We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Radnor Arms

The Radnor Arms
32 Coleshill, Coleshill, Highworth SN6 7PR, England
01793 861575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Coleshill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Quintessential English pub set in a National Trust Village. Traditional for tourists yet forward looking for today. Food served lunchtimes and evenings (not Sunday evenings), Real Ale on tap from our own Microbrewery, The Old Forge Brewery.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited this pub today following a friend's recommendation and we were not disappointed. four of us had Sunday lunch. We could not fault the food which was delicious, freshly prepared and excellent value for money. The staff are friendly whilst not being over bearing. Despite not being a dog owner I love the fact that this pub is dog friendly.

My only reason for not giving a 5 star review is that I would have preferred not to have been seated at the rear of the pub as it was little cramped and didn't seem to have as much atmosphere as the rest of the pub.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    2
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location,missed opportunity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to this lovely pub,but what a disappointment after our first. We had reserved a table, but were directed into a cold back area of the pub made worse on a cold February lunchtime by being located by a back door that had to be left open. Seemingly understaffed, the landlady worked very hard and was extremely friendly, but couldn't cope with the busy crowd. Our food was bland and unexciting, the aubergine parmigiana floating in oil, the baked cod tasteless and the vegetables overcooked. A meal best forgotten. We won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Living fairly locally, I have visted here a number of times for both drinks and food. Each time, there has been a lovely atmosphere, especially when the cosy fire is on! Staff are always friendly, and so are the locals. Yummy pub food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pubs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The main reason for our, Sunday, visit was the fact this was a dog friendly pub. The Real Ale brewed on the premises was an added bonus, but wasn't tested as I was driving. The pub grub was a huge portion of Sunday roast with tatties and four different veggies.The staff were welcoming, friendly and good fun. the dog loved the open fire. Remember to pack wellies or walking boots if you want to go for a pre meal or a post meal walk.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pretty pub. The food horrendous and our of the 3 beers that were on only 1 seemed fresh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came here in the summer and had the most beautiful meal, lovely, friendly and good value for money. However, on returning with friends for an Xmas catch up it was very different. Dry overlooked food, very small portions and quite pricy. Was just not the same as it was a few months ago. May return back in the summer for a drink as its lovely walking and the garden is beautiful but will defiantly be eating before we arrive.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Radnor Arms also viewed

Lechlade, Cotswolds
Highworth, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Radnor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Radnor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.