We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Riverlodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gaia Riverlodge to your Saves list
Gaia Riverlodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Seriously awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Staff was so friendly, patient and helpful and very knowledgeable about local hot spots and random questions about Belizean flora and fauna. Waterfall behind the hotel is gorgeous and itself worth a visit. Deck overlooking this landscape is breathtaking and probably the most impressive eco-lodge setting I've seen. Little touches of hospitality included coming back to our room in the afternoon, after having left our wet clothes from the previous day out to dry, and finding them washed, dried and folded on the bed - at no extra charge. If I had to name one small nit, it would be that they only leave you a small 1 liter pitcher of potable water each day in the bathroom, which you have to keep asking them to refill.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with view of the waterfall - very impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't say enough great things about Gaia. My husband and I came on our honeymoon for three days before continuing on to Matachicha. From the time we were picked up at the airport to the time we left we were forever happy. We can't say enough about the staff - specifically Francisco and Calbert who were both our guides for excursions that we took. Each excursion was life changing and something we had never done before. Each guide was knowledgeable and answered every and all questions we had. They also brought nice humor to the outings. Gaia packed delicious lunches for each excursion, always fresh and accommodating to your dietary wishes.
We highly recommend going to big falls and the blackened snapper.
ENJOY

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Gaia for three days during November. Although not cheap, the whole experience was outstanding. Rooms are VERY nice, food and staff were outstading, and the location is a perfect mix of wilderness and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six of us drove in a 12 passenger van from Belize International Airport to the Gaia River Lodge arriving in late afternoon. The roads were certainly challenging the last 25 miles! However, we arrived to a much needed welcome cocktail and hot refreshing towels just in time to see a simply gorgeous sunset.

We all were given waterfall view rooms as we had requested. My husband and I stayed in Cascade which was the smallest of the three rooms, yet we felt we had the best view of the falls below. We also were in a stand alone room with no one below or directly next to us. I believe the cover photo for Gaia's website is Cascade. Anyway, we loved it!

The view was magnificent! The room was very comfortable and the shower was large with Mexican tile decor. The towels were artistically folded in various animal shapes each morning. the night air was very cool.

We dined every morning outside with a continental breakfast which was included with our reservation or another choice off the menu. What an exhilarating way to start the day! Lucy brightened our day with her wonderful smile and then greeted us later at dinner. Considering it is difficult to go anywhere else due to the travel time and road conditions for meals, the restaurant meals were very good with lovely presentations!

Nigel and Xavier were always available to answer questions and provide information if needed. One or the other was always around when we went to the main lodge to use the Wi-Fi, eat a meal, book a tour, or just hang out.

We requested Francisco as our guide through the ruins at Caracol and found the ride in the Gaia vehicles much better than the 12 passenger van we had rented. We rode with Calbert who was guiding another couple through the ruins. Francisco provided excellent explanations with a passion and pride of this area of Belize. We also did a walk around the property with him another morning, siting various species of birds and plants. Delightful man!

After 2 days of bumpy roads, we decided to camp out at the waterfall and kick back for an afternoon. My trepidations about walking down the steep stairs were solved by using the 2 person tram that runs along the cliff. What a beautiful setting the waterfalls provided. The water was refreshing and the palapas provided shelter from the sun. Paradise in a nutshell!

Later, 3 of us took the nature trail which had a gradual decent through the forest down to the waterfall area, there was a fairly steep ascent on a road to get back. We actually missed the path and found that the road was not part of the trail, however it served the purpose of reaching the top. Two others took advantage of a massage at the spa and were pleased with the services provided.

Some advice is to come with insect repellent with Deet in it to wear when on tours. My husband and I also purchased clothing with permitherin woven into the fabric. Both provided us with great protection!

We really wished we had stayed more than 3 nights to do more of the guided trips available, as well as enjoy the solitude and magnificence of this part of Belize.

The hospitality was incredible from all of the staff. Our gratitude to you all for making our visit so memorable!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary at Gaia. What a treat! Staff was fabulous; such attention to detail. A beautiful and unique setting; to have a natural waterfall for a backyard was just incredible. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cabana facing the waterfall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Absolutely fantastic stay! We arrived with friends in mid November, as part of the Reef and Rainforest package ( recommend you do the Rainforest part first!). ALL the staff know your name from the moment you arrive and with the very limited number of guests, their attention to your needs makes the entire stay feel intimate. The food is outstanding. The service is stellar and the views from your room and the main lodge - spectacular.

I recommend the following:
- venture down to the waterfalls below the lodge, walk down ( order drinks and lunch BEFORE you leave), and take the tram back up
- order extra adult beverages to accompany you on any activities ( if you don't drink them all, they will be waiting for you on your next trip)
- buy the salt and pepper containers at the Lodge, you won't find them elsewhere and they are a great reminder of the trip!
- tip well. I only wish North American service providers were as attentive as Gaia's
- bring/wear as high a percentage of Deet as you can tolerate
- wear layers, you will add and subtract them as you move through the day
- visit the Rio On pools!
- ask for Francisco ( the "Head") as your guide. While all Gaia guides are outstanding - he is really remarkably knowledgeable of the local fauna, history and the little "extras" that make your tour ( and time in the SUV) really enjoyable.

Do not fear... The Gaia staff take care of everything ... the tours are incredibly interesting and well worth the adventerous drive !

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Request a room close to the waterfall - the sound of the falls in the evening is very soothing and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Gaia. We strayed from the normal approach of half jungle and half beach and stayed the whole week, which meant we missed the snorkeling but we also skipped the stress of moving and an extra travel day. In the end the overwhelming sentiment was that Gaia was the nicer of the two places and most people feel like they don't have enough time to explore when they're only there for a few days. We were very happy with our choice in the end.

Gaia's strongest asset is probably it's staff. We got quick responses to our questions before the trip, great service, great advice, interesting and informative tours, delicious food, a most relaxing massage, and thoroughly clean rooms all from such a welcoming and friendly staff. They made it a point to learn our names and we worked to do the same in return and got to know some of them a little bit. I was so impressed with every one of them! They really made our trip what it was and made us anxious to return.

For the adventurous, the ATM cave is incredible - probably the highlight of the trip for us. You swim into the cave, but also hike in the jungle and through the cave, so pack appropriate outdoor clothing to make that work. Lightweight hiking shoes/trail runners are perfect.

With the full week we had time to do the nature trail (which I did twice) and Big Rock Falls where we found places to jump, swim, and get under the waterfall. We also had time to do a few tours and sit by the river and read and relax. All of which we enjoyed thoroughly.

It does rain and things do get damp on occasion. There are bugs (but I didn't find them to be a problem and actually didn't even use bugspray) and quite a bit of wildlife. There are also long drives down bumpy dirt roads. There is a sense of adventure there and you have to go knowing you are going to a real jungle. If you go with that mindset, you won't have any trouble. The place is also really nice, the food is great, and there are plenty of opportunities for relaxing. I can't remember having slept as good as I did there with the sound of the river and waterfall.

We definitely hope to return and for an adventurous couple on a honeymoon it was a perfect mix of relaxation, exploration and excitement, and romance.

Room Tip: The Villa offers amazing privacy - definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Riverlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Riverlodge

Address: P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Riverlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge is located in the Scenic Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve. We offer earthy yet stylish thatch roofed cabanas with excellent views of our waterfalls or Mountain Range, amazingly comfortable beds, Frette and Matouk linens and towels and bathrooms with hand painted Mexican tiles. Among our amenities are our natural fresh water pools, waterfalls, authentic Belizean cuisine, nature trails, day tours to the many Maya archaeological sites and adventure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Riverlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Sisters Lodge
Five Sisters Hotel San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Riverlodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.