We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Settles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Settles to your Saves list
Hotel Settles
200 East 3rd Street, Big Spring, TX 79720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Big Spring
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed the night here when my sister in law hosted her baby shower there. The stay was amazing. The hotel seems completely out of place in the town, but wow!, was it amazing. Very clean inside and out and the bedroom was beautiful. Definitely worth the stay. A wonderful historic hotel that is a must visit. Also, make sure to get breakfast, lunch & dinner - best food for hundreds of miles!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just stayed at the Settles on business in Big Spring. The restored hotel is truly a gem. It is more like an upscale European hotel at US Chain prices. The service was exceptional and the room was outstanding. If you are travelling across Texas on I-10, consider the Settles as an overnight option rather than Midland-Odessa or Abilene. The restaurant has a nice menu and the food was well prepared. The house red wine was reasonably priced and turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.

Big Spring itself isn't much, but the Settles has all you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

OK, blasting across Texas from Houston to Flagstaff NOT on the interstates (try it, there's some gorgeous country, great highways, good food and cheap gas). This takes you through some desolate country too. Getting road-beat about Big Spring but having been through here before we weren't planning on stopping. Roswell is still a long ways off. Wife gets on Tripadvisor and finds the circa 1929 Hotel Settles in downtown. 5 stars in Big Spring? Really? Yessirree. The best rate we could get was $149, but hey, due to the current oil boom, the SUPER 8's rooms START at $92. OK, we'll kick in the extra fifty and change for something special. Man are we glad we did. What an amazing hotel. Derelict and closed for 35 or so years, the owners did a 6 year, 32 million dollar renovation and you can see where the time and money invested went. 5 stars indeed. Nice outdoor pool, hot tub spa, fitness center. Restaurant is excellent, the Pharmacy bar is nice too. This place is literally an oasis in the desert. The town is thrilled to have this place and should be. Hopefully it will spur the continued resurrection of downtown. Bottom line: If you find yourselves in the region, don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel. We stayed another night just because.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is certainly worth staying in, if you are anywhere near Big Spring and want to spend the night in a historic hotel. In fact, it's worth a special trip as the hotel has been restored, maybe beyond its former glory, complete with nice restaurant and lovely outdoor pool. The owner is also restoring adjacent buildings and theater so Big Spring may become a unique destination by itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel last weekend and was quite impressed on how it has changed back into the glory it once had many moons ago. I went to school in Big Spring and once visited the property when it was abandoned and stripped down to nothing. They have done an excellent job with renovations. When I arrived there was no one at the front desk yet discovered the front desk clerk was helping another guest, no worries. I was a bit taken back the next day after returning to my room at 5pm as it was not refreshed. I called the front desk to ask about it and they asked if I had my do not disturb sign on the door, I didn't. The gentleman said housekeeping was gone for the day yet offered to bring us anything we needed. Food in the Grille wasn't great...had to send my son's fried chicken fingers back as they were over fried and still had to pay for them along with the cheeseburger we had to order instead. Brunch for 4 came to $70, no alcohol and was similar to Chilis food which we could get for $45...oh, and they would have gladly exchanged the chicken tenders he didn't eat for a burger.
Fine touches is what the hotel needs on service but the bones of the hotel are excellent and I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Even though there is still construction going on in the hotel the guest area is up and running very well. You will feel like you are stepping back into 1930 when you enter the renovations of this hotel. They have stayed true to the period of 1930 with the remodel and the rooms and suites can go from the luxury range to the more moderate range as far as prices go. Guest will enjoy the beautiful pool area , the Pharamcy Sports Bar, and the hotel grill. Ballroom and meetings room are also beautiful and well designed. There is also a presidental and bridal suite for those special guest and occasions.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge pick the upgraded suites that are near the top of the hotel and have the luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited the Settles with memories of its existence during my being born and raised in Big Spring. Fabulous place with rooms and other amenities equivalent to those of any 4 or 5 star hotel! You must visit to experience it! It is awesome!

Room Tip: Queen room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Settles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Settles

Address: 200 East 3rd Street, Big Spring, TX 79720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Settles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Settles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.