We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Flyer Diner

Southern Flyer Diner
3001 Aviation Way, Brenham, TX 77833
979 836-5462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Brenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
houston
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had never been here before, but an old flyer friend of mine told me about flying into Brenham for lunch. He would always meet a few buddies and then fly home. We spent the day in Brenham and I decided to give it a try. The burgers and milkshake where good, not close to gourmet or even Red Robin, but it was fun to do. The waitresses wear these old fashion outfits and the tables are hard top with red plastic chairs. OK- I've been there now and no I will not be going back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great hamburgers and onion rings! We arrived on a Saturday afternoon around 2pm and the lunch rush was just ending. They are only open for lunch, 11am-3pm. Every table was full with lots of smiling guests - families, bikers, locals, pilots who had just flown in for lunch, and out-of-towners like us. We would have enjoyed sitting in the screened porch to watch the planes, but it was too windy on the day we were there. Easy to find - just watch the signs for the Brenham Airport.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Best chicken fried steak and onion rings in area! And the severs are such fun in their retro Fifties Poodle skirts and saddle oxfords...plus the music is perfect....can't go wrong here....and save room for PIE!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

While in Brenham for the Poinsettia Festival, we drove out to the airport to eat at this diner. It was great in every way! Very friendly, attentive wait staff dressed in poodle skirts, cooks in sight, jukebox to choose music of the 50's. The food was good as well!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fly In for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pilots stop here for lunch on a regular basis just to eat the burgers! With its' 50's style diner, girls in poodle skirts, jukebox music, the atmosphere alone makes it worth repeated visits. I usually always have the burger (with mushrooms), their homemade onion rings (like the kind I grew up on...not prefab!) and a Shiner Bock Beer. Sometimes I spurge and have an old fashioned Malt...again, just like I grew up on! This is definitely a place you need to visit if in our area!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Flyer Diner also viewed

 

Been to Southern Flyer Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Flyer Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.