We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small scale fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comal Park

Comal Park
Canyon Lake, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 things to do in Canyon Lake
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adjacent to Canyon Lake, this park has a boat ramp, swimming area and much more.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small scale fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Bring sunscreen and the family out for a BBQ. Its pretty and not crowded. Gets warm bring plenty to drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    8
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have gone every weekend for the last month arriving at 9:00am Sat. or Sun. and leaving around1:00pm. The far end of the park where there are huge rock like cliffs and the water is beautiful keeps us coming back the only exception is the trash in every nook and cranny. My sister and I even spent one day picking up all the trash (9 bags total). It is only 4 dollars to get in and worth it if you don't use the restroom/port-a-potties and get there early for parking. We have decided to hold a "Clean Comal Park" day with all our friends in the near future. It's so frustrating that people don't take their trash with them.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not a bad deal for four bucks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

With two double boat ramps and a protected cove Comal Park makes a great place for me to putter around in my sailboat. There are free public ramps on the lake but I feel safer leaving my car in the restricted access park - $4 keeps the riff-raff out.

There is a swim beach but currently the entire roped off swim area is above the waterline due to the drought. You can still swim but keep an eye out for boaters and drop-offs. The north facing shore has quite a steep drop - they called it Canyon Lake for a reason.

Some observations...
1. Bring your own shade. There is no guarantee of shade (or a table either for that matter) on peak weekends. Closer to the water = fewer trees.
2. Bathroom condition varies. Keep that in mind and plan accordingly.
3. Park closes before sunset. 8pm at my last visit. Be ready to pack it up promptly.
4. Park is only open April through Sept.
5. In drought conditions boat ramps are closed as lake levels dictate. Check online if you aren't sure if Comal Park ramps are open.
[--]

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bad restrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Its a decent park, If you get there early. (At 7:00 am) The restrooms were overflowing and very dirty. Not enough tables and bbq pits. Plenty of room to put more. Comal county needs to throw some money and work into this park while they are closed all winter. (which makes no sense at all) It's only cold here about 1 month a year. Keep the park open year round. If they close it for maint., They fail every year. The rangers need to walk through the grounds a few times a day, instead of sitting on their butts driving around. Should not be allowed to hold tables for people that don't show up till after noon. 1 group= 1 table. People get there early and hold three or four tables for hours because their friends are too lazy to get there early. 1 table was held untill after 2:00 pm Park Rangers should not let this happen. First come first served

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Filthy restrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon about 2:30pm and paid $4.00 vehicle entry fee. Park then closed to additional vehicle entry . Walked 3/4 mile to beach area. No shade at beach area. Plenty shade in the wood several hundred yards from beach. Picnic areas have shade. they are 1/4 to 1/2 mile from beach. Bathrooms were filthiest I have seen in years. Some groups had large stereo speakers at picnic sites and music was deafening and annoying. Vehicles parked in no parking boat trailer turnaround area hindered and blocked boat trailers. Now you know.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comal Park also viewed

 

Been to Comal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.