We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Noir Eatery

Le Chat Noir Eatery
1403 Angelo, Castroville, TX 78009
830-538-9347
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Castroville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“New and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Le Chat Noir in Castroville has not been open long. The restaurant is not only charming but the food was magnifique. Castroville is an Alsatien town just west of San Antonio. My friend had the Poulet Grand-mere and raved about it. and I had grilled redfish over orzo with sweet peppers. We were celebrating Bastille Day and ended the meal with the best creme brulee that I have ever eaten. The chef is a young and talented woman, Lynn Oefinger. Such good fresh food found in the hill country--quelle chance!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No regrets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were down here for a wedding and stumbled into this place. The best part of our trip besides the wedding, coming here was another highlight. We absolutely loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ambiance, fresh food, wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived ten minutes before brunch was over & they were so gracious to seat us. Food was great, the service perfect and we loved the old house it is located in. I was reminded of some of the Inns we have dined in on the east coast. We may drive back one day just for lunch. Treat yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My best friend and I recently stumbled upon this little restaurant while shopping for pottery across the street (also recommended) in Castroville. Wow. We stopped there for Sunday brunch. I ordered the Caesar salad and our waiter asked me if I'd like any protein with my salad. That sounded good, and I indicated that I only ate fish. He recommended either the salmon or the shrimp. I was immediately impressed that I could custom-order my salad. I chose the salmon. I can say without a doubt that it was the very best Caesar salad I've ever had. The salmon was fresh, perfectly seasoned and mild. The romaine was extremely fresh and crispy. The house-made dressng was to die for. I live in Wisconsin and I've been craving this salad in Castroville Texas ever since. If I lived nearby I would visit every week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Family owned French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a small but roomy restaurant with a warm, friendly ambience. The chef changes the menu daily and offers nothing but the freshest food available. Extremely friendly and knowledgable staff-they all live in Castroville. Meals were way beyond our expectations! A must for couples or friends that want a great night out with terrific food!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Noir Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Le Chat Noir Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Noir Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.