We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent barbecue if not top ten for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fargo's Pit Barbeque

Fargo's Pit Barbeque
720 N. Texas Ave, Bryan, TX 77802
979 778 3662
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 146 Restaurants in Bryan
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent barbecue if not top ten for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

In Bryan for business and a coworker suggested this, pointing out that Texas Monthly put this in Top Ten and suggested the ribs. That's what I ordered but after testing someone's else's extra brisket, wished I had done that instead. Fargos concentrates on meat with standard and adequate sides of potatoes salad or beans. I ordered raspberry tea which was good but a tad too sweet. Barbecue sauce was tangy and piquant. I think the ribs needed it, as they were a tad dry except for the fat parts. For me, they were a 6 out of 10. The brisket, however, had a nice smokey taste all through the meat that put it above the high water mark. 9 out of 10 for me. When all is said and done, I've had better overall BBQ experience in Audtin area at places that TM did not put in Top Ten. If you are stuck in Bryan, though, by all means go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you are looking for great Texas BBQ, this is it. Come early before they run out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Fargos is great food as evident by the amount of time people wait to pick theirs up. Come early before they run out.

I had the melt in your mouth brisket. Moist with the right amount of bark around the edges. Unfortunately, word is out and they sell out many days. Come early.

Don't come for the atmosphere. It's just a few tables that fill up fast. However, the owners and employees are friendly and go out of their way to accommodate everyone. Did I say come early?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“BBQ Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We've driven past this place for awhile, but didn't stop until (yes I admit it) Texas Monthly came out with its ratings. I cannot believe we have BBQ this good in Bryan. The brisket was smoky and tender. The ribs were flavorful, full of meat (not fat), and falling off the bone. Nothing was oversalted like you taste in some BBQ places. The meat was so mindblowing, you didn't even really need sauce (although the sauce was tasty). If you love Texas BBQ you should head directly to Fargo's NOW. Judging by the huge line that had formed by noon (we got there at 11 am), they may have to expand soon. Congrats on the recognition, Fargo's - you deserve it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
794 reviews 794 reviews
520 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
1,428 helpful votes 1,428 helpful votes
“Great "Q"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

While Fargo's has been in Bryan for quite some time, it was never open when I passed by and I just never made it a point to visit it. Today, while running errands, I passed Fargo's in its fairly new location and saw that it was open. I had a half pound of beef brisket and a side of potato salad; both were excellent. The service was friendly and helpful. This restaurant is geared more for takeout, and large orders may be placed. This could be some of the best barbecue in Bryan-College Station. I will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Like a candy shop for Bar B que!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Remember pressing your nose up to the glass candy counter and trying to decide which items to choose? Fargo's is like that. It's family run, and features brisket, pork ribs, and many sides. You walk up and down the glass trying to decide what to order- Now this is a simple pace without fine dining ambiance... but its all about the food! The owners were so accommodating, letting us get one of those and some of this & that and four different sides to share.

Loved the tender brisket and ribs. ! Yum! Even the homemade cornbread is wonderfully moist and tasty. Think I could make a meal on the red beans alone- maybe buy a quart of them and serve with rice at home some time. Oh yeah, then there's the pound cake if you have room!
One of the top 10 Texas Bar B Ques right here in Bryan, TX!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fargo's Pit Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fargo's Pit Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.