedicated to the non-event area.
Restaurant was clean, staff was friendly and the food was very good but a bit pricey.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onlaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Firewheel has a lot of space to satisfy a convention crowd. Fish tacos and med. salad are favorites.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mostly good, problem with menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've stayed and eaten here many, many times. By and large it has always been good, however, this last visit had some spotty issues. My MIL ordered the sea bass. It came out looking and tasting like no sea bass we'd ever seen, and resembled something more like a perch or trout - small, tail on, lots and lots of bones. After questioning first the waiter then the chef, it turns out is was basically a species of bass from the sea, a branzino. I understand traditional "sea bass" is over fished and they are trying to be sustainable, but perhaps stating in the menu something like "our sustainable replacement for sea bass" might have been better, or a warning from the waiter that it is not the usually thought of sea bass.

That said, the rest of our meals there were good. No buffet the whole 4 days we were there, bummer, so the menu by day 4 was looking a little sparse. There are not a lot of offerings. Service was always good. The tomato bisque was especially fantastic, but the portion was ginormous, easily 2-3 cups worth.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyatt Lost Pines - Firewheel Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hyatt Lost Pines - Firewheel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Lost Pines - Firewheel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.