We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a traveling flyfisherman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maricopa Riverside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maricopa Riverside Lodge
Save
You added Maricopa Riverside Lodge to your Saves list
12382 FM 306, P.O. Box 3027, Canyon Lake, TX 78133   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place for a traveling flyfisherman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Maricopa. The room was clean and the mattress was comfortable. I couldn't ask for more from a place I just used to sleep when I wasn't fishing the Guadalupe daylight to dark. Although I didn't fish the section behind the lodge, there is river access right out the back door. The owner was very flexible with my late arrival and early check-out and the price was excellent. I'll be staying there on my next trip to the Guadalupe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I seriously had one of the best times of my life here. The hotel itself is not 5 stars by any means, but it's a the PRIME location. If you are in the area to float the river, this hotel sits at the beginning of the "Horse Shoe Float." The rooms were clean management helpful. I enjoyed the landscaping in the back near the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Writing reviews are subjective and all about personal opinions and so I will try to write some positive's but its going to be hard! The price paid for a room is a huge barometer for my judging scale on a room or property. So, based on the cost of the place it's sub-zero!

We went with another couple that booked the room, last minute, so this was the only place with vacancies for the weekend. The first room we had was their standard room. It had 2 double beds. Everything was cheap, cheap, cheap! It was over $200 a night! There was a small microwave and fridge. The towels, toilet paper, soap in a dispenser, etc was cheap! The bed was okay but the pillows were like rocks. No vanity, ironing board, etc. and the bathroom was SOOO tiny. No towel bars or hooks to hang anything. Loud ac unit in the window.

The front desk girl told us we could upgrade the next night to a two bedroom suite for $250. What a joke! One room had a queen bed and the other had a futon! NOT comfortable! We had to ask for sheets and pillows. The cover was dirty and stained. We couldn't use the closet because they had a twin rollaway in it. Don't know where you could have had enough room to even open it though!

The towels were a little nicer but they were around the corner in the bathroom not near the tub and shower which was in the one bedroom. No hooks or towel bars near the tub. It was a jetted tub but was a high step into it for the shower. The rug in front was dirty. They just had a pedestal sink in the bathroom so again no place for your stuff! Strange... If you don't mind dirty corners and baseboards you will be okay.

We supposedly had a private deck but the other guests didn't bother to read the signs. The outdoor areas were nice, except for the partiers that made a big mess and made a lot of noise until 3:00 in the morning.

They have some nice areas for sitting and BBQ. They have a horseshoe pit, volleyball, tether ball, swings and beautiful paths down to the river. The pool looked nice. Parking was tight!

For the price, I wouldn't ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Close to the river for floating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife, son, and I found the location to be outstanding! You are directly on the river with easy access to Whitewater and multiple tube rental shops. In fact, you can walk across the road and be floating in less than 10 minutes. The property is also very close to Canyon Lake and a short 15 minute drive to Gruene Hall. However, the low rating is due to the aged feel of the rooms. Our room had a tube tv with very poor reception. This could be a much better property if some additional money was spent upgrading the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's similar too a small trailorhome room that you pay $200/night for. If you need a last minute place to stay, there's a good chance they will have vacancy. However, there's a reason this place has vacancy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there one night for a total of $247, because of a concert at whitewater on the horseshoe on Friday night of Memorial Day weekend. It was a three night minimum, so I was charged an additional $495. The riverside is nicely landscaped which is probably the best part of the property. It is right on hwy 306, and the tubers drop off in their driveway nonstop . The inside of the room was about a 1/2 star hotel rating. Everything was outdated and did not look clean. The room had a tub with jets but had a very odd location. The tub faced a sofa in the extra room. It looked like an afterthought design. I recommend staying in Greene if you are going for the concerts at Whitewater. The Maricopa has the design and details of a truck stop motel. We left after the first night, since my wife and I could not handle the thought of staying another night .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It's not a five star luxury resort and it doesn't claim to be, so I'm not sure what some of the other reviewers were expecting. It's a lodge next to the river, it says it right in the name. It's ideal if you want to float the horseshoe, relax in the outdoors, catch a concert maybe. The river is literally right out the back door so you can start floating right there. The Whitewater shuttles run all day with tubes and transportation back to the lodge when you get off the horseshoe. Shuttles run to and from the Whitewater Amphitheatre for concerts too. 20 minute drive to Gruene Hall or shopping and dining in Gruene. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, fridge and microwave worked great, nice place to sit and visit or BBQ outside if you want, and I slept comfortably. Perfect for a river trip. I'll go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maricopa Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maricopa Riverside Lodge

Address: 12382 FM 306, P.O. Box 3027, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite Inn is nestled on the Guadalupe River in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. Located between Austin and San Antonio and less than 15 miles from New Braunfels and Gruene. A year-around retreat for hikers, tubers, cyclists, anglers, divers, shoppers, canoers, boaters, skiers, sailors, artists, and musicians. We can accommodate groups, reunions, weddings, meetings, parties, seminars and more. Come relax, enjoy the open air and let your spirit free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maricopa Riverside Lodge Canyon Lake, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maricopa Riverside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.