We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Panaderia

El Portal Panaderia
2810 Trinity Mills, Ste 191, Carrollton, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 253 Restaurants in Carrollton
Cuisines: Colombian
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/el-portal-cafe-carrollton
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/el-portal-cafe-carrollton
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

First time into El Portal. The staff was super friendly and helpful explaining menu options and specials for the day. Service was prompt and friendly. The food was fresh and well prepared. The portions were really large - I had thendailynspecial which was a full bowl of soup plus a small salad, fried plantains, rice, and a small steak. The meal was served with a homemade salad dressing and chimmichurri sauces. We also had the Columbian version of pan de queso made with yucca flour very good. The dining room is a bit spartan but is clean and comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carroll
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Colombian bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This place to me is a bakery first that also serves excellent food. The 'bandeja paisa' is great along with the 'ajiaco' or a thick chicken soup but better. Also their tamales are the best and much heftier than a Mexican tamale. All of their fresh bread is excellent. When you have a meal here have it with a Colombian soft drink to complete the experience. And the guys waiting to serve you are friendly and just great people. Come here when you can and you'll be back. This place also shows Colombian soccer games and this locale gets packed with fans, it's great to see.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Great Colombian food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We found out about this place from Colombian friends that told us about it. We like their food especially the bandeja paisa (rice, steak, pork rind, egg, avocado, beans, arepa), a very filling dish. They have a small bakery on the premises and you can buy some nice desserts such as milhojas). They have a varied menus that includes fish, chicken and other dishes. Meat pies are also available.
Courteous and prompt service and great food keeps us returning to this place anytime we are in the Dallas area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome pastries and great authentic columbian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

The place is small, but very clean and inviting. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They even let me try a pastry before buying. The baked cheese bread was amazing and so were the caramel filled pasteries. they were all so fresh flakey and flavorful. It was my first time there and I will definitely be back again. Highly recommend trying this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Que Pan Tan Bello!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I discovered El Portal some time ago (maybe a year?) through a Venezuelan coworker. Ironic it wasn’t through a Colombian person, wasn’t it? After knowing there was a Colombian “panadería” here in the Metroplex, I immediately made time to go and buy some bread. We were beyond happy with what I got: an assortment of roscón, pan aliñado, and almojabanas. There has been no turning back since then.

This place offers more than bread, however. If you are hungry, try some of the dishes they offer. What you see in the pictures are a “Bandeja Paisa”, a combination of steak, chorizo, rice, beans and an arepa. It is a very traditional Colombian dish. The other is a “Sopa de Costilla” (Rib Soup). The latter was the lunch special for just $6.99, and an excellent choice to keep warm. What are you waiting for? Come with a friend or your family and taste Colombia. We dare you not to love it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Portal Panaderia also viewed

 

Been to El Portal Panaderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Panaderia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.