We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ant Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ant Street Inn to your Saves list
Ant Street Inn
107 W. Commerce, Brenham, TX 77833   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Unity Theatre Tickets
Ranked #2 of 9 Brenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Over the past 13 years we have come to this cozy place for our anniversary and my husband's birthdays mainly because each of those dates coincides with the Antique Preview week in Warrenton and the surrounding area. It is only a 20 mile or so ride to the rolling farmlands filled with vendors, and gives you a quiet place to come back to after spending the day with thousands of people. People have mentioned the noise of the train, but we just do not mind it at all. We actually hear maybe 5 or 6 a day, and if they are at night, well, the beds are so comfortable that we just don not notice.
On our last getaway, we stayed for four nights (adding the last one at the last minute), wandered around Brenham (it does not take long, but it has many charming spots), shopped the antique shows, and were even graciously allowed to store a purchase in the ballroom until we were ready to take it home. Totally helpful owners and staff. My husband even had an ipad returned to him after leaving it near the coffee maker. Owners and staff are the integrity kind of people you want watching out for your things.
There is a little room upstairs with gourmet coffees, ice cream in the freezer, sodas in the fridge, a microwave, spoons, teas, corkscrews, coffee cups, wine glasses-everything you might need for a little pick me up if you were at home. the wine and snacks tradition around 6pm is also a great way to unwind at the end of the day, sitting on the big terrace in the awesome white rocking chairs...Ant Street knows what they are doing, and they do it very well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
104
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

All in all I would stay here again, now that I know what to be aware of and to plan on a different breakfast option. The Inn is lovely and my room, Atlanta, was VERY comfortable. I was on a mom weekend away and was just looking for a lovely place for a little pampering and some peace and quite. Well I felt pampered but there was no peace and quite at night anyway. Trains run all day and night and are REALLY close by, so you can only imagine how loud it can be. No one mentioned this on check-in, I read it in the little binder in the room on my second day, but ear plugs are provided in the cotton ball jar in the bathroom. It would have been nice to have been warned. The breakfast in the Capital Grill was not very good at all, I usually love breakfast when staying at a bed and breakfast but felt like I would have done better to have gone out somewhere else, and while the inn pays for your meal you are left with the tip. Like I said I would stay here again as the place is beautiful and wll appointed, and the little touches to make you feel at home are nice, but now I know about the earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redfireant, Owner at Ant Street Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
You will be very happy to hear that just this week the city announced that a "Quiet Zone" will be in place by July. This means that the train engineers will not be allowed to blow a warning horn as they pass through the city. Of course, we have some guests who are disappointed they will not enjoy the nostalgia of hearing the train in the night.

We just received a compliment this morning from a gentleman on the delicious breakfast. Notwithstanding, we are now offering guests their choice from the breakfast menu, rather than predetermined selections. Included are omelets, waffles, French toast, pancakes, Migas, and eggs prepared your way. Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine and Huevos Rancheros are also available on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Our newly expanded breakfast menu should help to satisfy you next time.

Thank you again for your comments. We're listening and here to make your stay enjoyable. We hope you come back in July for a restful night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillcountrytexas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Pam & Cindy were so gracious from the moment we made our reservation request
online, til we were waving goodbye as we departed! We stayed in the San Antonio Suite
and found it ever bit as fascinating in person as it was described. Very, very clean with
all the modern amenities including a fridge, TV and coffee maker. Huge bathroom with the best jacuzzi ever and an incredible separate open shower. Talk about being spoiled now! So relaxing along with the gas fireplace and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast
in the on-site cafe offers quite a variety, and ours came quicklly and were just right.
The history of the inn and the obvious love and attention to details make this a truly special place to stay. Certainly hope to return and stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

This Inn is a Great Place , Great Location!!!!!, the staff was very nice. The rooms have 12' ceilings. Beds are wonderful. What a Grand Old Building ....... My only draw back about the Inn ( TRAINS RUN ALL NIGHT LONG...........NO SLEEP, I COUNTED 8 DIFFERENT TIMES THAT NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING HOURS..........) Maybe I didn't drink enough wine , during the wine and cheese hour 5:30 until 6:30. Local wine from Pleasant Hill winery, very good wine. Recommend the Inn bring ear pluges..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I really don't know what else the innkeepers could do to ensure a wonderful stay for their guests. Beautiful antiques, comfortable beds, luxurious towels, helpful staff, Dove chocolates and Blue Bell ice cream.....I ask for a gift certificate to the Ant Street Inn every Christmas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

My room was a large room on the second floor. The bed was wonderful and and so cozy! I did hear one train and it added to the charm of staying in an historic hotel, right in the middle of a small town in a beautiful area of Texas. I made a side trip to the Antique Rose Emporium, a place I love to visit.
I look forward to my next trip to Brenham and the Ant Street Inn.

  • Liked — Historic building with modern bathrooms and WiFi
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Excellent B&B. The owners are there all the time, seeing to your needs. They are very nice and helpful. The breakfast in the attached Capitol Grill was excellent. We ended up eating lunch there as well. All their food is great! Don't forget that the B&B offers cheese and crackers in the lobby from 5:30 - 6:30.

I agree that the rooms weren't over-remodeled to the point of losing their charm, which was wonderful. Our room (the Louisville, #208) was perfect, from the exposed brick wall, to the 12 foot ceilings, to the antique typewriter on the desk, to the half canopy over the bed. They did a great job with the bathrooms, as they had an antique look while being modern in function. The room was very clean and well stocked with nice thick towels. Don't forget the free Blue Bell ice cream located in the lobby fridge.

I read some complaints about hearing the train and it keeping you awake at night, but we weren't bothered a bit. You can hear it some in the main lobbies, but it's not loud at all in the room. We slept all night long with no problem.

The Inn is located right in the middle of the downtown historic district, which is perfect if you are into antiques. You can also walk to many restaurants. Once we checked in, we never used the car until we left.

We'd definitely give Ant Street a 2 thumbs up and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Brenham.

  • Liked — Price, location. cleanliness, rooms, decor
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ant Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant Street Inn

Address: 107 W. Commerce, Brenham, TX 77833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ant Street Inn offers the finest in Texas hospitality in the elegant setting of a first-class boutique hotel. Centrally located in Brenham, Texas between Houston and Austin, the Ant Street Inn provides business travelers with meeting spaces to accommodate 2 up to 250 participants, as well as two separate high-speed wireless internet systems and free local and long distance telephone calls. Leisure travelers looking for an elegant, quiet getaway need look no further than the Ant Street Inn. Our staff is dedicated to meeting your every need, whether you are planning an executive retreat, family reunion, quiet anniversary celebration, or simply a stress-relieving few days "away from the usual". Relax in rocking chairs overlooking the courtyard garden, indulge in a sumptuous breakfast at the award-winning Brenham Grill located in the hotel's lobby (complimentary to all Ant Street Inn guests), and enjoy the many shops and restaurants in historic, downtown Brenham. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Brenham! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ant Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ant Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.