We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the right place for a private working retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon of the Eagles Resort

Save Saved
You added Canyon of the Eagles Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon of the Eagles Resort
16942 Ranch Road 2341, Burnet, TX 78611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Burnet
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the right place for a private working retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile


I can see why this place gets mixed reviews. My experience here was not good. When I arrived for an impromptu three-day working retreat, I had high hopes, having enjoyed the long drive in from Austin and the beautiful scenery leading up to the facility.  It's priced like a higher-end retreat center, but it's run more like a state campground.  You're given a map and a key to your building and a rather perfunctory send off.  Even though it looked like they had few guests at the time, I was placed further away facing nothing but dense cedar trees.  The room was awkwardly organized, cold and barren feeling, and filled with down comforters and pillows, even know we had requested them be removed many hours earlier.  My allergic reaction was immediate, however the front desk response was slow and unconcerned, even accusatory.  I had been looking also for a quiet place to work, but the room offered none of the advertised wifi access.  The restaurant had little to nothing in the way of vegetarian options, and attempted only half-heartedly to problem solve.  Fortunately though they were willing to cancel the reservation and refund the initial charge. So they earned three stars for that accommodation.  There was a very friendly and warm grounds worker there, who looked like he loved his job and made the place more welcoming than any of the other staff had.   I believe Canyon at the Eagles is probably the right kind of place for a large family retreat, or someone looking to spend more time in nature.  But it didn't suit the needs of this private retreatant looking for a quiet place to work in a beautiful setting with some comfort.   I ended up staying a very comfortable night in a warm and feather free room, overlooking a heated pool at the Marriott Horseshoe Bay, for less cost per night (via Priceline).  

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonOftheEagles, DIrector of Guest Relations at Canyon of the Eagles Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
On behalf of Canyon of the Eagles, I would like to apologize for that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are a nature based resort within a 940-acre nature park. The majority of our guests come here to unplug, unwind, and relax in a nature setting. Because of the size of the property, and the tree canopy, WiFi is concentrated in the common areas of our resort. If we had known at the time of your reservation that you were coming to work, our Guest Services staff would have recommended a room that would have been more conducive to using the WiFi.

We have several room types, which have either a Hillside View, a Courtyard View, or a tree view. The room which you had made your reservation (our deluxe room with a dorm sized refrigerator and microwave), have a tree view. We apologize that there was miscommunication regarding our down products in our rooms, but as soon as we were notified of the mistake, we did make it right as quickly as we could get someone to your room.

Our restaurant menu does have a number of vegetarian options. If we had known at the time you were here that these options were not to your liking, we would have done what we could to make this right for you.

Meeting and surpassing our guest's expectations is a priority for our staff, and we apologize that in this instance we were unable to do so.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in the Texas Hill Country, and hope that you will give us another chance when you are in the area looking to relax.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
42
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm a little late doing this review. I usually try and do them sooner. We stayed here two nights just after Christmas 2012. My husband wanted to go see eagles. The lodge is very nice. Our room was very large and very clean, with nice furnishings, and crisp linens. It was a very pretty room with a window seat that faced the lake. It was the first time we ever traveled with a pet and they are happy to see them. The room had concrete floors, so it's a good place for pets. One of the nights we were there they had several telescopes out for a star party, even though it was very cold outside. They also have movie nights, so they have activities for the visitors. It is a good way from any town, but once there, it is not an issue. There is a very good restaurant with a great view, right on the premises by the rooms. They do suggest reservations for weekends.There's lots of hiking/walking trails around too. The boat trip to go see the eagle used to leave from there, but the lake water has been so low for a few years, the boat loading dock is now about a mile outside the park. We did see eagles on the boat trip. W wonderful two days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved the Resort! We stayed at the RV Park and were treated like royalty. Eva was great, resort managers were accommodating, restaurant was fantastic, Corey took care of us every morning at breakfast, grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We'll be back.

Chip and Laura Chebuhar

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lake Buchanan was very low because of the drought but our stay there was wonderful. It is a perfect place for a family gathering. There are nice events planned for the kids and adults. The observatory experience was amazing. The food at the restaurant was great but a bit pricey. We will definitely go again. Lots of children on their bicycles and lots of dogs. Very pet-friendly. Beautiful butterfly garden with lots of gorgeous flowers.

Room Tip: Ask for the adjoining rooms with a view of the lake. This will give you two double rooms with an adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Aug for our anniversary and we had the BEST time - I just fell in love with this beautiful place. The rooms are nice and cozy, and we had a wonderful view of the sunset from our cabin. We went hiking, kayaking, and swimming. The food is EXCELLENT!! We ate on site for each meal, and it was just fantastic. We went down to the Eagle Eye Observatory one night and it just blew us away, it was our first time, and is a definite MUST DO! We went into town one day to Burnet and found some real treasures while antique shopping. Colorado Bend state park is so close, and absolutely gorgeous and Gorman Falls is as well, there is just SO much too do, the list goes on and on.
I think one of the best parts of our trip was the staff, they truly went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I have told ALL of my friends and family about this little getaway and we plan to take our whole family back when we go next time. It would be a wonderful experience for either a family vacation, or just a private little get away. You can be as secluded or as active as you want, there are so many activities to interact with others who are staying as well. My favorite place in all of TX.

Room Tip: If you can get the cabin closest to the lookout, I think that is the best cabin with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Canyon of the Eagles is superb. The staff is friendly, calls guests by name and works hard to make the stay comfortable. Although rustic, the accommodations are pleasant, clean with large rooms and thoughtful architecture. Rooms are strategically located to make the most of the views of the forest and lake. The restaurant is very good without being stuffy or overpriced. We made reservations to return in 6 weeks when the wild flowers are in bloom.

Room Tip: BuildingS K Or P and the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After reading the mix of reviews we decided to stop by on our way back home from a 3day Hill country trip and just see the property. We walked around and dropped in to the restaurant just to see what it was like. Cory was so friendly and asked if we would like reservations for the evening. We explained we weren't staying but that didn't stop him from taking the time to answer our questions about the state of the lake and the water crises in the area. As we left we decided to stop at the reception desk to get information about coming back at a later date. She was very engaging about the property and we decided to spend the night. So glad we did! The dinner in the restaurant was delicious, pulled pork tacos especially good as was the flatbread pizza. While we were eating as the sun was setting we watched two foxes chasing each other. The staff set up an outdoor movie which was so much fun even though it was cold. We decided to have s'mores and the staff set up a table with white cloth etc. they couldn't have been nicer about doing all that in the cold for only the three of us, the small extra charge was worth it. We took short hikes around the property both days and loved the trails very natural. Lots of birds, saw an armadillo didn't know they can jump in the air when frightened. The cabin was very clean and peaceful, we had a great night sleep and wished we could have spent one more night.

Room Tip: If it is cold, turn the heat on in late afternoon to take the chill out of the room because the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon of the Eagles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon of the Eagles Resort

Address: 16942 Ranch Road 2341, Burnet, TX 78611
Location: United States > Texas > Burnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Burnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your big city cares behind and immerse yourself in the serenity and natural beauty of this Texas Hill Country lodge. Enjoy the wildlife and the wonderful hiking trails.Take advantage of Canyon of the Eagles, many features and activities:* Home away from home. Check into one of our well-appointed guestrooms with all of the comforts of home and none of the distractions * Relax on your room porch's rocking chair, read a good book, take a nap,bask in a dazzling sunset or watch the moonlight reflect from the native fauna * Get back to nature in one of our 34 tent camping sites or 24 RV sites* Explore the outdoors. Meander the beautiful Bird and Butterfly Trailor hike some of the 14 miles of maintained trails (please be aware, some of the trails in the nature preserve area are closed through August for the nesting of our endangered and threatened bird species) * Indulge in gourmet Hill Country cuisine. The award-winning Overlook Restaurant with its panoramic view of Lake Buchanan, serves made from scratch breakfast, lunch, dinner, and desserts every day of the year (reservations are suggested for dinner)* A birdwatcher's dream. Spot a Black-Capped Vireo, Golden-CheekedWarbler or many other winged beauties that nest in the nature preserve * Lay by the pool. Bask in the sun and feel the Lake Buchanan breeze(Resort room guests only) * Vino. Sip a glass of Texas wine from local vineyards or yourfavorite vintner * Enjoy live music on Saturday nights (throughout the spring and summer) * Educational Programs including Guided Nature Hikes and Build yourown Terrarium or Humming Bird Feeder, will be offered throughout the summer *View the heavens and be awed at the Eagle Eye Observatory. Attend a Star Party which during the summer are also offered during the week! * Cruise the historic Colorado River on the Vanishing Texas River Cruise (which also offers kayak and stand-up paddle board rentals)* Cuddle up and watch a family friendly movie on the patio or in one ofour conference rooms * Let your mind wander. enjoy the quiet relaxation of the naturalsurroundings * Know why we say, "Canyon of the Eagles, where the road ends the adventure begins." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Canyon of the Eagles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Of The Eagles Lodge And Nature Park Hotel Burnet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon of the Eagles Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.