We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great folks, beautiful scenery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palo Duro Riding Stables

Palo Duro Riding Stables
10160 East State Hwy. 217, Canyon, TX 79015
806-488-2799
Website
Improve this listing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great folks, beautiful scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend stopping in for a ride. The people are so kind and knowledgable about the canyon. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. They are located a mile before the state park on the right-hand side!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our third time visiting and due to a scheduling snafu on my part, which was no fault of Jessie and crew BTW, what I thought was our original time was booked solid. But Jessie did us right and worked us in at the end of the day. He and Noah are so good with our little 4 year old chatterbox as well. Makes for an amazing experience every time we visit. Jessie somehow remembers, even after a 6 month lapse, which horse she loves to ride. Definitely will be going back for a fourth and fifth and......visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cater to beginners and experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I took our son and his girlfriend for his 22nd birthday. Everyone in the party had different levels of experience with riding. My son had never even sat on a horse. Jessie and his family hooked us up with a horse perfect for each of us. Very well mannered and tempered. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the scenery. They have a beautiful place. Everyone was helpful and friendly. My cameras SD card was not formatted correctly.. so I lost all my beautiful video :(

I only wish that they offered a backpack/ overnight ride and camp. That would have been wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you happen to be in this part of our BEAUTIFUL country, this is a MUST! Camping in the State Park is one thing but if you want the "real feel" Go see Jesse and Kristin Sorenson at the Palo Duro Riding Stables. Family owned for YEARS and they treat you like FAMILY! Their knowledge and expertise is nothing but as at the highest level. You will see the canyon like it was meant to be. GREAT horses for the experienced or for the child or elder that has never even been in a saddle. Word of advise, bring your camera. All though pictures dont do it justice you will have the beautiful scenery embedded in your mind and soul.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ride in a different part of the canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Sorensons's own a different piece of the canyon than the state park. This fact makes it a great idea to chose them over the stables inside the park itself. Jesse and his wife were very helpful, as were the other young men who rode in our group. The ride was an hour into the canyon and back up to the rim. Halfway through the ride, Jesse will lead your horse to a spot with your family members and take pictures of you all with the canyon behind you. The horses are gentle and gorgeous, with such variety in the colorings. This is great for beginners to intermediate riders. If you are looking for something more intense, perhaps call to see if they offer private rides. Overall, it was a great experience - definitely sign up!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Duro Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Palo Duro Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palo Duro Riding Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.