We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Castroville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1651 US Hwy 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castroville
san antonio, tx
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Castroville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed here for a medium sized conference held in the Community Center of a local church. The hotel was picked by the organizers of the conference. The rates are less than that of San Antonio and the rooms are very nice. The included continental breakfast is delicious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
42
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boerne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The best service , food and stay we had in the 4 days we were out .thanks for a great time will be back .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. I enjoyed sitting outside the restaurant and talking to the other guest. If you want quiet and a relax admosphere this is the place. You need to plan your stay during one of their wonderful wine tastings the food was outstanding and the service was great.. We have been to two of their wine tastings.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I can't even give this place one star due to the EXTREMELY poorly managed "resort". Check in was okay. The room did not appear dirty but there were spiders and insects in the bathroom and in the room. We were awoken to a person puking next to the french doors at 1:30am. Tried to call the front desk but no answer. When we went to the bathroom, there were more insects. Within 10 minutes after flushing the insects down the toilet, the toilet flooded the bathroom and the hallway. Again at 2a.m. we tried to call the front desk and again NO ANSWER. We loaded the floors with all towels we could find and made our way into the toilet and began toilet repairs as best we knew how. Of course, I still needed to use the restroom. Eventually, I realized the toilet parts in the tank needed replacement and stopped the flooding. At 3:30 am still no answer from the front desk. I went to sleep as best I could and check the bed for insects before I layed down. At 7:30a.m. BIG FOOT was staying in the room above so again I was awake. Telling our tale to the staff was useless as they were indifferent. The apathetic "manager" heard the story through the staff and never contacted us directly and decided to give us a partial refund. This information was communicated to us again through the front desk clerk as again the manager never spoke to us directly. If you want to be a manager, you will need to face problems head on and not hide under a rock. Our total bill for the night was over $130 and yes that did include her less that adequate "adjustment". I have pondered whether I should send her my bill for my on-call 24 hour plumbing services. If you need a place to stay, keep driving to San Antonio or pullover and sleep on the side of the road - chances are you will have less bugs and your ourdoor plumbing will be functioning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Alsace one night while traveling from Houston to New Mexico. This is a roadside motel -- I wouldn't call it a resort. The rooms are minimalist gray and brown with tile floors (old furniture all painted gray). Our queen bed (they don't have king beds) was uncomfortable with scratchy sheets. We had a balcony with a very nice view, however all you could hear outside was the traffic on Hwy 90. Wireless internet is available but extremely slow. We did not venture out to the pool -- it appeared to be a standard motel pool. Restaurant was closed the night we stayed (although we had a fabulous dinner in town at the Old Alsatian Steakhouse). Continental breakfast was very limited. We paid $80 for the night -- which was probably about right -- but I would have chosen a different hotel had I known about all the downsides.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This was our 4th stay (or more?) at this property and I have to say, each time is better and better. They treat us like royalty! I love this place! My husband & I say how "at home" we feel here. It is so comfortable, relaxing and fun. The beer & wine events are very fun and quite a value. The food in the restaurant is always top quality and the chef is eager to accommodate special requests. Staff are all very friendly and on top of things. Rooms are spacious, clean and contemporary. I like the fact they make good attempts at being "green" and recycling. We will, without a doubt, be back and recommend this to friends & family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I spent two too many nights at this "hotel" for my sister's wedding weekend. I will try to be fair by listing the pros and cons but I assure you, you do not want to stay at this hotel.

Pros: Modern room with tile floors (I prefer them over carpet)
Table with two chairs
Balcony with seating
Clean white waffle weave robes
Large closet (although with fixed hangers, a bit annoying)
Nice manager who dealt with the situation as best she could, but unfortunately could not remedy this motel masquerading as a hotel

Cons:
-Keys did not work after repeated attempts, the hotel staff blamed this issue on the weather! This was a problem for all guests at the hotel, the entire wedding party.
-Terrible bedding, cheap and hard, flimsy cover. no duvet just a thin worn out and frayed blanket, the thinnest pillows imaginable
-Awful mattress, bouncy
-The maid service was lacking
-Request for towels and extra pillows (they only provide two, none were stored in closet) were forgotten
-Continental Breakfast lacked hot water for tea, cookies were provided for breakfast! along with english muffins and bagels, and a small basket of fruit
-My sisters room on the bottom floor smelled of mold
-Squeaky plastic faucets (this may seem minor but I assure you after repeated use they are most annoying)
-There only printer was broken and we could not print our boarding pass
-HORRIBLE Restaurant
-Spotty free wifi
-Last but not least they changed the first printout with our rate to one with a higher rate upon checkout, which they did change but completely out of line

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Address: 1651 US Hwy 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009
Location: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort
Hotel Alsace Castroville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.