We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granny D's

Granny D's
14312 FM 306, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
(830) 964-4677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cresson, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Country Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Just good ole country cooking and you can tell by looking at the parking lot that it is a well liked eating establishment

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Yes we had to wait, but we were 12 in our party. It was worth the wait, had so much to eat we left some behind, took some with us. The pancakes were at least 10 inches across the French toast was to die for. The menu was well sorted with tacos, American fare, etc. There was also a reasonable buffet that was well stocked. The wait staff was upbeat and not frazzled by the number of guests in the restaurant. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Thanks Giving vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Went down to Canyon Lake for the week, stopped by Granny D's for breakfast twice. Largest pancakes I've ever seen good food must try.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Complete Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

The old adage that if you see a ton of cars at a restaurant, no matter how ragged it looks, the food or service or both will be exceptional. We have driven by several times, always promising ourselves to stop in sometime to try it out.
We came in right before the after-Church rush and it filled up fast. It's a simple place-nothing fancy-traditional small town decor. But the incredible openess of the waitstaff makes you feel totally at home...we were incredibly impressed.
A word of caution...when you order the Country Scramble, you're going to get a pancake the size of a large pizza !!! I can only imagine what my eyes looked like when Donna brought it to the table. My wife could not stop laughing.
They make their own raspberry and blackberry jam...so delicious that your tastebuds will go absolutely crazy. They sell it to go but were sold out...one of the many reasons we are going to return. The omelette was made to perfection with such a delicious buttery taste. The biscuits are home made and simply melt in your mouth. And don't get me started on the hashbrowns...crisp on the outside and soft in the middle with a incredible taste.
While we were marveling how our tastebuds were going wild with this smorgasbord of home cooked food, our server, Donna, was very attentive in making sure we were doing ok.

We wanted to come back in the afternoon for lunch but being Sunday, they were going to be closed. Quick solution...get some of their incredible sandwiches to go. The ruben and the Granny's club are HUGE. Making a good ruben is hard to do...this team has down.

Perfect way to spend our 15th wedding anniversary...simple, down to earth, together, and spoiled by GrannyD's incredible food and service.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“ Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Worth the wait in line. Too much food, but the quality made up for it. LOL. The service was also exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny D's also viewed

 

Been to Granny D's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granny D's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.