We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food at Bargin Prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gennaro's Trattoria

Gennaro's Trattoria
10018 Startz Road, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
+1 830-899-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family owned and operated, Gennaro's Trattoria serves authentic Italian cuisine, originating from Naples, Italy, made from fresh ingredients. Gennaro's Trattoria's motto is "che mangia bene, vive bene" or, "who eats well, lives well." We invite you to enjoy and enrich your life by dining with us.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food at Bargin Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Since we had a gang of 15 people visiting Canyon Lake we did not attempt to go to a restaurant, but rather ordered take-out. During our week we ordered out from Gennaro's 3 times and each time was excellent. We sampled everything from antipasto to pizza to melenzane, and it was all delicious. The accompanying breads, salads and house dressing were exceptional. Proprietors were extremely friendly and our orders were on time and in very substantial packaging.
One of the positives was the price, very reasonable for such quality.
Compares very favorably with fine Italian restaurants anywhere, not to be missed.

If you plan to dine in you better have reservations, it was very crowded each time.

.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
This review is music to my ears, so I'll be sure to share this with my team! It's truly an honor to see that you and your group of fifteen ordered takeout from us three times in one week. I'm glad y'all enjoyed everything from the breads to the pizza and melenzane, and I'd love to welcome you back the next time you're in Canyon Lake!

All the best,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    25
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place was great. The food was excellent and the service was great!! The best part of it all it was affordable. This is a must stop if you are visiting canyon lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Excellent food and great service? What more could I ask for in a review?! Thanks so much for the great recommendation. You're welcome back any time!

Take care,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were invited to their soft "pre-opening " dinner and were so impressed, we have been back many times and recommend them to our friends and guests of my resort on the Guadalupe River.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Glad you were impressed! Thanks for coming back and recommending us to your friends -- what more could we ask for?

Take care and hope to see you soon,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Italian Hill Country Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A fork in the Texas Hill Country road is an unlikely location for an “ Authentic Italian Restaurant” but there it is and when you come to this fork in the road, take the restaurant-you will not be disappointed. This family owned and operated trattoria serves cuisine originating in Naples, Italy. In addition to several choices of antipasti and pasta (gluten free and whole wheat is also available), entrees include seafood, chicken, and beef and lamb. Pizza is available.
Our service was prompt, the food was excellent-I had a delicious,chilled Italian salad and cioppino-mouthwatering seafood stew, and the price is moderate. My dining experience here was as good as the more expensive Italian restaurants in San Antonio. One trip to Gennaro’s will convince you of their motto - “who eats well, lives well”. Reservations a must.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Great service and an excellent meal? Sound like a successful night out to me! It's so nice to read you enjoyed everything from the seafood stew to the chilled Italian salad. I appreciate the help with directions, and I'm sure other reviewers will, too!

Don't be a stranger,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Canyon Lake real restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

went with some friends out to this Italian restaurant that we passed a million times on the way to the lake never thinking that it would be anything worth stopping for. we had to make reservations which was surprising to me seeing how I didn't really think a restaurant at this location would need a reservation but I'm so glad we did!!The food was great the service was awesome the bread is wonderful it's well worth
traveling out there even if you're not going to the lake will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Well I'm glad you finally decided to stop in, Ghanbar! It's nice to read you were pleasantly surprised with everything from the bread to the service. Hope to see you again soon!

Have a good one,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gennaro's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.