We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ant Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ant Street Inn
107 W. Commerce, Brenham, TX 77833   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 10 Brenham B&B and Inns
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

On a whim, we decided to get out of town and head to Brenham to check it out. We only wanted to spend one night, so we decided to splurge and stay in a B&B if there was one available without a reservation. It was about 8:00 when we arrived in town. We found the Ant Street Inn on our smartphone and decided to go inside to see if they had any rooms available. This place is right smack in the heart of town and all the goodies are within close walking distance. Luckliy, the owner was there and he had a room to offer us! We stayed in The Atlanta room. It was beautiful. These folks sure know how to treat a guest! Every comfort you could ask for was here. It was spacious, super clean, charming, comfortable and had all of the modern amenities. I am always critical of hotel rooms because there is always some common sense item that's missing or they nickle and dime you for basic comforts. Not this place. The bed was comfy with lots of great pillows. There was a desk, a sitting area with nice chairs, antique furniture and lovely decor. A nice closet with bath robes, luggage racks, ironing board and iron. There was a flat screen TV (with DVD) and free wi-fi.
The bathroom area had a sink and vanity (well-lighted) separate from the bath/shower and toilet (with a fan!). All of the fixtures worked very well. Now for the good stuff...There is a gorgeous common area (large hallway) with several seating areas (couches and chairs) for reading or hanging out and chatting. I saw 2 separate rooms with tables and chairs for gathering. One room was equipped with tons of games and puzzles to enjoy. They have an outside porch (veranda) that overlooks a great back yard area, complete with a gazebo (perfect for weddings). This is a perfect spot to sit and sip on coffee or wine and enjoy the fresh air. They provide an area that houses a single serving coffee maker, water cooler and a fridge. The owners provide water, coffee, tea, hot cocoa (etc) and the fridge is stocked with complimentary ice, soda and even Blue Bell Ice Cream. It was incredibly relaxing there. Before settling in for the night, we wandered out to grab a bite to eat and since it was late we just stopped into Yumm Eat. It was Yummy! Then we settled into our room and enjoyed some of the free refreshments while doing a puzzle. After a wonderful nights sleep, we got up, ready and headed downstairs for breakfast in the Brenham Grill (which is located right inside of the Inn. Of coarse, a wonderful breakfast was provided by our host. After we checked out the owner said we were welcome to stay and hang out in the common areas to relax if we wanted to. We did for a bit and then left and wandered all around town, popping in and out of their wonderful shops. I recommend that you splurge and stay at the Ant Street Inn whole-heartedly. You won't regret this wonderful experience. As others have mentioned, you don't even have to leave the Inn to have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, Owner at Ant Street Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful review! The owners, managers and staff at the Ant Street Inn strive every day to make our inn comfortable, the experience of staying here memorable, leaving the desire of our guests to return acute. We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
82
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This weekend our entire family gathered at the Ant Street Inn to celebrate my husbands 65th birthday. The owners of Ant Street Inn arranged a birthday cake, flowers, candles and birthday candles and had them waiting in our room. Family members arrived earlier and were waiting in our room when we arrived. The rooms are beautiful. The staff is attentive to your needs and everything is done with taste and polish. We have been to the Inn many times before and will return again for sure. Thanks for a very special time!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the place! We prefer the balcony side where you can rock in chairs and ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If there were nothing to do in Brenham, it would be worth the trip just to stay at the Ant Street Inn. We planned an impromptu trip to Brenham as an early 35th wedding anniversary trip. Brenham was fun, but the highlight of our trip was our stay at the ASI. We were made to feel very welcome, and an emphasis was placed on comfort. The furnishings are beautiful, the room was very large and quiet, and the amenities offered were outstanding.

Great job, Keith and Suzy! We *will* be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antstreet, Owner at Ant Street Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay! We are honored to be the highlight of your time in Brenham! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a fantastic place this is to stay and it's right in the heart of downtown Brenham!! We were there for my sister's 70th birthday celebration and the accommodations were top of the line! I stayed in the St. Louis which overlooks the veranda and has seven (7) windows in it. The bed was very comfortable and I would highly recommend to any of my friends, family and co-workers that they stay there...and it's especially great for special occasions!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Ant Street Inn for only one night~just a short weekend 'getaway'. This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast, and we were completly suprised! The pictures on the internet do not do this quaint place justice!! Each room is so tastfully done, as soon as you walk into the Inn, you feel like you step back in time~way back! The attention to the antiques the owners have placed in the room as well as the public area are truly a treasure! The porch outside was such a fabulous place to sit after spending the day in and around Brenham. We enjoyed breakfast the following morning, and was so pleased with the quality/taste of the food, and again, a quaint atmosphere!

Room Tip: Every room has a unique quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have never experienced anything like Ant Street Inn. It has the amenities, services, and privacy of a traditional hotel, with the charm, warmth and character of the best B&Bs I've had the pleasure to visit! I had never been to Ant Street under its previous owners. It is clear, though, that they left an indelible and classic mark on it that continues to show their care for the property and its furnishings and their exquisite attention to detail. From dealing exclusively with Suzy and Keith, I feel I can assure fans of the inn and its former owners, that this gem of a place is still in the hands of gracious and caring stewards. I look forward for any opportunity to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one evening and were very satisfied. This B&B is large and has several rooms so you don't feel cramped. The breakfast is provided by the adjoining public restaurant and we both thought that it was great. Our room was the St Louis at a quiet corner of the building. The upstairs porch is a nice spot to enjoy a glass of wine.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: St Louis room is quaint and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ant Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant Street Inn

Address: 107 W. Commerce, Brenham, TX 77833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ant Street Inn offers the finest in Texas hospitality in the elegant setting of a first-class boutique hotel. Centrally located in Brenham, Texas between Houston and Austin, the Ant Street Inn provides business travelers with meeting spaces to accommodate 2 up to 250 participants, as well as two separate high-speed wireless internet systems and free local and long distance telephone calls. Leisure travelers looking for an elegant, quiet getaway need look no further than the Ant Street Inn. Our staff is dedicated to meeting your every need, whether you are planning an executive retreat, family reunion, quiet anniversary celebration, or simply a stress-relieving few days "away from the usual". Relax in rocking chairs overlooking the courtyard garden, indulge in a sumptuous breakfast at the award-winning Brenham Grill located in the hotel's lobby (complimentary to all Ant Street Inn guests), and enjoy the many shops and restaurants in historic, downtown Brenham. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Brenham! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ant Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ant Street Inn to your Saves list