We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluff Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat
Save
You added The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat to your Saves list
County Road 196, Bluff Dale, TX 76043   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Hideaway Ranch. Always relaxing and very private cabins make you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. If you are staying here you have to eat at the Silver Dollar Steakhouse. They added this restaraunt last summer and it is worth the eat. Good quality steaks at resonable price- we ate there Friday night and decided to eat again Saturday (had them do a to go order and eat back in cabin). Lineshack cabin is great if you bring your dog- we were able to let our puppy explore the yard around the cabin and watch the horses and llama's wander by our gate.
The Ranch is about 10 miles out of Glen Rose and very isolated- very dark at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We had such a lovely stay at Hideaway! My partner and I from Australia found ourselves to be making our way through Texas and wanted a bit of a ranch style experience. We booked at the last minute and the staff there went over and above our expectations to make our stay so enjoyable. We stayed in the Hacienda cabin which had a glorious hot tub and beautiful view - we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere! The horseride was great and very accommodating for myself as a beginner. if we are ever in Texas again we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a quite get away with out the kids. The ranch was perfect. It is also a perfect place to bring the kids. The cabins are so spread out, you think your the only one there.
We had horses come up to the porch, and my wife fed them apples. There was a pond 50 yards from our cabin. We watched long horns, llamas, horses, and the dog.
Bring a fishing pole and fish in the ponds, or just walk the trails.
The cabins are fully loaded, just bring food, and charcoal. Hot tub on back porch. You can sit in the tub at night and look up at so many stars you don't see in town.
The owners were very hospitable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I just returned from a 5-night stay (originally booked for 4 nights and decided to stay an extra night). I stayed in the Lineshack cabin and took my 8 yr old yellow lab. The ranch owners are very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant on-site serves great, quality food (great steaks!) and the owner of the restaurant is also very friendly. There were horses, cows, llamas, donkeys, pigs, a dog (Roscoe) and several cats. The cabins are spread out for plenty of privacy. I enjoyed plenty of quiet time in the cabin (hot tub was especially nice--and private), roaming around the property with my dog (he had a blast swimming in the pond) and enjoyed the beautiful views. I'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Lineshack is great for one person or a couple and dogs are allowed in this cabin. It has a fenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Picked this place as I was looking for something away from everything, but still a reasonable drive from DFW. Based on the reviews, looked quite promising. I was not disappointed at all! Very friendly at check in, the cabin was very nice and comfortable and was well appointed. Everything you need is in the cabin (Over, Microwave, silverware, etc). Had a great view and was very, very quiet which is what I wanted. For those of you worried about cell coverage, ATT was just fine out there. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions on their website to choose the cabin that is good for you, ie kid friendly, se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'm so happy that I stumbled across the Hideaway Ranch while looking for a place to get away from it all for a few days and celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary! So beautiful, peaceful and secluded, it was everything we hoped it would be and more!

Loved the look and feel of the inside of our cabin (the Buena Vista), although we spent most of our time outdoors, enjoying the nature, the wildlife, and the awesome view from the deck! We especially enjoyed watching the sunset, and then gazing at the most incredible starry sky, while relaxing in the hot tub!

We were thrilled to get a personal guided tour from Rosco (what an adorable dog!), who seemed so very happy and proud to show us the pond with the llamas and ducks, and then even led us back to our cabin and hung out with us on the deck for a good while.

The owners are very nice, and we were assured they were just a phone call away if we needed anything. Also very friendly people at the Silver Dollar Steakhouse (on-site), and the food was fabulous! So good in fact, we just had to stop and eat there one more time on our way out the last day!

This was without a doubt the most comfortable and relaxing stay we've ever had anywhere! We enjoyed every minute and will definitely go back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful spot to tuck away and enjoy nature. Family friendly and excellent accommodations. The cabins are magnificent and a huge convenience for camping with kiddos. Hot tubs on the patio while longhorn cattle and horses graze topped it off for adults and kids! All the conveniences of home.....fridge, stove, microwave, etc..makes a long weekend in the woods not only manageable but lovable. We will return and can't wait!! The kids enjoyed ducks, swimming, archery and all the wildlife. The couple that we met were extremely friendly and hospitable. Make sure you follow THEIR directions and not GPS or google maps.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat

Address: County Road 196, Bluff Dale, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Bluff Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bluff Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, romantic retreat nestled in the beautiful North Central Texas Hill Country near Glen Rose & Granbury. If you are looking for a place to get away for a romantic weekend or for a family vacation, you have found it. Our cabins lie nestled among the oaks on 155 acres. We specialize in seclusion, tranquility and privacy. Each cabin offers a private hot tub, a fully furnished kitchen, and picnic tables. Activities on the property include: hiking, fishing and swimming, archery and horseback riding. We have Texas longhorns, paint horses, donkeys, llamas & poultry on site. We gladly welcome pets and children. You won't want to leave this place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat Hotel Bluff Dale
The Hideaway Ranch And Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.