We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't see any planes take off or land, but food and service were great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Flyer Diner

Southern Flyer Diner
3001 Aviation Way, Brenham, TX 77833
979 836-5462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Brenham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We didn't see any planes take off or land, but food and service were great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had seen this restaurant on The Daytripper. We were headed to Brenham and we decided to give it a try. You would never guess at the end of the traveled roads would be a restaurant. Plenty of people were there when we arrived, so we thought it must be good. It was! Diner type of food. Service with a smile, too! Most of us got hamburgers and we were all very happy. It was the best burger most of us had had in a long time. We would go for the food alone. Good thing, it was grey and foggy the day we went. No planes moving. This would definitely be a place to go back to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hamburgers in Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I went there today for lunch and I order the hamburger. It was really good, hell yeah! I am a food place blogger from Italy and I have been in Houston for one year. This hamburger was one of the best ones in Texas. The service was really quick and the waitress so nice. What a cool place, it takes you back in the 50s.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife got the patty melt and I went with the hamubrgers with cheddar and bacon. Both were excellent!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Step Back into the 50's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We live in Houston and we made the trip on a Sunday morning to have lunch here. It was well worth it... A nice and scenic drive to this great little restaurant. The food was great and the atmosphere was fantastic! Highly recommended for anybody who enjoys the old time small town environment

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food.....very busy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's a nice 50's feel , nice old juke box . You can sit inside or outside. We sat inside bit cold out plus bit loud from planes . The food was good quick and fairly priced. They were so busy that we were over looked a few times on refills and trying to get a take home box. When the ticket was brought my husband tried to hand it to the waitress with payment she walked by looked at him and walked off. Lol okay we said guess we will get up and see where we are to pay. Which we found its right as u go out. For me it's like a place been there done that one time visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Flyer Diner also viewed

 

Been to Southern Flyer Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Flyer Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.