We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch in a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welfare Cafe

Welfare Cafe
223 Waring-Welfare Road, Boerne, TX 78006
830-537-3700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Boerne
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great brunch in a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

There were 7 in our group for Saturday brunch. Interesting and varied menu. Had a couple of appetizers and we tried lots if different entrees. All were very good. Large portions. Everything from quail on polenta to a Mexican style omelet to chicken fried steak fingers. Topped it off with several desserts. Sour cherry strudel was the tables' hands down fave. Geat music. A little Norah jones, Tracy chapman. Just a really nice vibe. Loved our waiter. Quick with recommendations and happily divided our checks. Spent time on the way out looking at the chickens and a very showy peacock. Not a full bar. Just beer and wine and a few specialty drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boerne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't Blink or You'll Pass It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Welfare Cafe is a small white building on the side of the road on the way to Waring from PoPo's that you might pass and never notice it was a restaurant. Behind the little white house is an outdoor seating area, herb garden and an old outhouse which is worth a picture if you or your friends have never seen one. The food is unique and gourmet style which is something you would not predict entering this old general store post office. This cafe is only open Thursday thru Sunday with weekend hours of 9-9. I tried the Welfare Benedict for breakfast and it was wonderful. If you have never tried grilled Texas jumbo shrimp on your eggs benedict you don't know what you are missing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hill Country Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

A quaint, classic and fun Hill Country eatery.
Unique menu featuring German dishes. Very good food, good value, quaint setting in a former general store building
Very nice outdoor seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Going Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love the fresh food, I love it when the folks are friendly and I love the old building! I can't say more than that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Right on track, but not the beaten one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday brunch here today. I had the crab cakes, and my wife had biscuits and gravy w/scrambled eggs. Plenty of food, especially for the price. Terrific ambience. Service was a little slow, but we were in no hurry, and the freshly baked peach strudel made up for it. Only wish it was not so far from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welfare Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Welfare Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welfare Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.