We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles

The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles
16942 Ranch Road 2341, Burnet, TX 78611 (Formerly Canyon of the Eagles restaurant)
+1 512-334-2070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Burnet
Cuisines: American
Description: Our award-winning hill-top restaurant has terrific views and beautiful sunsets of the surrounding hills and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily! Our Chef de Cuisine offers delicious and fresh signature dishes. Wine, beer, and cocktails are offered both in the restaurant and Eagles Nest Lounge (open every weekend). Kid's menus are available. Restaurant hours are 8 a.M. To 8 p.M. Monday through Thursday, 8 a.M. To 9:00 p.M. Friday, 7:30 a.M. To 9 p.M. On Saturday, and 7:30 a.M. To 8 p.M. On Sunday. Operational hours may vary according to the season. The restaurant closes daily from 3 p.M. To 5 p.M. And dinner service starts at 5:00 p.M. Reservations are suggested during the weekdays and required on Friday and Saturday nights and holidays.
Restaurant details
Description: Our award-winning hill-top restaurant has terrific views and beautiful sunsets of the surrounding hills and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily! Our Chef de Cuisine offers delicious and fresh signature dishes. Wine, beer, and cocktails are offered both in the restaurant and Eagles Nest Lounge (open every weekend). Kid's menus are available. Restaurant hours are 8 a.M. To 8 p.M. Monday through Thursday, 8 a.M. To 9:00 p.M. Friday, 7:30 a.M. To 9 p.M. On Saturday, and 7:30 a.M. To 8 p.M. On Sunday. Operational hours may vary according to the season. The restaurant closes daily from 3 p.M. To 5 p.M. And dinner service starts at 5:00 p.M. Reservations are suggested during the weekdays and required on Friday and Saturday nights and holidays.
Midland, Texas
1 review
“Want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We ate here a few times on our brief stay in Burnet. The staff cannot be beat. Friendliest most attentive staff ever. I had a menu item, sirloin, delicious. But two others who I was with special ordered because of a gluten intolerance and the chef and staff were incredibly accommodating. Family friendly. I wish we lived closer I'd love to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words towards our staff, food, and Executive Chef.

We hope that you do make it to the area again soon and that we are able to serve you again.

Best wishes,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
mance@canyonoftheeagles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Reviewed under Canyon of the Eagles but just wanted to be sure that you know this is a great restaurant, great chef and great food. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Relations at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate the comments and look forward to serving you again the next time you visit us.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Review by a local ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

There aren't many close restaurants when you live on the lake, but we're pleased this one is here. For dinner: they like you to have reservations (which we made a couple hours in advance, no big deal). The room is lovely, rustic, yet elegant. The tea is good, and they have a wine selection. The food was good quality. We'll definitely go back if only for the food. Service was good, and what we would expect for the price. Service is a big deal for me, especially if the atmosphere and prices reflect that it should be good.
For breakfast: it was a morning of a buffet, a Sunday. I had high hopes given our experiences with dinner. The service was excellent, but with the food I was not pleased. The biscuits were hard and mildly charred. And, Although the fruit tray was delicious and lovely, and Bacon good, I must say something about the potatoes. From the outside, they looked dark brown and crispy, and my mouth watered for the soft middle of country potatoes. My poor mouth. The middles had been fried clean through. The consistency of each one was that of a hard crouton! Any longer in the pot, and they'd have disintegrated to crunchy ash! This is Texas, people. How can you dare to serve burnt biscuits and taters on a twenty dollar buffet? so, we won't come for weekend breakfast buffet again, but we still love dinner here, and may come for breakfast during the week when we can order our meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Glory B...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the restaurant and our food. It is definitely a feather in our cap when our local residents enjoying coming to eat as much as our resort guests.

We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and our wine selection (many of our wines are from vineyards within 100 miles of our location).

We apologize that your breakfast experience was not as enjoyable as your dinner experience, and have let our Executive Chef know of the difficulty you had with our breakfast potatoes.

We strive everyday to meet and exceed our guests expectation, and we are sorry that in this instance we failed.

We hope though, that you will return again for breakfast, lunch or dinner (during the week as well as the weekend), and let us show you that we do learn from our mistakes.

Thank you again for our review, and if I may be of further service, please let me know.

Most cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
mance@canyonoftheeagles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan Dam, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great New Years Eve dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed a terrific buffet style gourmet dinner at the Overlook Restaurant. Outstanding atmosphere as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words about our gourmet New Year's Eve buffet.

Please know we do the same type of gourmet buffet (with a changed menu) for Valentine's, Mother's Day, and Thanksgiving.

We hope to see you again soon, and thank you again for your kind words.

Most cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
mance@canyonoftheeagles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great meal, beautiful view, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We ate several meals in the restaurant while staying at the Canyon of the Eagles. Breakfast and Dinner were great, dessert wonderful. The wait staff was very friendly. Prices were a bit high but worth it to save the trip to town and the food really was worth it.

One morning there was a buffet instead of menu and that was very pricey and not quite as good. But of course, great selection.

Reservations for dinner seem to be required.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again soon.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles also viewed

 

Been to The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.