We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable and remote.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blancaneaux Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blancaneaux Lodge to your Saves list
Blancaneaux Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Farm | Cayo District, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Confortable and remote.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great time at Blacaneaux Lodge. Perfect getaway resort. Everything is extremely clean from the rooms to the pool. Unbelievable oasis in the middle of Belize's pine forest.
Found the staff to be a bit pushy on activities that they offer + rather expensive. We had rented a jeep from Belize airport and drove there. We were free to wonder around at our own pace and go places on our own. We felt like the staff at the front desk pushed for those day trips & activities. However, after refusing they'd not insist anymore.
Overall, the stay was unforgettable. Staff is excellent, if not perfect! It all comes together with the decor! The natural pool down the stream is awesome. Hiking to the waterfall and swimming there was amazing. Did not encounter any wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    61
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
169
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a great time at the resort. We got upgraded to a 2 bedroom lodge room. It was amazing. The food was okay. They have great pizza. The continental breakfast was just right. The Fry Jacks were to die for. We went on several tours to the ruins. We recommend Jorge for a guide. He was very knowledgable about the Mayan culture, plants, birds, animals. He never got tired of answering all of our questions. The only thing bad about the resort is getting there. The dirt road going in and out gets old. Be sure to visit the garden. They grow their own veggies and fruit at the resort. It was worth the visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were returning from a hard day driving to the Caracol ruins and decided to try our luck renting a room at the Blancaneaux Lodge. I'm so glad we stopped! They had one villa available, so our friends and we were treated to a night of luxury. The place is full of rustic charm with top notch service and superbly trained staff. Even though we were walk-ins, we were treated like old friends. Our villa had two private suites with a common living room/kitchenette between. All the rooms had private balconies overlooking the river with beach chairs welcomingly arranged at the water's edge for a quick dip. The grounds are perfectly landscaped with tropical flowers everywhere. What a joy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Francis Ford Coppola villa. Secluded and quiet (except for our early morning wake up call by some active birds which were welcomed). Beautiful room decor and wonderful service by Almicar, our villa's personal attendant. Really liked the location of this villa and the extra deck space - felt more spacious and less dark also because of how the grounds open up in that spot.

Was able to relax in the serenity of the resort. Never really saw any other guests except when we dined in the common dining room (most days we opted for room service). Hotel went the extra mile and arranged some Guatemalan cooking class for us (@ extra cost) - one of our most delicious meals!

Thought the tour pricing was slightly more expensive than other places,but because most times we had a group of 4, it was essentially a private tour which was nice. Their guides were all excellent and accommodating.

Beware of Mosquitos. If you are the type to always get bitten (which I am) then bring the strongest deet! My brothers were never affected.

Only two wishes: 1) some sort of intercom system to be placed by the hot tub/pool near the spa so we can order drinks easier. Maybe a small chair to put our robes down. 2) more frequent wiping down of the floors in the outdoor common area. Jungle trails sometimes become muddy and dirt treks in. Not bothersome enough for us to note to our concierge, but we did take notice.

Food - fantastic continental breakfast w variety of breads and a great fruit platter. Add-on breakfast options are all great as well. Pizzas are just ok. I come from new York so am abut spoiled by our pizza options / quality here. Overall, food quality is satisfactory though not awesome. Go for the Guatemalan option for a change of pace.

Some of the most beautiful horses in their stables. Didn't ride them but all looked very approachable.

Overall had a very nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I had a great time visiting Blancaneaux. Although we went during the rainy season, the weather was warm enough and the rain sporadic enough that it didn't change our vacation. However, the weather was a little cooler than I expected - I wish I had brought more sweatshirts and long pajamas.
The lodge is very beautiful, and we enjoyed the activities, the stable, the wonderful setting, the helpful staff, and the great drinks during happy hour. The concierge had memorized our names and stopped by every evening to help us plan our next day of activities.
Be aware if you go, the lodge is about 2 hours away from the airport in Belize City. 1 hour of this is on a paved highway, the rest is on a very washed out dirt road - even though the distance is about 18 miles, it takes a long time to drive. That didn't really bother us, but it does make it a long trip to head into San Ignacio. Also, while there is nothing wrong with the food at the resort, I wouldn't pay the high prices being charged to eat it back home. And, once at the lodge, you are more or less committed to eating their food.
Other than those logistical details, this was truly a unique and special experience, and we loved the natural setting, the hammock on the balcony, the great service, and the lemongrass mojitos!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a 5-day stay at Blancaneaux with my parents and our 10-year-old son. The trip was a birthday gift for him, and we wanted something that would be fun and educational. We were not disappointed, even though we went in the "rainy season." (Actually, given how warm it can get in the jungle when the sun is out, we were grateful for a few clouds and some daily rain.) The lodge is beautiful--setting, villas, everything first-class. And the staff is truly exceptional. Their knowledge of Belize's environment, history and culture, and their enthusiasm for sharing it, is unmatched by any other travel experience I have had anywhere in the world, except when we have hired a local expert to show us something specific. When we thanked our guide Geraldo for his tour of the Mayan site at Caracol, his response was, "No, thank you for choosing to spend your time here with us. It is a pleasure to share our culture with you." That says it all about the attitude and atmosphere of the whole place. One thing to be aware of: Blancaneaux is very remote--at least an hour from San Ignacio down an extremely difficult dirt road--so you really are dependent on the hotel for everything: meals, tours, drinks, etc. The bill adds up really quickly. But in our opinion, given the quality of the whole experience, it was worth it. It's also worth considering that this lodge supports literally dozens of Belizean families with jobs that pay decent wages and respect their knowledge and skills. So that might help your conscience a little if you have concerns about the expense. Don't miss: the tours of Caracol and Barton Creek Cave, morning birdwatching, a stroll through the organic garden, a Thai massage (my husband had two, he was so impressed with Presart's talent as a masseuse), and, if you can get it, a bite of the pastry chef's chocolate cake (I don't think it is on the regular menu, but it was made as a surprise for my son's birthday and we all agreed it was one of the best cakes we have ever had anywhere), This was one of those trips made us wish we never had to go home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying at Blancaneaux was the greatest experience I have ever had traveling. My husband and I visited for 4 nights on our Honeymoon and it was greater than anything we could have ever imagined. The rooms were gorgeous (rustically so), their staff was caring and attentive and the organic garden made their food something we still crave. They make sure that every proprietor has the best experience with adventure (caving, hicking, waterfalls, mayan ruins...), romance (lighting candles every night in your room while your at dinner) and luxury (infinity pool, spa by the river...). I have and will reccomend this to anyone who is looking for a non traditional getaway and we have already planned our return trip. Honestly this place was a pleasure and a gem, something we will remember for years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
3.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
19.8 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
11.7 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blancaneaux Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blancaneaux Lodge

Address: Central Farm | Cayo District, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blancaneaux Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the early 1980s, Francis Ford Coppola visited Belize, immediately fell in love with the location, and purchased the abandoned Blancaneaux Lodge. For more than a decade the resort was used as a family retreat before Francis opened his tropical paradise to the public in 1993. Tucked away in a pocket of the Maya Mountains, Blancaneaux Lodge is a 20-room luxury resort where waterfalls tumble into turquoise pools above the jungle canopy. Its remote mountain setting makes it a perfect place to relax, rejuvenate and enjoy life’s simple pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Blancaneaux Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blancaneaux Hotel San Ignacio
Blancaneaux San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blancaneaux Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.