We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18658 Interstate 35 South, Buda, TX 78610 (Formerly The Southgate Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buda
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never going back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the first and last time I go to this hotel. As soon as we walked in it smelled like a retirement home. Gross. We had reservations and the guy behind the counter was very rude. We get to the second floor and it REEKS of smoker's smoke. Then we get into the room and it smells like no one has entered that room in over a month. And don't even think about asking for more bath towels. We made this mistake. He was so rude and threatened that he would double check if we steal the towels. Come on. NEVER COMING BACK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    17
    7
    13
    20
See reviews for
44
21
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

If I could give this hotel a rating BELOW zero I would.
I knew this was going to probably be a problem when the desk "attendant" was in a grungy t-shirt with bleach stains all over it. That's how you greet your guests?
They claim they have non smoking rooms but they don't. They call it no smoking for the night you are there, but it would have been a smoking room the night before. It was more than 100 degrees outside and they had the AC OFF in the room. It took a few hours for the room to even cool down. The dead crickets under the sink, and the live ones running around were a nice touch. The stopper in the sink was broken, could not be raised or lowered. The shower head was spraying all over the room. There was dried urine on the toilet seat. There was only a 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no spare roll. They claimed to not have any rooms for me to change to even though the parking lot seemed to be almost empty.
You could not see the bottom of the pool. It was a dark green with at least 20 dead crickets floating in the pool.
High speed internet, right. If you consider less than 200k down and 200k up high speed then you'll be fine.
Breakfast...so gross. They had "orange" juice and "apple" juice.They had taken a small amount of orange juice and topped it off with CARBONATED water. They had done the same to the apple juice. I sat in the dining room for about 10 minutes watching people take a drink of it. They all made the same YUCK face when they tasted it.
Best Western should be ashamed of themselves for allowing franchises like this to be in operation.
Best Western claims that because their hotels are independently owned and operated that you get the best experience. SO NOT TRUE.
What is does is makes your Best Western experience completely unpredictable.
That was my last stay in a Best Western...ever.

Room Tip: Rooms in a DIFFERENT hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Calling to reserve a room was a complete mess. They did not know the wedding rate, let alone the name of the wedding we were staying under, then when we checked out the rate given to us was an entirely different one. They would not take any company discounts, even though all the other Best Westerns have done that. The entire building, including the rooms were stifling, until we turned on the A/C in the rooms. There was no water at ALL when we checked in. They said it would be fixed in an hour, but it took 5 hours. The carpets turned your feet black. Breakfast was over at 9am, whereas everywhere else I've stayed they stop at 10am. (The food was pretty bad anyway) The pool was filthy, and when we asked for them to clean it, they claimed they did but did not even turn the filter on so that you couldn't even see the bottom. There was never anyone at the front desk. A LIVE SCORPION was found in my parents' bathroom. I don't know if they were trying to "cut corners", but if so they need to take a few business lessons. There are ways of saving money without scaring off customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsville texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Best Western Souhgate Inn, was a very nice and clean enviornment. I was impressed with high quailty of hospitality displayed. First impressions make a difference. The rooms were clean and very well kept. and the beds slept like clouds of cotton. The grounds were were clean and displayed a serene enviornment of safety. The Best Western Southgate left a lasting impression for me and my family needs. However we were not able to visit the swimming pool, but from the other amenities of the hotel, I am convinced that the pool would have been breath taking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robby P, Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I'm sorry to hear you did not get to swim in the pool. It has been remodeled. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand & to our property.


Sincerely,

Robby Patel - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Hardly any guests in the hotel this Sat. night, but was given a room on the ground floor facing the front of the hotel where the big lights illuminating the hotel shined right into my window. The room did not look or smell fresh. The sheets were rumpled, the towels were frayed, the carpet needed a serious vacuuming. My Sunday wake-up call scheduled for 7:00am didn't come until 8:00am! Worse breakfast I have ever seen at a BW. Disgusting watery eggs and sausage. No biscuits but there WAS cream gravy that looked inedible. No pancakes or waffles. One juice was empty by 8:00am and not replenished. Only four small tables in the eating area and all were full. There is room for more tables. No one bussed the tables after people left. Trash was overflowing in the receptacle.

Also, it is very easy to miss the hotel "entrance" off the service road of the interstate and there is no way to get into it from the adjacent property. The side doors did not work with the card key. The lobby was dirty and had fingerprints up high on the glass doors and windows. The window ledges are dusty and have loose screws, etc. sitting on them. Makes you wonder when they were last cleaned. There is too much artificial flora throughout. It looks tacky as all get out!

Room Tip: Get on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwSouthgateInn, Webmaster at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Southgate Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about the possibility of better marking the entrance so that it would be easier for our valued guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

• Management and desk staff received additional training in seeing to it that wake up calls were sent at the proper times.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Southgate Inn. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were 3 nights in this hotel. The staff were friendly. The big broblem with this hotel is bad maintenance and poor cleaning of the public area. the breakfast was very poor and thier was'nt any staff in the breakfast room that clean and keep fulfil the food that finished. the old carpet make difficult to keep good smell in the hotel. the room was big but the air condioning was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwSouthgateInn, Webmaster at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Southgate Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping and maintenance received additional training in the level which they are meet in cleanliness and functioning of equipment as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the noisy A/C in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to any necessary repair or replacement needed.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Southgate Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

On Dec 9th 2011We received horrible service from the Best Western in Buda Texas. We checked in around 5:30pm put our things in the room and then went out for dinner. While at dinner we found out that my wife's mother had been rushed to the hospital. We returned to the hotel (around 7) to collect our things and I informed the front desk we had to leave due to an emergency and asked if we could get a credit or a partial refund. The owner came out and told me that "she didn't care" and when I asked her for her name and to write it on a card she would only give me her 1st name and then proceeded to toss the card in my face. We called customer service and they said there was nothing they could do. Also our non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke and the entire hotel had a curry smell. We were not asking for much just a little humanity. Other than dropping off our bags we didn't use the room at all. Stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Stay far form the lobby as the place stinks of curry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwSouthgateInn, Webmaster at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Southgate Inn for your recent attempt to stay in our area. I am so sorry about your mother-in-law and sincerely hope that she is better now.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken::

• The owner received additional training in the courteous manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

• A copy of your review was sent to the head representatives of Best Western.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Southgate Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Address: 18658 Interstate 35 South, Buda, TX 78610 (Formerly The Southgate Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Buda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southgate Inn & Suites Buda Texas Hotels is the great place to stay in Buda Texas located close to the Tanger & Prime Outlet Mall, Cabela Outfitters and downtown Austin attractions. The Southgate Inn & Suites features modern amenities like well-appointed guest rooms, meeting rooms, outdoor pool, fitness center and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buda
Buda Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.