We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Carthage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Carthage to your Saves list
Super 8 Carthage
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2386 S.E. Loop, Carthage, TX 75633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carthage
Campbell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a family getaway to Carthage and chose this property because of the great value. It was built in 2012 so it was clean and well-kept. The beds were comfortable and everything was satisfactory. Only 2 factors keep me from giving it an excellent rating: 1) requested 2 downstairs rooms and had booked almost a month in advance- both rooms were on the 2nd floor; 2) one of the rooms was missing the remote control for the TV so we had to contact the office for that. Other than that, we didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyP_Super8, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank You for choosing us during your stay in Carthage, we are very glad that you were pleased with your room and our property. I do want to apologize for the error in the your room placement, we always try to be overly accommodating to our guests requests, and I would like to assure you that steps have been taken to make sure this doesn't happen again. Also, the room inventory guidelines have been reviewed with our Housekeeping staff, just to make sure we have everything you need and more during your next visit to our hotel. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
4
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were greeted by a great hostess, wonderful personality, great skills with people. She was very accommodating to all our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyP_Super8, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We pride ourselves on continually offering the most exceptional customer service possible, and look forward to your visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When we were told, we had to stay in a Super 8 Motel for a business trip I was very upset. Until I came to this place. Josh Turner the General Manager and Ms. Ashley the Front Desk Clerk were the most wonderful people. Excellent Service, Great rooms, The Best Breakfast never been to a Super8 for safety reasons, but this was like no other Super 8 I have ever seen. Would recommend a stay whenever you are in Carthage TX.


Ruby S.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyP_Super8, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Ruby, we are so glad you loved everything about your stay! It makes all of us happy to be able to receive a shining review like yours. We look forward to having you back in the future. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splendora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Super 8.
The coffee pot in the room was a big hit the coffee was provided too.
The beds were comfortable.
The staff was very helpful. The location was very convent.
The only bad thing the lock on the bathroom door seemed to jam. Not good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyP_Super8, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us when you were in town, that is what we love to hear! We would just like to say Thank You for your visit, and we look forward to serving you again in the future. We have had Maintenance specifically inspect the doors and lock mechanisms to ensure all were in proper working order. Thanks Again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The refrigerator did not work. There was too much noise from the highway out front and there was way too much noise from people in the parking lot, right outside my room making noise in the middle of the night. The continental breakfast was a joke. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyP_Super8, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I would like to personally apologize that you had some dissatisfaction during your stay. We always strive to be the best we can be, unfortunately sometimes we do fall short. All rooms are regularly inspected to insure the quality of all our amenities and appliances, I can assure you the problem with the fridge has been taken care of. As far as the noise goes, we do try to maintain a quiet, peaceful atmosphere as much as possible, we will strive to be overly proactive to ensure a good nights sleep is available for all our guests. Our breakfast standards are upheld on a corporate level, however we always welcome recommendations for extra additions to our menu. Thank You again for your suggestions and I thank you for being a valued Super 8 guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Carthage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carthage

Address: 2386 S.E. Loop, Carthage, TX 75633
Location: United States > Texas > Carthage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carthage 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 of Carthage, Tx is a brand new hotel as of April 2012. We have a modern decor not found in many establishments that have you feeling that you're in your home away from home. We have a range of rooms, varying from a regular King single, up to a 2 King Suite that comes equipped with a full kitchen.Modern design meets affordability at our Super 8 Carthage, TX hotel, the friendliest spot on earth, according to the City of Carthage website. Built in 2012, our Texas hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access, full wheelchair accessibility and convenient business center. We’re located just off Route 59, in the quiet southern section of Carthage, within easy reach of downtown.Wake up and get where you need to be after a hearty free SuperStart breakfast. Copy service, Laundromat and free parking for vehicles of every size are available at our hotel in Carthage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSKnown as the Gas Capital of the United States, Carthage, Texas is also home to the Texas Country Music Hall of Fame, just five miles from our front door. During October each year, Carthage gears up for the East Texas Oil and Gas Blast, with live music, door prizes, car show and baking contest; while April sees the return of the Piney Woods Quilt Festival. Visiting a Pony or Filly? Panola College is within easy reach of our Carthage hotel. Check out a sports game or indulge your Western fantasy with Rodeo events on campus, just a few miles north of us.DINING OPTIONSNobody goes hungry in Texas, and Carthage is certainly no exception! Pop over to Denny’s for a quick bite nearby, or savor margaritas and salsa at Don Juan’s Mexican Restaurant downtown. Grab a slice at Milano’s Pizza or chow down on ribs at Daddy Sam’s BBQ and Catfish.BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIESFree high-speed Internet access and copy services are available onsite. Visit our front desk to find out more about how you can work on the go.Built in a quiet atmosphere, you'll be cozy and asleep in our brand new beds in no time. We'll be looking forward to hearing from you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Carthage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Carthage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.