We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How times change” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Radnor Arms

The Radnor Arms
32 Coleshill, Coleshill, Highworth SN6 7PR, England
01793 861575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Coleshill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Quintessential English pub set in a National Trust Village. Traditional for tourists yet forward looking for today. Food served lunchtimes and evenings (not Sunday evenings), Real Ale on tap from our own Microbrewery, The Old Forge Brewery.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“How times change”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a family night out consiting of 8 adults at a total cost of £160. Things were so bad that our taxi, which we had ordered for 10pm, was rapidly changed to 9pm. I know the place is a pub but if you advertise yourself as a restaurant then at least make some effort. Four of the party ordered 'bangers and mash' and were informed that the sausages were 'local' which we took to mean that they were locally made and not that they were from the local supermarket!!!. The 'mustard mash' contained no mustard and the onion gravy had never actually met an onion. The micro brewery sounded good and there was a 'sampler' menu that contained a sample selection of the customers choice but unfortunately only two beers were available !!! Never Again

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    14
    14
    2
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

With it's own micro brewery the choice of real ales from the barrel or pump is good. The food was tasty and the atmosphere welcoming and friendly.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, food a little lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

If you order a meal for £17 you expect something pretty good, rather than barely ok, lamb didn't seem that fresh and the veg had been clearly nuked in a microwave. The service is really very friendly though so I would go again and my wife's meal for £8 was much better value. I'd certainly recommend here for a lunchtime sandwich and pint on a weekend, we've been a few times last summer and it's been lovely after a walk.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fabulous setting and very accommodating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

very pleasant experience all round. Cosy fire good beer and smashing home cooked food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quintessential English pub with micro brewery that also looks to the future”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Set in a National Trust village it's in an idyllic setting. An excellent selection of ales - three of which are brewed in the on site micro brewery. The food was of good quality with hearty portions. The outside eating area is good for families and al fresco eating and drinking in fine weather. The welcome was inviting and the service quick. Best not to go when it's too busy as we saw the food quality start to slip as the kitchen got stretched. All in all you won't fault the real ales and if you choose something "safe" from the food menu you shouldn't be disappointed. The outside could use a bit of tidying up but that doesn't detract from the overall charm. Good parking facilities. Recommended for an overseas visitor's first English Pub experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Radnor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Radnor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.