We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable service and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brauhaus

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brauhaus
109 North Main Street,, Bryan, TX 77803
9797754014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 146 Restaurants in Bryan
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Variable service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Brauhaus is owned and run by the same people who own and run the Irish pub Murphy's Law, next door. They also share a kitchen. So it's possible to get any food off either menu at both Murphy's and Brauhaus.

My spouse and I visit about once a month and sometimes I order off the German menu, sometimes off the Irish pub menu. My favorite Irish item is the bacon and brie sandwich. As it says it's a sandwich of bacon and brie. It also includes a cranberry jelly and is served with a side salad. Yummy. My favorite of the German menu is the Heaven and Hell Schnitzel. I usually opt for a pork schnitzel (you can choose pork or veal) and it's served with two sauces, a white creamy "heaven" sauce and a red paprika "hell" sauce. Both are delicious and it's served with carrot and cabbage salad. Other items I recommend are the cheesy spaetzel (reminds me of mac and cheese), the shepard's pie, Guiness stew, and the Hungarian gulash, when they have them.

They do sometimes run out of their more popular dishes. And occasionally run out of their more popular beers. On most nights there is a pretty good selection of beers. It can get noisy Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings. I usually find that it's too noisy to talk in the evenings at Murphy's Law so I prefer to dine over in the far more quiet Brauhaus.

Service can sometimes be very slow on both sides of the restaurant. I think it's because they're chronically understaffed. So don't go there if you're in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food quality too variable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Sometimes, food can be ok, but other times it's quite bad. I had "sauerkraut", which was white cabbage with vinegar. They also tend to run out of items, including beer.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“apparently it was the cook's night off, too.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

the only thing good about our meal was the beer. THAT'S IT. after waiting 15 minutes to be seated in a dining room with five or six unbussed tables, and one table dining, the waitress apologetically explained that she was alone on the floor. That's fine, people bail on their shifts all the time. However, we didn't expect one of the people to be the COOK. After 30 minutes, the food finally came. The spaetzel was cold and rubbery, the rest was lukewarm and insulting to anybody who could even PRONOUNCE spaetzel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A really pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

You would not think that you find an authentic German restaurant in a small Texas town near College Station. The owner is indeed from Germany and he actually opened two seperate establishments which share one building but are subdivided. I went on a Saturday afternoon and had the traditional German fare - Weiner Schnitzel. The veal (you have a choice between pork and veal) was thin and lightly breaded. It was a little dry but the lemons that came with it added the needed mositure. The side was German potato salad. The selection of beers in impressive and the prices are very reasonable. The rest of the menu items, from looking at what my fellow diners had, all looked plentiful and mouth-watering. The only hint - skip dessert or at least what I ordered; an apple streudel that was too heavy. Prices are reasonable, parking is free and plentiful and the German music makes for a lively atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“outstanding german food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

we were on the first Friday for the first time eating German food was fantastic and the service was very quickly an asset to bryan

highly recommended
schweinebraten-sauerbraten particularly sauerkraut
the Dirndel see particularly good
The Bavarian music is very pleasant
many German-speaking guests
a wonderful restaurant we will soon be back next week

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauhaus also viewed

 

Been to Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.