We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freddy's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freddy's Frozen Custards & Steakburgers

Freddy's Frozen Custards & Steakburgers
930 North Earl Rudder Freeway, Bryan, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 141 restaurants in Bryan
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Description: Phone No. 979-776-3549.
Restaurant details
Description: Phone No. 979-776-3549.
Bryan, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freddy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am from Chicago and so I ordered the Chicago style hot dog. It was surprisingly close to the real thing; only missing the poppyseeds on the bun. My only complaint was it was so loud it was difficult to carry on a conversation. Better than most fast food chains.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    6
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Better Than Normal Fast Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As far as fast food goes, Freddy's is better than normal. Their options are simple, and easy to dissect. Burgers, dogs, and fries, with a focus on good ingredients, and frozen custard. The double bacon cheese burger is large, and the ingredients come together very well, for a tasty combination.The patties, however, are very thin, and not thick as I expected a "steak burger" would be. Still, the burger tastes fresher than what you find at a normal fast food restaurant, and the flavor of the other ingredients stands out more than what you find at a normal fast food restaurant. The Chicago Dog is a regular hot dog, nothing special. It's longer than the smaller than normal bun they put it in, and packed with peppers, pickles, onions and a tomato slice. Again, the flavors really stand out, although it's not packed in the bun well. It seems like they put all the other ingredients in, then the dog on top. Because of this the dog falls out easily, and it's hard to get a bit with everything in it. The fries are thin, shoestring like, and very fresh tasting. They put a special Freddy's seasoning on them, and the special sauce is tangy and addictive. As far as fast food goes, Freddy's is pricey. Combos run you $6 or more, and sandwiches alone are north of $4 (the Chicago Dog is $3.59). The restaurant is big, and bright, and inviting for travelers since it's right off Highway 6 in north Bryan. Easy off, easy on, and everyone working there is very friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Burger and Fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed Freddy's! My husband and I both had the double cheese combo, the burger tasted great! The fries are awesome but they are almost like string fries, so it's a little frustrating to eat them. Burger joints are a dime a dozen, but Freddy's has just enough flare to make them stand out. The seasoning is awesome, it was so good I bought a bottle they had at the register!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
706 reviews 706 reviews
455 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
1,302 helpful votes 1,302 helpful votes
“Good Hamburger, Friendly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I returned to Freddy's to try one of its hamburgers. I had the double cheese combo with fries and a drink. The hamburger and fries were very good and made to order. One thing I noticed, though, was that the bun, while warm, was very soft, as if it had been in a steamer; it would have been better if it had been lightly toasted on the grill. The service was friendly and accommodating. While I would return to Freddy's, I prefer the hamburgers at Koppe Bridge, Longhorn Steakhouse, Chicken Oil Company, and Whataburger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome!!! Amazing!!!! Best Burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I first experienced a Freddy's Burger in May when going to Ft. Riley Kansas to see my son before his deployment. We went twice that week. : ) YUMMY!!! So when we heard that they were opening one close to home it was well worth the 45 minute drive to check it out! It was the same wonderful , fast service...with a amazing Burger, the awesome fries and the secret Freddy's sauce!!! Very , Very good......we will be back for sure! The only thing is the custard to me taste like Dairy Queen Ice Cream. Not a bad thing...just if you are expecting it to taste unique.....it was not at all what I expected when thinking of custard. But it is very worth the trip!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy's Frozen Custards & Steakburgers also viewed

 

Been to Freddy's Frozen Custards & Steakburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddy's Frozen Custards & Steakburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.