We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely attraction for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longhorn Caverns State Park

Longhorn Caverns State Park
RR 2 Box 23, Burnet, TX 78611
512-756-4680
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Burnet
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park in Texas' Hill Country that conducts guided walking tours.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Leisurely attraction for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is a little biased: we visited with a few geologists and had already seen some world class caves in the past. However, if you've never been in a cave, you're in for a local treat. The guides put on a very good show, and the history of the caves and surrounding area is intriguing... from gangsters to conservation corps engineers to present day weddings, there's a story for everyone. The hiking consists of a number of fairly leisurely trails. Good family outing. If you're looking for a more exciting hike, venture out to Colorado Bend. Note that the Texas Park Pass will NOT cover the cost of the caves, but does allow you to roam the hiking area.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    46
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is great and a must see. The guides are friendly. It makes for a nice walk and a great way to spend the afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

There are few things as awe inspiring as a trip below ground and Longhorn Caverns is no exception. This well maintained texas cave tour is lead by very knowledgable guides. once on the tour, you wont want to leave. They feature a wide range of cave formations, and they show you true darkness by turning out the lights. Outside the cave is impressive architecture. Some of it historical. It's a must see if you are staying at Inks Lake, just a few miles up the road. The only down side is that a few people insist on taking their cell phones down with them, sometimes ruinging the completel parkness. Also they do ghost tours there, because people claim to get "ghost orbs" on their camera shots, I did, and while I don't believe in ghosts, it's still incredibly cool.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“very knowledgeable tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went off season at the 11 am tour. Toured the cave with 7 other adults with an extremely knowledgeable tour guide. I think with the small group, his knowledge, and probably no unruly children made this tour excellent. He spoted small bats which I would have never seen. Our tour ran over about 15 minutes which was a bonus to us.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice morning at the park, we had our dog with us so we couldn't tour the cave, but we had a great time hiking the trails. The scenery was nice and it wasn't crowded, plus there was no fee if you weren't touring the cave. The view from the observation tower was great, and we finished off the morning with a lovely picnic lunch. There aren't as many trails as Inks Lake State Park (it is a much smaller park) but it was also much less crowded. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a trip, even if you don't plan to see the cave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longhorn Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Longhorn Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longhorn Caverns State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.