We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts + Amazing room + Good food = Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Save
You added Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate to your Saves list
1804 South Park St., Brenham, TX 77833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Brenham B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts + Amazing room + Good food = Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

Looking forward to a quiet stay we were a bit apprehensive when we drove up as all around the main house construction, which we thought would have been finished by now, was still going on. Our fears were quickly alleviated by Linda, one of the owners, who asked if it was all right if they upgraded us to a pool suite. Of course our answer was yes!

Quiet was just one of the pluses to the suite located in a separate building behind the two-story main house. The other amenities included a frig, microwave, large bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, and a two person in-room jacuzzi. But the best thing was the extremely comfortable king sized bed. We wanted to take it with us!

After a peaceful night sleep we were starved and Steve, the other owner, did not let us down as he fixed us a tasty breakfast that included apple turnovers, oatmeal and wheat pancakes, fresh fruit, and unlimited tea and coffee. The dining area was roomy with six or seven tables that will sit two to four people. Since I'm not really a morning person I really appreciated the smaller tables where my friend and I could eat and not be forced into conversation with strangers. But fear not, if you like meeting people then the large porch, pool, and newly built outside kitchen, complete with dart board and jukebox, will come in handy. Also, useful are the menus for nearby restaurants that are framed and hanging in the breakfast area. Steve and Linda both are knowledgeable about Brenham and their suggestions of restaurants and nearby attractions (Antique Rose Emporium, St. Clare Monastery) were great!

We truly had a wonderful stay and could have kicked ourselves for not staying longer. We are already planning on going back soon and this time we will stay more than one night. We can't wait to see the finish results of the construction and to sleep in that comfortable bed again. ;-)

  • Liked — Wonderful hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

What a great place! Excellent ammenities, friendly and enthusiastic service, fabulous accomodations for a family gathering! All inclusive...........why would you leave the property except to explore the local area? Might just have to go back in the future just to see the accomplishments as they develop.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Had to leace
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

This was our first visit to a Bed and Breakfast, however not our last. We had a great time talking to Steve and finding out the history of the House. We had a good time visiting local sights and the Pleasant Hill Winery was fantastic. This is a great getaway to spend time alone on your anniversary. Stay in the pool house as the pool is right outside your door and afterwards you can get in the jaquzi in your room!!!! Thanks steve and we'll see you again soon!!!

John & Sharon Gaitan

  • Liked — so comfortable
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

The Far View is an excellent place to go to relax. The residence is on two acres and is secluded from the neighboring houses. The grounds are well kept with tall oak and pecan trees. There is even a swimming pool.
The new owners (Steve and Linda) are extremely nice and can help with any questions about Brenham or the surrounding areas. The breakfast was scrumptuous. Steve is a magnificent cook.
The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. The main house has six guest rooms, one of which is on the first floor. This was a plus since my Father can not climb stairs.
This was truly a wonderful visit, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2005

Far View has a great location within walking distance of downtown Brenham. The grounds at Far View are a delightful escape (an entire city block)! There are various rooms available to meet the needs of couples, families, and business. Our experience staying at Far View is that the innkeepers are meticulous and this assures a positive experience.

For couples - sumptuous private rooms adjacent to the swimming pool.
For kids - a tree house and an activity shed!
For business - meeting rooms available.

Far View is also a great place to stay as a base for visiting the many attractions in the Brenham area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2005

Far View Bed and Breakast is not only a great place to stay while visiting Brenham, Texas, the B&B takes you back to a time where sitting out on the balcony drinking coffee or having a cocktail before dinner was a way of enjoying life's surroundings. This B&B has beautiful accommodations with private baths and a wonderful poolhouse suites that overlook the pool and is surrounding by pecan trees and masterful landscaping. The Innkeepers are gracious hosts and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and peaceful. Breakfast at Far View is an experience. On my stay, I enjoyed French Toast Strata that was layered with a creamy cheese filling. What better way to start the day. Did I mention, the coffee that is ready outside your room before breakfast....great ammenity. I would highly recommend a this B&B for a relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2004

Far View Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place with beautiful grounds and fantastic food. It is the best of both worlds, because it offers the peace of the country side (the house is on an acre of ground) while being just a few blocks from downtown. We even had dinner there when a group of us took the entire inn. It was truly gourmet.

The house is elegant, but we felt at home. It takes lots of work and a true love of people to achieve this atmosphere. We hope to return soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Address: 1804 South Park St., Brenham, TX 77833
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.