We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Black Swan to your Saves list
The Black Swan
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Fearby | Nr Masham, Fearby, Masham HG4 4NF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Fearby B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from 3-night stay at this excellent country pub. The accommodation was superb - lovely big bed, underfloor heating - excellent facilities. The food in the restaurant was as good as, if not better than, any 5-star hotel. The staff were friendly and obliging. Would recommend this pub to anyone wanting superb accommodation, food and service.

Room Tip: We chose a De-luxe room, which meant we had 2 bathrooms - one with bath (with shower over bath) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    86
    43
    10
    12
See reviews for
25
196
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Masham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What can we say that will convey how delightful an evening we had at the Black Swan. The seafood festival has just begun and it is better than ever. The range of seafood is spectacular. My husband had fresh crayfish to start whilst I had the scallops in a delicious sauce on a bed of rocket. Dover Sole for Andrew and monkfish for me for our mains. The sauce for my monkfish lifted the dish to another level - the chef has such a light touch, with everything done to enhance and not overpower the dish..Deserts were sumptuous.
The wine list is carefully chosen and reasonably priced and the atmosphere was lovely. We finished our meal then moved into the public bar to watch a game of darts and joined in the banter.

All in all a great evening - not to be missed. The Seafood Festival finishes 23rd March so hurry as you do not want to miss this amazing event.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a great midweek overnight stay in this lovely country pub that now has some excellent rooms. We had driven up in the morning and spent the day walking ending with a well earned pint (or 2) before checking in. Once checked in the rooms were of an excellent standard (better than some higher rated hotels) clean and modern with a comfy bed, underfloor heating and a bath with a shower which was most welcome after the long walk! One slight criticism would be the lack of lights near the mirrors both in the room and bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant which was full and it was only Wednesday and the food was excellent with some interesting choices available....camel and zebra! Equally breakfast in the morning was good with locally sourced bacon, sausages and eggs.
Would definitely stay again, good base for walking and touring the area but suspect it would get busy in summer as there is a camp site attached ....but don't let this put you off just make sure you book your meals!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a lovely one night stay here. The room was gorgeous, large, modern, spotless, massive bed, underloor heating, nice views. We drank in the bar, then ate in the restaurant, The food was excellent, and was a lovely atmosphere both in the bar and restaurant. Staff very friendly.

Breakfast again was excellent. Would not hesitate in going back, will be lovely in the summer sat in the beer garden.

Will def. return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

stopped for a 2 day stay, room very nice, went for the evening meal, some items not available, so my wife had the chicken dish, 30 minutes later violently sick and ill, informed the manager that we would have to go home as she was very ill, his reply was ok, gave him the keys and on leaving heard him say to his mates who he was drinking with its hard work, not the sort of service you expect, the pub is very dingy inside, outside lighting was not on therefore dangerous due to the outside steps, this should be on as part of the means of escape under the fire precautions act, if you stay suggest you eat out to avoid our problem,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break in this great country hideaway.
We were there during very cold, wintry weather (including Arctic winds, hail, snow and sleet showers) but still managed to make good use of our time. A footpath across fields to nearby Masham - a couple of miles away - is accessible directly from the bottom of the pub's caravan park, and provided us with a bracing walk both ways!
It was good to return to our warm, SPACIOUS room (7) - all very clean and modern, with huge bed and far-reaching views - and to know that, after a hot soak, we just had to amble across to the restaurant for a well-cooked and well-presented meal.
Staff were friendly and helpful, but not intrusive, and the menu had several vegetarian choices
which made for a more interesting dining experience for my veggie husband!
All in all, a very good short break in an excellent establishment, which I have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6, 7, 8 are upstairs and have far-reaching views. Our room (7) was also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February for my birthday and it was very enjoyable indeed.
the had a very spacious odern room which had a huge bed with great veiw over the dales. the room was very modern and very clean. we ate in the bar/resteraunt on the thursday which was very enjoyable. Thursdays are steak night with a wonderful selection of meat, food was excellent with a excellent atmosphere in the bar.
the breakfast the next day was excellent with lots of choice.
that morning we walked into Masham (approx 2 miles) which is a lovely place full of little shops and tea rooms
overall a lovely place which we would definately go back to

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Address: Fearby | Nr Masham, Fearby, Masham HG4 4NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham > Fearby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fearby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Swan Public House comfortably nestled in the Yorkshire Dales at Fearby Nr Masham. Our 17 century Public House offers a warm traditional welcome as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales. Enjoying three continuous generations of the McCourt family our pub now provides guest accommodation accompanying our Ales and food, "An ideal base to explore the Yorkshire dales and beyond" The public bar and majority of rooms overlook the Burn valley with 40 mile views of the Vale of York and local moors. The Bar is well stocked with Black Sheep and guest ales with a host of supporting lagers, bottle beers and soft drinks. Home-cooked bar meals are served during lunchtime and our bistro is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Masham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.