We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only came for hikes, great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Valley Inn to your Saves list
Hidden Valley Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only came for hikes, great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This inn has a beautiful network of trails that isn’t really advertised to the public. It was hardly mentioned in our guide book. Hearing that the inn was strict about trespassers, we went with low expectations, not anticipating being allowed on the trails. We ended up speaking with a very nice staff member who charged us $20USD each, I think, gave us a map and a walkie talkie (to be returned after we were done) and suggested some of the more beautiful/scenic parts of the jungle.

We ended up spending the better part of the day there and had a fantastic time. We ate lunch on an overlook to a waterfall (Tiger Creek Falls Lookouts), then continued driving to a section of the trails that feature a few small waterfalls and pools (the Secret Pools, Clear Creek and Cascade trails). We swam, hiked and took pictures, spending several hours on the property and hardly covering a fraction of the total available hiking territory.

There were even some places we wanted to see, but we didn’t have enough time, including the macadamia fields and coffee banana section.

Though $20pp is a bit steep for a hike, this was money and time well spent in the Cayo. We hardly saw anyone else during our time on the trails. It felt very secluded and natural. Bring a lunch, bathing suit, sunscreen and bug spray and make a morning or afternoon out of it. I think as long as you’re polite and respectful, you will be allowed to hike on the trails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    32
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
178
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at Hidden Valley for three nights, together with a group of birdwatchers. It was my favourite place in Belize - which is one of the best destinations I have ever visited. The accommodation and food was superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. One night when the weather had been rather miserable there was a lovely log fire in the comfortable sitting roomI loved my cabin where I could have had my own fire, if I had wanted to. The bird watching was superb, the trails very good and easy to walk on. The long drive to the Maya ruins at Caracol well worth the trip. I can highly recommend Hidden Valley..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can recommend Hidden Valley based on the day we spent there hiking. Their property is incredibly impressive, with great hikes and well maintained trails. Although the Inn is a little too upscale for what I am looking for in a jungle lodge, I would have relished the opportunity to spend two full days hiking the trails.

If you want to stay in a jungle lodge, but don't want to do a lot of traveling when you're there, I'd recommend getting a bike and setting off to various trailheads to explore their extensive trail network.

To me, the experience of hiking the HVI trails was up there with ATM (I actually preferred the hiking since we didn't see any other people the whole day, except for three people leaving butterfly falls when we got there.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Hidden Valley and loved it. We were on our honeymoon and were looking for a balance between luxury and adventure. Hidden Valley was perfect. We flew into Belize City and rented a vehicle, which we highly recommend. The drive to Hidden Valley took about 2.5 hours and about an hour of it is on a bumpy dirt road. It's located on a private reserve and you have tons of property to explore. There are miles of hikes and bike rides available. The best is a hike that follows a creek feed by a natural spring. The creek is filled with beautiful waterfalls that you can swim in. They offer a private waterfall rental for a day, but we found there were so few people we had every waterfall to ourselves. There are multiple overlooks viewing the jungle and multiple waterfalls that you can drive to (if don't have own vehicle may need a tour) or you can bike with the complementary bikes. Biking's not for the faint of heart though, we had a blast, but the roads are so bumpy and the bikes have no suspension that if you don't have a sense of humor you may not enjoy it.
The Inn had great food, but their dinners resemble a four course meal. We rarely eat at fancy restaurants and by the end of our 4 night stay we were slightly impatient with the formality of dinner. If you're similar to us i'd recommend maybe stopping at a store before you get to the dirt road and purchasing some snacks to mix it up a little. The bartender Tito was wonderful. He made delicious drinks and was so helpful in answering our questions about Belize.
We were also able to easily drive to Caracol to visit the ruins. We did this in our own vehicle and didn't go on a guided trip. This was the one trip we wished we would have done a guided tour because we could visit the ruins, but didn't know very much about the history. Hidden Valley has wonderful guides that give great tours.
We loved our trip and hope all of you will too!!

p.s. remember the bug spray

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have visited Belize 22 times and know the country fairly well. And off the top I have to confess my interest is wildlife. Hidden Valley Inn has exquisite accommodations - only 12 cabins, beautifully furnished, all with a fireplace - you might think that unnecessary in tropical Belize, but in the Mountain Pine Ridge habitat, the nights can be cool and a fireplace just the right touch to make a perfect evening evening better. I can't say enough about the quality of the food and its presentation and the staff could not be better - friendly, caring and efficient. But i have to return to my primary interest - wildlife. The large Hidden Valley Inn property, to which guests have complete access, is great wildlife habitat. And combined with the help and assistance from staff, it is very accessible. I can honestly say I had what was one of my best days of biriding ever, of all my days in Belize, on my most recent visit to Hidden Valley (March, 2013). With the help of master guide Fredy Pineda my day was packed from sunrise to sunset with birds, pausing only to return to the Inn for terrific meals. Highlights of that day included close views of a pair of Orange-breasted Falcons, Plumbeous Kite, displaying Red-capped Manakin and a male Lovely Cotinga - any birder will agree you can't beat that. Thanks Fredy and thanks Hidden Valley Inn! There are a lot of great places to stay in Belize and I have had the good fortune to stay at a number of them. Hidden Valley Inn is in the very select group of the best Belize has to offer in both accommodations and wildlife.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I travelled here with a friend last August and absolutely loved it. After the long trip from the airport we arrived to staff that treated us with warmth and humility. They would go out of their way to take care of our every need. We took an amazing trip to the pyramids and Freddy was such a delightful guide. Lenny always had a smile and impeccable service. The landscape is so breathtaking and the food delicious. The hotel is a bit older and maybe less refined but still quite comfortable rooms. They do not have air conditioning yet even in August we were comfortable. Definitely want to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Hidden Valley Inn is paradise on earth! The moment you are picked up by the staff you are transported into a new world: that of comfort, friendliness and relaxation!!! The majestic mountain views, amazing waterfalls (butterfly is my favorite) everything seems taken out of a dream! The food is just awesome and after the meals relaxing at the old English style bar and enjoy a drink prepared by professional mixers is a must. The pool and Jacuzzi surrounded by green vegetation makes you feel you are the owner of huge estate and the place is only for you! certainly that is the way the staff makes you feel. The strategic location of Hidden Valley Inn is its major asset but on top of that you are treated with the most friendly staff i have ever met in any hotel ever! If you go with your loved one, family, just yourself to relax or for work you will surely enjoy Hidden Valley Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
13.7 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.