We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since renovations completed, the motel offers many unexpected upgrades.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach Light Inn Brenham

Save Saved
You added Coach Light Inn Brenham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coach Light Inn Brenham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2242 South Market Street, Brenham, TX 77833   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Brenham
san antonio, tx
2 reviews
“Since renovations completed, the motel offers many unexpected upgrades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I have stayed at this motel 1-2 times per year for the last five years. The owners are very pleasant and always willing to provide detailed directions to their recommended restaurants and tourist sites. With the recently completed renovations, the rooms are quite attractive with new carpets, stainless steel refrigerator, freezer, and microwave, coffee maker, up-graded sundries, and comfortable beds. Flat panel TVs and free wireless access are also available in all rooms. Simple continental breakfasts are offered with juice, coffee, pastries, yogurt, toast and cereal. I have found the rates reasonable in comparison to its competitors. I have never had a problem with the appearance of the neighborhood or a concern about safety.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
22
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Humble
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Rented 5 rooms for daughter's college graduation ceremonies. Recently remodeled and very clean. Owners were very helpful. Large rooms and conveniently located to all areas of Brenham.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

The good points: OK, let me think... well the room wasn't too bad, it was reasonably clean but not great. The location is near the highway but not in the best area.

The bad: That's easy, the staff. We left our room around 9:15am to get breakfast and when we returned at 10am the room door was wide open and our bags had gone. We then saw the front desk clerk walking across the parking lot with one of our bags. He said, we thought you'd left so we were cleaning out the room. OK, but did we check out? No. Did we drive away and take our bags? No. Isn't check out 11am? Yes. So why are you entering the room and taking out our stuff? Don't know.

I have never had an experience like this, and won't be returning to have a 2nd!

This place is NOT safe, you'd be better off anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I picked Coach Light Inn for it's inexpensive prices and good TA ratings, but when we arrived, I was shocked at how poor the property was.

Negatives ::
* The hotel was being renovated and there was noise until 11pm at night.
* We could also hear traffic from Market Street.
* The area did not feel safe - we brought in all of our belonging and put a chair against the door.
* The wireless internet did not work.

Positives:
* The room was reasonably clean, but smelled of Lysol and the sheets were worn.
* The TV was new and the reception was good.
* The price was low.

I would never stay there again. I have slept in hotels in Africa that were as nice as this one. It needs alot of work.

  • Liked — The hotel owner was friendly and polite.
  • Disliked — Feeling of danger. Noise of tractor-trailer trucks.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

I found them on the Internet. After reading a few reviews, and not wanting to spend almost $100 per night for a room, I made reservations over the phone. I arrived about 2:30 in the afternoon and my room was ready. It was on the ground floor and I could park right next to my room. The room was super big, had two large beds, a small kitchen electric range (I did not use it), a larger than average dorm frig,sink, and a microwave. The room also had a big screen (37" to 40" maybe?) 16:9 aspect ratio TV with maybe 50 channels. Very nice line up.

I need to be in touch so Internet access is very important to me. I set up my new (mid year, 2008) Duo HP Pavilion laptop and looked for the wireless signal. My stock laptop found it, but said the signal was too weak to connect. The table my computer was on was deep in the rear of the room. I moved the table next to the front of the hotel room, under a window. My laptop connected just fine. Using speednet.net, I measured about 1.5Mbps down and about 300Kbps up. I video conference with my girlfriend. The upload speed was a tad slow for video conference But for all other uses, this broadband is just fine.

The people here are nice, polite and easy to get along with. The bed was perfect. I highly recommend this little place to anyone.

  • Liked — new, 16:9 aspect ratio TV, fast internet
  • Disliked — I heard friday night cars in this little town make noise on the highway. But not so bad
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

My family and I had a great stay at the Coach Light Inn. The rooms were very clean, nice size, microwave and refrigerator, and extremely comfortable beds. A nice surprise was the coffemaker and hairdryer in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, recommending two excellent restaurants in town. We have already made reservations to stay again in the fall.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, and affordable
  • Disliked — Not right on highway
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

I have stayed at the Coatch Light Inn from August/01/2007 to about Three week on this trip and I always came in to a well keeped Motel with Great!!, House keeping personel in there hire. I needed a return visit and was welcomed once again with this wonderfull service and clean room and I mean always clean, not just the first day but always.
I highly recomend The Coach Light as a Great place to visit while on the road. And while in town for breakfast the Santa Fe Restaurant has by my opinion the best food and the most pleasant people to talk to in Texas.

  • Liked — Very clean rooms and well keeped rooms, great staff!
  • Disliked — Could use out door area for BBQ's and tables.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrenhamBob01, manger at Coach Light Inn Brenham, responded to this review, April 22, 2008
Thank you for kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coach Light Inn Brenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach Light Inn Brenham

Address: 2242 South Market Street, Brenham, TX 77833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brenham
#3 Business Hotel in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coach Light Inn Brenham 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great low rates you can save a good deal and relax in peace and quiet at this well-renowned Inn in Brenham Texas. It features spacious clean rooms with king-size and queen-size beds. The rooms have refrigerators microwaves and telephones. For business people tourists and convention delegates high-speed internet is provided for your entertainment and convenience. Why not try this motel's friendly services for your pleasure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coach Light Inn Brenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Light Hotel
Coachlight Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach Light Inn Brenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.