We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Wedding Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   650 Morelock Lane, Brownwood, TX 76801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine Trail Exclusive
Ranked #1 of 2 Brownwood B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Private Wedding Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We decided to take our vows privately and forgo the time and expense of a huge wedding. Star of Texas Bed and Breakfast was the perfect choice. They offer everything to make your day special. The environment is relaxing and away from the busy city. My groom was super relaxed. We enjoyed our hassle free weekend having breakfast delivered to our room and dinner in our room after our wedding ceremony. They did a great job on the vows. It was as special as it was low key. This is a unique property with little surprises everywhere in the natural landscaping that comes right up to the cabins. Food was great, the chef accomodated my groom's celiac disease diet which is gluten free and wheat free. A relaxing and romantic get away. Breakfast is delivered by the most cheerful voice of the B&B owner. We had a great time. I was not able to find a place online that offered a wedding service, spa package, cake, bouquet, breakfast in the room, dinner in the room, etc. without me doing a lot of running people down. This was one stop shopping and saved me a lot of time and stress. Highly recommend if you want a special weekend for anniversary or nuptials without stress of planning every detail. The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: I like the oak room because it was the most secluded on the property and near the walking trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy that you were pleased with your stay and all the packages we do. We try hard to make it as relaxing as possible. Hope to see you again soon. deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful, secluded and relaxing place just minutes outside Brownwood, Texas and just 1 hr. 45 mins. from Abilene, Texas.
Our daughter and son-in-law were married at the Star of Texas, June, 2011. They enjoyed their time so much they purchased my husband and I a gift certificate. When we got on the website to schedule our stay we were pleasantly surprised by the different packages that were available.
The care and detail that is put into the rooms, food, scenery is pampering to the soul. We enjoyed our stay and hope to go back again. It is all worth it.

Room Tip: When scheduling your stay be sure and look at every room and packages on the website so you can be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are glad you came and enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for writing a review. We do hope to see you and your "newlyweds", back another time to stay with us. Maybe even try a different cottage out too. deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I can sum up everything about this b & b and our experience in one word - PERFECT! From beginning to end it was the best way to celebrate our anniversary. We choose the Romance package and stayed in the Cottonwood. The room was great and we enjoyed the hot tub, watching the deer come through at dusk, watching all the animals, and sitting outside in a peaceful, quiet setting. Deb and Don were fantastic... they were always there when you needed them, but never intrusive. Absolutely wonderful hosts and the meals were to die for! I only wish I could cook like that. We will definately recommend this b & b to friends and family and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for helping us move out the 55, hopefully when you come again, we will have something new and fun in that spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is amazing. I decided to take my husband on a surprise bed and breakfast getaway for our anniversary and I was little timid at first because I had never been to Brownwood. But, as I drove in to the dirt road entering the beautiful place, I was amazed. This is a perfect place for a couple to go and just be secluded from the city life. There is so much privacy here and quiet atmosphere which is what we were looking for. We stayed in the cottonwood suite and it was the perfect place. It is very secluded and private with a outside hot tub. At night, you can even enjoy the outside fireplace which is also just for this suite. We made smores here and got the wood from the forest and it was a great adventure. We went on the nature trail which is a must to go to here. It was some amazing crazy stuff to look at. We added the fruit and cheese tray and the romantic dinner as well. These are a must as well. Don and Debbie put a lot of details into their presentation of the food and makes you feel completely special. My husband do not drink alcohol so I asked for sparkling juice instead which was super delicious. The gift shop has amazing stuff as well. We bought the coffee mugs here as a memory. The breakfast was perfect as well. It wasn't like the same food everyday. We stayed for two nights and we got two different breakfasts. The cottonwood is right next to where the chickens and the donkeys live and also there is a trail next to it that leads you to the tipi (must go to explore). We are for sure going to be coming back here. If you want a getaway from Austin/San Antonio/Houston, this place is only 2-3 hours away and you will be getting the perfect package. Thanks don and Debbie for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer here. We do hope you will come again, try us in the fall as it looks so different. deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I were able to escape here for the weekend while Grandpa and Grandma watched the kids. We stayed in the Cottonwood, it was exactly what we needed, quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. The place is thoughtfully appointed and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were fancy and yummy. You have to try the nature trail. Don mentioned that there is usually a “cat escort”, we were not disappointed. We enjoyed all the amenities that came with the room (The Cottonwood has its own outdoor hot tub.) I am recommending this to my friends and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: The Cottonwood has a hottub and WIFI, it overlooks the pond, we watched the deer come in to have a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank goodness for Grandpa's and Grandma's that know how important it is for couples to have some alone time. We are so glad you came and enjoyed it here. We try to always respect a couples privacy, but be here when you need us. Hope to see you again. Thanks deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I were married last weekend. We had the most wonderful ceremony and the best cake and photos taken. We enjoyed ourselves more than we thought possible. We saw shooting stars, had the most relaxing weekend and ate at Humphrey Pete's, which was fabulous too. We are already planning our return visit next year for our anniversary. Many thanks to Don and Becca for the amazing, perfect time. We also hope to meet Debbie next time we are there. We came from Houston, which is 5 hours away, but I have to say that it was worth every mile. Thanks from the bottom of our hearts.

Room Tip: The Wildrose Cottage is romantic and very intimate. With a hot tub and Jacuzzi you couldn't ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We do so appreciate you writing a review for us. We are so happy that you were pleased with your stay and your Texas elopement package. We do look forward to you coming for an anniversary and finding your bottle on the wedding tree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were married the day before Thanksgiving, in a beautiful intimate ceremony by Don the Innkeeper, his wife took amazing photos and provided a lovely cake and bouquet. We stayed in a beautiful romantic Victorian style cottage - decorated in a wonderful romantic style. Sat out under the stars in the hot tub, ate Debbie's delicious breakfasts and were totally secluded from the world for two days. It far surpassed our expectations.

Room Tip: The Wildhouse Retreat was amazing and my favourite but there are many different styles to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much! It was our pleasure to have y'all stay with us and share your special day here. We hope to have you come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 650 Morelock Lane, Brownwood, TX 76801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Brownwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brownwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Texas Hill country bed and breakfast for romantic Texas getaways. Located close to Brownwood,TX and Lake Brownwood. We are a premier elopement destination in Texas with several elopement packages to offer. For Texas honeymoon getaways, our peaceful cottages offer privacy with jacuzzi tubs or hot tubs.We are also a Texas Hill country wine trail lodging. We have been chosen as one of the "10 Coziest B&B's in America". We offer great packages like dinner or spas for your Texas romantic getaway. Come to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast in the Texas hill country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.