We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Beach Park DISGUSTING” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comal Park

Comal Park
Canyon Lake, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 11 Attractions in Canyon Lake
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adjacent to Canyon Lake, this park has a boat ramp, swimming area and much more.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Canyon Beach Park DISGUSTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This past weekend we rented a boat on canyon lake for a few hours. LOVED the lake and had a blast. Once done, we wanted more water time so we decided to stop in at Canyon Beach Park. BAD IDEA! It is the most disgusting, dirty, trashy area I have seen. We were kicking pesticide bottles off the path to the water, the beach was covered in all kinds of trash, including dirty diapers. It reeked of poop on the beach :-x You didn't want to take your shoes off and walk anywhere. I didn't feel like it was a sanitary place for my two young daughters to be, whether in or out of the water. We left immediately. If you're looking for a nice, clean, family friendly place to hang out- DON'T GO THERE!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    8
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not go here if you have small childen!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The "beach" was absolutely disgusting. Covered with trash, dirty diapers, glass, etc. This was the one area that was shallow enough for children to swim in, all other areas have a sharp drop off (signs posted). Don't waste your time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Canyon Lake is beautiful, one of our favorite lakes to visit. However, this park is horrible. We got there pretty early on a Sunday. The "beach" area was trashed. Diapers, beer cans, glass, it was everywhere. We probably filled up a trash bag of other peoples garbage, just to make the area around us safe. We ran into a couple nice people, others were just rude and did not watch their kids. We ended up leaving earlier than expected due to a couple unattended kids, about 10 years old, throwing rocks and being very disrespectful around us. Where were their parents? Oh, just minding their own business about 200 yards away. Bathrooms were disgusting and should not even be used. It's cheap, $4 per vehicle to get in, however, I would take the $4 elsewhere. Maybe just the crowd that choses to use the park and treat it like badly...Won't go there again. Much better places on Canyon Lake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Poor Rest rooms. Worst experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were initially excited by seeing the photos on TA .ofcourse park is scenic and nicely shaded. Worst part is their restrooms which are NOT even restrooms at all. WORST maintenance and ofcourse the crowd should also be faulted for keeping the park clean.
Beach area is dirty with Rocks and everyone of us would NEVER visit this park. Lake somerville, Lake georgetown are far better compared to this park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comal Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great little lakeside park. Boat ramp, diving area with underwater sea caves. Not much in the way of facilities but a nice place for locals to enjoy a picn, fish in the lake or scuba dive.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comal Park also viewed

 

Been to Comal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.