We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1905 Fourth Ave., Canyon, TX 79015   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our stay at the Hudspeth was everything I hoped it would be. Charming, historic, and we were made to feel so welcome. Jill and Van are consummate hosts. Breakfast both mornings was delicious. I look forward to another stay; I miss it already!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    24
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
140
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our group rented all but one room and had a delightful stay. the food at breakfast was gourmet and Van and Jill were excellent hosts. Jill was very helpful with directions and restaurant choices.
We used the living room for a book about Quanah Parker. We used the porch at night as a gathering place. We found Canyon and the Hudspeth House to be welcoming and fun.

Room Tip: The only questionable room might be the Lone star room as the bathtub is in the bedroom. All others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrales nm
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A sincere warm welcome upon my arrival, a great dinner recommendation, a great night's sleep and a delicious gourmet breakfast including the best homemade granola I've ever had...I wish I'd had more time in Canyon, and when I do, I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We got there on Friday. I was in a bad mood already and then found out that I had made the reservation for Saturday. Jill and Van were very nice. Although the room I'd reserved was occupied, they put us in another (the Sophie room). Great room, comfortable bed (a liitle tall, but a 2-step ladder or stool is provided). Breakfast was very good. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Hudspeth House is the perfect combination of history, comfort, friendliness and hospitality. We felt like we had traveled back in time when we arrived after Jill gave us the history of the house. When we arrived, tea and cookies awaited. We sat out on the front porch in the rocking chairs for an hour before driving a short distance for dinner. Reading material was available for our tour of Palo Duro Canyon only a short drive away. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast served by Jill and Van was second to none....all homemade, including the granola. It just doesn't get any better than this.....especially considering the value! Honestly!!
Betty Davis
Austin, Texas

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a warm and comfortable historical home to stay in while visiting in the canyon. Jill greeted us smiling and so friendly, showed us around the house, offered drinks and fresh cookies. She filled us in on some of the local restaurants, places to visit such as the Panhandle Historical Museum that we might have missed. Later in our stay, Van had a fabulous drive suggestion that turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip.

The house is nicely decorated and our bedroom-so comfortable and pleasant. The room we enjoyed our stay in was the O’Keeffe. It’s beautiful, charming, has a claw footed tub, and yet has high speed internet and a flat screen tv.

The wonderful breakfast each morning was served at an elegantly set table and multi courses. We enjoyed coffee in the living area beforehand with other guests. In addition, coffee was ready early to enjoy an hour before breakfast was served.

The location is great. We were minutes from Palo Duro Canyon, able to walk to two restaurants, Mexican and Thai spots that were both good.

This is definitely the place to stay when visiting in the canyon.

Room Tip: The O'Keeffe is so comfortable and charming but it is street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Hudspeth House was very pleasant and the house is charming. The Van and Jill were very gracious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 Fourth Ave., Canyon, TX 79015
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.