We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch to your Saves list
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13251 Newberg Rd., Cat Spring, TX 78933   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cat Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

What an incredible place! Everything was exactly as we expected it, and even better. My wife and I stayed in the Log Cabin which was such a neat place. Everything in it was antique, and it felt like we were really stepping back in time. The whole ranch was just beautiful and so peaceful. Staying in the log cabin is towards the front of the ranch, so we we got to just sit on our porch and watch the animals. Peacocks, pigs, alpaca, goat, and of course horses and cattle; not to mention, dogs galore! Carol and Skeeter were so great and really made this weekend special. Thanks to everyone that runs this place. We will definitely be coming back, and will probably make it an annual trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    37
    4
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
155
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overall, we accomplished what we set out to do: have a relaxing getaway out of the city. We stayed at the Oasis section of Blisswood. The owner graciously gave us an upgrade to the Lenai from the Aloha, and we were really happy that she did that because the Lenai was a better fit for us since we brought food to cook etc, and the kitchen is bigger. We enjoyed the porch and the setting outside, however NONE of the water features were working, and what would have been a really nice waterfall was just empty and motionless. The atrium area with the pond/pool was unkempt and not at all appealing. Overall the grounds of the Oasis, though the trees were still pretty, were just not at all what is depicted in the videos and pictures on the Blisswood website. We felt that we paid too much money per night, and if we had not been upgraded to a bigger room, we would have really been unhappy. Inside the Lanai suite, the kitchen had everything we needed, the bed was really comfortable, the bathroom and jacuzzi nice, and the a/c and fans kept us cool. But, a word to the wise, if there is not some work done on the grounds, be prepared that you are not going to see what you see on the website, which is a shame, because there is so much potential there for the area to be truly an oasis. It just does not get there.

We were met upon arrival by a most gracious Skeeter Hagler, the property's official photographer ( and a Pulitzer winning one at that). He was most kind and helpful, and obviously, as we saw over the course of our stay, very spread thin with duties and tasks !

As we didn't stay on the Blisswood Ranch property, we drove over to check it out. The grounds around the gazebo are beautiful and the property itself is beautiful. There were no golf carts to be had as there was a family reunion going on and apparently all in use. The gift shop was locked and closed. We saw two buffalo and a week old buffalo calf but no other animals, but we did not spend a great deal of time on the actual ranch property, so I don't feel I can really review it.

We had dinner at Carol's Restaurant Saturday night, and I believe that Carol was cooking. Our food was very good. I had the ribeye and my husband had the salmon. Our salads and sides and bread were also very good, and we shared a modestly priced bottle of wine, which was quite good. I believe our waiter's name was David, and he was excellent, all of the staff was very good and attentive.

Sort of a funny note, we were told there would be a singer in the bar area, and she was dining while we were, but she said that she just planned to play her tapes of her songs, which was also disappointing as we were wanting to hear live music. However, there were not really any people in the bar, so I don't blame her for not being "into" it.

I would consider going back to Blisswood, but only to stay at the ranch to see how I like that. Unless the Oasis is really taken care of, I would not stay there again. . I would for sure eat at Carol's again.

We enjoyed Cat Spring on the whole, and it was a really nice getaway for us.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if the Oasis has been restored to what is seen on the pics and videos ! Be sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This B&B was really peaceful, and the host/hostess were very friendly. If we had any questions they were available to respond. Great atmosphere, secluded for privacy, beautiful property. We really enjoyed our weekend and would recommend it to anyone. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Oasis area are secluded. They provided breakfast in the refrigerator for both days we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I took my girlfriend to Blisswood last weekend for a quiet, relaxing weekend outside of the city. We couldn't have gone to a better place. We stayed in the Cherry Blossom Suite at the Oasis. It had a wonderful, exotic atmosphere. Pools, gardens, green houses. Very secluded feeling. On Saturday we went to the main ranch to do some horseback riding. The staff were all extremely friendly. The animals were just as friendly, were very gentle and loved the attention. That night we had dinner at Carol's restaurant. Very charming, and Carol herself came by to welcome us. If you want a great weekend getaway (close to Houston), you can't go wrong with Blisswood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have stayed at Blisswood on multiple occasions and have always found the owner to be accommodating and the facilities to be uniquely relaxing. This year the bluebonnets were in full bloom and the property was spectacular. While we live in the city, in less than one hour we know we have a relaxing getaway location. Great lace for a family reunion too!

Room Tip: Talk with the staff to help them guide you as to which house you want to stay in. Each property has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We visited Blisswood B&B during spring break - just me and my children, and stayed in their beautiful Texas Farmhouse. Being able to disconnect from the world was priceless. We took long walks around the property, rode horses, played cards/games, and had a fabulous time. The house was decorated with antiques, and was extremely clean and well cared for. The true quietness of being in the country with its multitude of stars at night, rocking on the front porch, and sitting in the kitchen making coffee on a turn of the century gas stove was an experience we will never forget. The next time I am ready to get away from the hustle and bustle of my crazy life in the city I will be returning to Blisswood for a little relaxation and bliss!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at Blisswood Bed & Breakfast in late April and all I can is it was amazing! We spent the weekend in the Texas Countryhouse and it was absolutely charming and beautifully preserved. The kitchen was full of antique appliances adding to the charm and we had no issues with anything. There was a collection of quilts dating back to 1800 which were gorgeous. The rooms and house in general were extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. Blisswood is an excellent place for couples looking for a romantic get away, families, or to just get some much needed alone time. No TV's in any of the houses and wifi is spotty, making it an excellent place to escape the stresses of city life. I highly recommend Blisswood and will defnitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for letting us know how you enjoyed the peace, quiet, and serenity of BlissWood. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Address: 13251 Newberg Rd., Cat Spring, TX 78933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cat Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch is an authentic Texas experience like no other. Unwind in the peaceful country setting amidst majestic live oaks, open ranch land, and our fully stocked fishing pond. Choose from 18 unique Texas Hill Country lodging options including turn-of-the-century Texas Homes, a Hawaiian themed Oasis, The Enchanted Cabin by the Lake or a contemporary Texas ranch house. Enjoy simple life in the calming surroundings of our working Texas Hill Country guest ranch, where animals abound including horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pot bellied pigs, deer, peacocks, and even American Bison. Enjoy numerous ranch activities including horseback riding, archery, animal feeding tours, fishing and more! Our breathtaking 650 acre Texas guest ranch is ideally located only an hour west of Houston, and 2 hours to San Antonio and Austin. Come experience a laid back and authentic Texas experience, perfect for romantic getaways and family vacations alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blisswood Bed And Breakfast At Lehmann Legacy Ranch
Blisswood b&b At Lehmann Legacy Ranch Hotel Cat Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.