We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe's Mexican Cafe

Pepe's Mexican Cafe
3312 S College Ave, Bryan, TX 77801-3363
979-779-2457
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 146 Restaurants in Bryan
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Yeah, the place is old and worn. This is not fancy fine dining but a mom and pop taco house.

I had they chorizo and egg and potato and bean and queso (yes, all together) tacos. They were awesome, and huge. I had two. One might be better next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but it is a dump.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pepe's has been around forever. I have always liked their food but if they don't invest some money on their property the place may fall down. It is dirty, leaks, the cushions are worn out, the AC is not getting the job done. It is a mess.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Owned by a family friend I always, enjoy going to eat their buritos and, other dishes as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent cheap Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Only got a couple of bucks, then head to Pepe's. For about a buck, you can get a cheese enchiliada with chili, fresh made soup, tacos, burritos.
Authentic taste - we much prefer over Taco Bell.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
“served me old food..yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

went because word around the office was cheap lunch specials,well you get what you paid for. I ordered me tostada and tortilla soup. The tostada was perfect, the soup was so old it was brown with uncooked rice??? I called spoke to Micheal Douglas "manager" his words "OK" then a dead silence. Go to taco cabana for the best tortilla soup.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pepe's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.