We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. Probably good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Brownwood State Park

Lake Brownwood State Park
Park Road 15, RR 5 Box 160, Brownwood, TX 76801
915-784-5223
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Brownwood
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great stargazing and nice cabins to stay in.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice location. Probably good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We rented an enclosed pavilion for a family reunion. It was spacious, had electricity and a very nice working kitchen complete with stove, fridge and large freezer. Reasonable rate for the day. Close to the water for kids to swim.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went camping (in a tent) in this state park for 3 days. It was really wonderful. They have camping sites from 10$ but we prefered the ones at 20$ with water and electric. This park is so beautiful and we see and hear deers, birds, squirrels, armadillos, etc. We love the trails with all the cacti and the flowers and the lake. The buildings built by the CCC are really beautiful too. Really beautiful sunsets on the lake and lightnings. We also see the stars very well. The only thing we didn't like was that there was no soap to wash our hands in the restrooms like in many state parks. The people at the office were very nice and friendly. You have access to wifi when you are in the parking lot of the office.

Stayed in late April 2013 while we almost have all the park to ourselves. We heard and saw so many birds! It was really awesome!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A nice escape even if you live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went fishing off of the pier and even though the lake is really low, caught some fish. The park is beautiful and the wildflowers are amazing even if sparse this year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a family reunion in the group dining hall and it was quite nice. I could only wish the restrooms were closer and better equipped for the handicapped. I have a little sunburn to prove I had fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Has potential to be good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in the Oak Lodge over spring break, and also had a water-only campsite. To our surprise, the park was barely half-full, maybe because the lake was low. Scenery is ok, but lots of dead oak trees due to the drought. No shade at all at the campsite because trees were dead or no leaves on them yet. Water is consistently brown with silt as most of the lake in the state park area has a muddy bottom. Fishing was good as we caught some 3-4lb catfish from the bank, but no bass, sunfish, or anything else.

The lodge is very rustic, had a tiny cramped bathroom that was an add-on to the 1930s cabin. It had window units that were so loud we couldn't turn them on at night, so it got down to 55 degrees inside at night. Kitchen was also small and cramped but fully-equipped. Beds were ok. Overall the facilities are rustic and primitive but as well-maintained as can be given the lack of funding in the state parks system and the fact these facilities were built in the 30s. Don't expect it to be even a 2-star motel. On the plus side, it was quiet and secluded, with a nice fire pit and picnic tables so that was enjoyable.

Hiking trails are pretty good, especially the Lakeside Trail. The one going to Council Bluffs is much steeper. The shared bathroom at the Willow Point campsite was clean but only had 1 proper stall and another without a door. Showers had no doors either, though they are angled for some privacy. Overall, this place has potential to be good if the parks system had the $$ to renovate the cabins and keep up with the times.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Brownwood State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Brownwood State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.