We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty - Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Inn Big Spring

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Inn Big Spring
Save
You added Plaza Inn Big Spring to your Saves list
700 West I-20, Big Spring, TX 79720 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Big Spring
Madera, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nasty - Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

One word describes this place - nasty. It doesn't even earn one dot, but I had to put one to post this review. If it hadn't been midnight when we checked in, we would have demanded our money back and gotten the heck out of there. We booked two rooms at the last minute and they were both filthy, dirty, stained sheets and carpets, dirty bathrooms and smelly. My husband wore his flip flops because the carpet was so dirty. We stripped the blanket and bedspread off the bed and used the pillows and blankets we had in the car. The light in the bathroom had excretement smeared all over it. The counter girl apologized the next morning and said housekeeping would check the room, but I'm sure they were all the same - disgusting!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a place to sleep, could use upgrading and cleaned. Be prepared when you visit this part of Texas, as Midland and Odessa areas are always booked. This is the closest you will get within a 50 mile radius, if you do not have reservations.. Staff was more than cordial and aiming to please.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I came to West Texas this past weekend looking for memories. And I brought my dog along because she will let me drive her Cadillac if I bring her, but if I don't she makes me drive my old Buick instead.

When I got there your desk clerk named Monika worked hard to make me comfortable. She moved me because Shasta wanted to save me
from every passing customer, and she would not stop barking at them. Monika worked her fingers to the bone to make me comfortable, but I think she made a more lasting impression on Shasta with her tummy rub. I was very happy to be there, and usually I insist on staying with a name-brand I recognize.

Now that brings me to the cricket in the bed. I was amused with that. I haven't seen a cricket in years. I grew up in West Texas and crickets stink. Grasshoppers eat everything and I saw quite a few of them, but I was not ready for the homecoming I can only hope is there.


I noticed big fat healthy red ants all over the place, and I had to beleive my life-long little friend the Texas Horned Lizzard is somwhere around waiting for dinner.


Have you had any customers jumping for joy because you had red ants in the parking lot? Well, now you have..


Because where there are red ants there are also horned lizzards. And, I don't think there's a Texan alive that doesn't wish he would come back home. He only likes red ants, and he's starved to death in the most of the state.

And you had a feast going right underneath your sign.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed at this Motel last week. I would never stay there again. The bed was the worst we had ever slept on. The room was dirty. Yes, the place is old, but even an older place can be clean. The carpets were filthy and had that "carpet freshner" sprinkled on it to cover up any smells. The bathroom was very dirty. Urine was all over the lid as well as the bottom of the commode. We will never stay here again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

I stayed at this motel because it was the host hotel for my daughter's gymnastics meet at Big Spring. Upon check-in staff were friendly but slow in checking us in. When we finally made it to our rooms, the location was terrible as we were in the back buildind facing trash cans and fields. The noise was terrible as there is a Petro station right next door. The room was typical motel 6ish....if it had been remodeled I can only imagine what it looked like before. Carpets were quite dirty and my daughter's allergies were unbearable. Breakfast was typical continental and they had ran out of most items and it was just 8:30 am. We have another meet this year in Big Spring and I will not be staying here.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Uncleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

A remodeled locally owned chain(4 motels). I saved by using an online coupon. The breakfast is adequate- cereal, juice, sweet rolls, biscuits and gravy. The waffle maker was broken. Room was clean, quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Inn Big Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn Big Spring

Address: 700 West I-20, Big Spring, TX 79720 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 151

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Inn Big Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.