We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Save
You added Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate to your Saves list
1804 South Park St., Brenham, TX 77833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Brenham B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second stay at Far View. We splurged and stayed in one of the suites near the pool. It was super nice and roomy, with a jacuzzi in the suite. We actually used the hot tub outside instead because the weather was lovely. All the trees and birds on the grounds make the B&B a beautiful relaxing place. Breakfast on Easter Sunday was delicious and our host was nice and helped us find bluebonnets for photos. We love this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We traveled with our kids on a spring break trip to visit the Blue Bell Creamery and decided to try a B&B with them for the first time. We first checked with another B&B in downtown Brenham, but they did not allow children, which worked out well for us because we loved our time at Far View. We stayed in the carriage house which was perfect for us and our two kids, as there is one king sized bed and two twin beds in a separate room.

It was too cold to swim but we enjoyed using the hot tub, which was nice and clean. The pool looked clean as well and very inviting, nestled in the beautiful grounds.

We ventured downtown for dinner and dessert (Blue Bell ice cream, of course) and it was a short drive through a pretty neighborhood. Our tour at the creamery was only about two miles away, so Far View was very conveniently located.

Steve was very nice and, even though we are not dog people, he had a very friendly dog that even we loved. Our only disappointment was that Steve had to be away in the morning and was not there to prepare breakfast so we ended up with cold cereal and pastries, which didn't really satisfy the "breakfast" part of our B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night as a side trip on our way to Galveston. We really just wanted to grab some Blue Bell ice cream from the factory but I saw the B&B listings on tripadvisor and decided to slow the trip even more by staying one night night in Brenham. Extremely glad we did! Far View is a wonderful B&B in a historic old home! The landscaped grounds were picturesque and quiet. We stayed in one of the pool house rooms which was really nice with a gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub, separate shower, microwave and mini fridge. We didn't try the pool (too cold in Feb of course) or the hottub (just didn't get to it) but both looked great. There was also an outdoor covered patio/bbq area just off pool that would be super for hanging out during warmer times. The breakfast was excellent and our host (Steve) was very welcoming and accomodating. We shared B&B experiences with a very nice couple in the sunlit breakfast area while lingering over the food and coffee. Good thing we weren't in any hurry. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Brenham and we stopped here to break up the drive to the port of Galveston. What a lovely B&B!! Stayed in the Library room (funny tiny sink!) which was really convenient and avoided the bag drag up the stairs. Breakfast was a wonderful quiche served quickly in a beautiful sun room dining area. I would have loved to stayed longer to explore the grounds and the town. Guess I'll just have to come back! Thank You!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Far View and really enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent, breakfasts were a delight, coffee, tea (and even beer!) was available 24/7, our host (Steve) was very friendly and made us feel totally welcome. The property is convenient to downtown Brenham. It is nicely laid out, with many seating areas indoor and out to sit and relax. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just returned from my third stay at Far View. I've always stayed in one of the two pool house suites. Each has a gas fireplace, a big Jacuzzi tub in the room, plus a shower in a separate bathroom. There is a small butler's pantry with a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. The pool house was designed in keeping with the original 1925 house with open eaves and keystones and stained glass windows. The entire estate is beautiful, wonderfully decorated and landscaped. Steve is a perfect host and breakfast is always fabulous. Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I've only stayed in one of the two pool house suites. Each has a wonderful jacuzzi tub in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very friendly owner ( Steve) and chef extraordinaire ! The breakfast is to die for, wonderfully presented, I felt like a treasured guest. The room we stayed in was the Library Room, it was cozy & charming, the bathroom is very cozy but functional. This was built in 1925 and the house has all the decor & charm of that period with modern amenities. Beautiful pathways to stroll through and other amenities (pool, covered outside party/BBQ area with kitchen, hot tub, etc) that we might use when we stay there next time. I would really recommend this B & B over a motel/hotel anytime! Great for family or party gatherings as well. A definite A+++ !

Room Tip: On a budget? Or just a couple looking for something different? The Library Room will suit your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate

Address: 1804 South Park St., Brenham, TX 77833
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.