We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delighful view from almost any place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Possum Kingdom State Park

Possum Kingdom State Park
P.O. Box 70, Caddo, TX 76429
940-549-1803
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Caddo
Activities: Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful park located in the heart of the Palo Pinto Mountains.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A delighful view from almost any place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely lake, nice homes, condos, and townhomes. The lake had a few amenities and is located near enough Mineral Wells and Graham to be a good place for recreation.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Better With a boat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family has been to this park twice now. I can tell you, it's better with a boat! We rented a pontoon boat with another family who we met at the park and spent a whole day exploring the lake. There was some impressive landscape out there that you just can't experience from the bank. BUT the boat ran out of fuel and we had to row the boat back to the dock. With four adults and six little kids, that took hours. It made awesome memories though. best trip we ever took with complete strangers! The hiking trails are nice there too, but watch out for snakes, saw several of those. The swimming area has a nice slope so kids of all ages can get out that enjoy safely. You can also swim out of the swimming area from the rocks by the camping areas. Both times we went the water was low and you would walk out into the lake a good distance, just jumping form rock to rock. Oddly enough, I've never seen an actual Opossum in Possum Kingdom, but plenty of SKUNKS! So watch out! Over all this was a great park though, the spots are kind od close together, but hey, it makes for interesting friends!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Wells, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I loved to go fishing there since it was not so crowded as other parts of the PK Lake. We never camped there, but it has places for tents and trailers. It's quiet and peaceful there. This was the first place where deer actually ate carrots from my hand!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

so much fun out on the water and camping! ans very beautiful scenerary!!!!!!! and all the rivers surrounding are just as much fun!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Lake in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This lake is a great lake for boating. Not good for fishing. On the east side of the lake are many upscale homes and ammenities. The west side of the lake will provide more places for camping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Possum Kingdom State Park also viewed

 

Been to Possum Kingdom State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Possum Kingdom State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.